Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: the one big thing about capture one 4.5  (Read 18388 times)
James R Russell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 984



WWW
« Reply #60 on: October 24, 2008, 09:02:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: lisa_r
Hate to say it James, but did you install with your virus protection on? Those real-time virus protection apps are known to botch installations and should be turned off during installs.

We made sure there was no virus protection running when we loaded 4.5

Anyway;

We just arrived in Seoul.  I just blew off the thought of the Dell for these projects, mostly because we're out of time and even if 4.5 did tether on vista it was a software we are not familiar with, so we'll just tether the Canons and the Phase to one of the intel books and stick with 3.78 for the Phase,  EOS utility for the Canons.

I doubt seriously if we will tether much past the first few frames, using them as polaroids as the locations are very crowded and we have a lot to cover.

It's a good excuse not to tether much anyway and I will probably shoot 95% of this gig with the Canons.

Anyway, once 4.5 is really up and running I will revisit it sometime late this year.

Actually, by December I would be quite happy never to learn a new software again and maybe by then I'll be back to film.  (I know, just wishful thinking, but sure sounds like nice wishful thinking).


Logged

mturner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #61 on: October 24, 2008, 04:48:27 PM »
ReplyReply

I am wondering if the tethering problems with 4.5 and a laptop PC/Vista are directly caused by using the 4-pin firewire port (which is UNPOWERED) found on some PC laptops.  I have two PC laptops with 4-pin firewire ports running XP and I have NEVER been able to tether ANY of my Canon 1D-series cameras via that port.  I have a plugin PC card with two 6-pin ports and an external power supply and those ports tether the Canons just fine on both laptops running XP and C1 v3.7.x.  I have not tried v4.5 on either PC or any of my Macs.

On another issue...I have downloaded 4.5 to my MacPro and it seems that I have to wipe out the installation of both v4.1 and 3.7.x in order to test 4.5.  What's the deal here?

hope this helps someone
Logged
James R Russell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 984



WWW
« Reply #62 on: October 24, 2008, 05:04:08 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: mturner
I am wondering if the tethering problems with 4.5 and a laptop PC/Vista are directly caused by using the 4-pin firewire port (which is UNPOWERED) found on some PC laptops.  I have two PC laptops with 4-pin firewire ports running XP and I have NEVER been able to tether ANY of my Canon 1D-series cameras via that port.  I have a plugin PC card with two 6-pin ports and an external power supply and those ports tether the Canons just fine on both laptops running XP and C1 v3.7.x.  I have not tried v4.5 on either PC or any of my Macs.

On another issue...I have downloaded 4.5 to my MacPro and it seems that I have to wipe out the installation of both v4.1 and 3.7.x in order to test 4.5.  What's the deal here?

hope this helps someone

I would have thought that but I have two very different pc laptops, one old dell running windows 2000 and the other on vista and both will tether with eos utility solid and without issue, virus protection on, or off, regardless.

It's only 4.5 that will not tether on the vista machine, either the Canons (1ds1 6 pin firewire to 4 pin firewire) the 1ds3 (usb2) and the p21+ and p30+ (6 pin firewire to 4 pin firewire.

The computer knows when the phase backs are plugged in because it keeps asking for a driver, it just won't recognize the camera when the drivers are loaded.

Like you I didn't even attempt to load 4.5 on my intel machines as I didn't want to erase 4.1 and 3.7 and then go into the new learning curve and possible problems of a new software.

This is something I may try again over the holidays if we're not booked.

Logged

tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696


« Reply #63 on: October 24, 2008, 05:16:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: mturner
it seems that I have to wipe out the installation of both v4.1 and 3.7.x in order to test 4.5.
No you don't have to. V3x is completely separate from V4x. I have them both V3.7.8 and V4.5Pro on Windows and both V3.7.9DB and 4.5DB on Mac.
But 4.5 will overwrite 4.1 (though you can keep the 4.1 image settings folders) on Mac as well as on Windows.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2008, 05:17:38 PM by tho_mas » Logged
Henry Goh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 574


« Reply #64 on: October 24, 2008, 05:38:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: James R Russell
I would have thought

James, I found that when I removed Canon's Camera Window from both my XP PC and Macbook Pro, C1 4.5 has no more issues tethering my 1Ds MKIII.  I don't have a Phase back to test nor do I run Vista so if you get the chance, do give it a go.


Logged
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696


« Reply #65 on: October 24, 2008, 05:50:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: James R Russell
The computer knows when the phase backs are plugged in because it keeps asking for a driver, it just won't recognize the camera when the drivers are loaded.
One thing you could try... there are these damn "administrator rights" on Vista. If the installer of C1 is on the desktop do not just double click on the icon. Right click and chose "open as administrator". Then the installer runs with administrator rights.
Just a chance... I had several softwares and devices I re-installed as administrator and then they were running correctly.
Logged
Snook
Guest
« Reply #66 on: October 25, 2008, 08:46:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: tho_mas
One thing you could try... there are these damn "administrator rights" on Vista. If the installer of C1 is on the desktop do not just double click on the icon. Right click and chose "open as administrator". Then the installer runs with administrator rights.
Just a chance... I had several softwares and devices I re-installed as administrator and then they were running correctly.


A shame you had to go PC to use your Canon..
I would blame Canon, Not Phase..
We all in the Photography/Fashion/Graphic business KNOW that PC's Sux period.
You could not pay me to use PieceofCrap

Snook
Logged
James R Russell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 984



WWW
« Reply #67 on: October 25, 2008, 06:00:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Snook
A shame you had to go PC to use your Canon..
I would blame Canon, Not Phase..
We all in the Photography/Fashion/Graphic business KNOW that PC's Sux period.
You could not pay me to use PieceofCrap

Snook

I'm not blaming Canon, or Phase.  Obviously new software is difficult to do even for very large companies, that's why I usually wait for a period before I switch anything.

And obviously Phase is a small company and I would imagine most of their users work with a mac so they are going to put they most early development that way.

But to be frank eos works on apple and almost any version of windows so cross platform software can be written.

I think if there is anyone to essentially blame it would be apple because their usb drivers are slow and apple can't seem to decide if they want to stay with firewire or move to usb, (the new macbook is a good example).

Previous to using vista I would have agreed with you about windows os systems, but vista is not that big of a leap going from apple os and if you approach it with an open mind it does some things very well.

Still, as long as I use two or three camera platforms I will probably have to use two different computer platforms to tether.  Just the way it goes.




Logged

carstenw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 581



« Reply #68 on: October 25, 2008, 06:05:03 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: James R Russell
I think if there is anyone to essentially blame it would be apple because their usb drivers are slow and apple can't seem to decide if they want to stay with firewire or move to usb, (the new macbook is a good example).

The new MacBook Pro apparently has much improved USB performance. There should be some more tests coming out in the next days, but something to keep your eyes on.
Logged

paul_jones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 565


WWW
« Reply #69 on: October 25, 2008, 11:46:27 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: carstenw
The new MacBook Pro apparently has much improved USB performance. There should be some more tests coming out in the next days, but something to keep your eyes on.

i hope this turns out true. it will need to be 3x faster to keep up with the PCs.

paul
Logged

check my new website
http://www.paulrossjones.com
newrooky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


WWW
« Reply #70 on: October 26, 2008, 03:14:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: carstenw
The new MacBook Pro apparently has much improved USB performance. There should be some more tests coming out in the next days, but something to keep your eyes on.


Unless they changed the way the protocol is written into OSX than this will not be the case.  Yes you will see incremental speed boosts simply because everything about the new macbooks is faster, but you won't see large gains beyond that.  Think if you use the same macbook pro with osx and windows (even running parallels).  USB is faster via the windows installation because of the way it is referenced inside the OS.  

I hope it surprise me, but i don't think a large USB speed boost will happen for OSX just yet.

-b
Logged

[span style='font-family:Geneva'][span style='color:gray']Brandon Waterman   -  Photo+[/span][/span]
carstenw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 581



« Reply #71 on: October 26, 2008, 04:52:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: newrooky
Unless they changed the way the protocol is written into OSX than this will not be the case.  Yes you will see incremental speed boosts simply because everything about the new macbooks is faster, but you won't see large gains beyond that.  Think if you use the same macbook pro with osx and windows (even running parallels).  USB is faster via the windows installation because of the way it is referenced inside the OS.  

I hope it surprise me, but i don't think a large USB speed boost will happen for OSX just yet.

-b

http://coapple.com/usb-20-and-firewire-com...ew-macbook-pro/
Logged

eronald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3976



WWW
« Reply #72 on: October 26, 2008, 05:25:16 AM »
ReplyReply

Phase is now partly owned my Micro$oft so they have had a strong incentive to improve their PC performance.

Edmund

Quote from: James R Russell
And obviously Phase is a small company and I would imagine most of their users work with a mac so they are going to put they most early development that way.
Logged

Edmund Ronald, Ph.D. 
carstenw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 581



« Reply #73 on: October 26, 2008, 05:49:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: eronald
Phase is now partly owned my Micro$oft so they have had a strong incentive to improve their PC performance.

Edmund

Unless I missed another press release, Phase One is employee owned, and they will continue to follow their customers' desires first:

http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/press/2...PhaseOnePR.mspx

C
Logged

Dale Allyn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 225


WWW
« Reply #74 on: October 26, 2008, 07:40:13 AM »
ReplyReply

To be honest, if I had known that Phase was partly owned by MS I would not have purchased one of their backs. I generally don't bash the company (referring to MS) on-line, but I really don't like culture of the company and the attendant ethics, etc. I don't use any of their products (knowingly).

Now that said, I do like the folks at Phase One and very much like their products (referring to digital backs) which means I'll likely struggle a bit... try to get over it... then practice a bit of hypocrisy by enjoying my Phase One back (and other products).

Bummer...

Logged

Guy Mancuso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1109


WWW
« Reply #75 on: October 26, 2008, 08:27:25 AM »
ReplyReply

That press release seems to indicate Phase is actually helping MS for there Windows system and not the other way around. At least the way i read it
Logged

Steve Hendrix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1102


WWW
« Reply #76 on: October 26, 2008, 08:52:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: carstenw
Unless I missed another press release, Phase One is employee owned, and they will continue to follow their customers' desires first:

http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/press/2...PhaseOnePR.mspx

C

Yes, this is correct, although obviously not all employees have ownership.

It has been stated publicly that this is a collaborative agreement of technology sharing, in particular as we see larger sensors with greater image quality (and file sizes) computing performance becomes more critical. Naturally, we possess some technology insights that would prove beneficial to Microsoft in terms of digital image workflow.


Steve Hendrix
Phase One
Logged

Steve Hendrix
Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
MFDB: Phase One/Leaf-Mamiya/Hasselblad/Leica/Sinar
TechCam: Alpa/Cambo/Arca Swiss/Sinar
Direct: 404.543.8475
James R Russell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 984



WWW
« Reply #77 on: October 26, 2008, 09:09:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Steve Hendrix/Phase One
Yes, this is correct, although obviously not all employees have ownership.

It has been stated publicly that this is a collaborative agreement of technology sharing, in particular as we see larger sensors with greater image quality (and file sizes) computing performance becomes more critical. Naturally, we possess some technology insights that would prove beneficial to Microsoft in terms of digital image workflow.


Steve Hendrix
Phase One


As far as 4.5  . . . all things in due time.  Sure I'd like for it to work on vista and a mac error free, but software rarely comes out of the egg without some kind of limp, so I assume after the "beta" test period is over, Phase will make it work.

We all know that new software is tough to sort out and it always falls on the "end user" (man I don't like that term) to work it out and report.

Phase does need a better way to report and get a double fast response and their forum needs some serious work, but once again, since 3.78 works it's not like we can't do our job.

Still, I'd save the disk space, until the early adopters work it out.

Logged

Guy Mancuso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1109


WWW
« Reply #78 on: October 26, 2008, 09:28:20 AM »
ReplyReply

On the Mac side it seems to be working very well. i will give tethering a heavy test this week and see how well it holds up but just fooling around it seems like no issues and a bit faster on preview also. On the PC myself i just would not touch Vista if i was running a PC and just stick with XP which seemed pretty stable when I ran that system awhile back. Hopefully Phase will sort out the Vista does and don'ts for folks soon.
Logged

Snook
Guest
« Reply #79 on: October 28, 2008, 12:15:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Guy Mancuso
On the Mac side it seems to be working very well. i will give tethering a heavy test this week and see how well it holds up but just fooling around it seems like no issues and a bit faster on preview also. On the PC myself i just would not touch Vista if i was running a PC and just stick with XP which seemed pretty stable when I ran that system awhile back. Hopefully Phase will sort out the Vista does and don'ts for folks soon.

Hey Guy any news.. How did your shoot go..? Smoothly I hope?
I have a Beauty cover today that I will use it with and then have a catalogue for the net 5-6 days.. Will try to work up the nerve to use it for the catalogue.
Can anybody report in if the Back up to another drive feature is working flawlessly so far? That would be one of my main concerns.. Like my digital assistant erasing something by accident or something?
Does the Canon 1DsMII work tether and properly with it?
Thanks for any heads up as I start the catalogue tomorrow and will be using the RZ P30 combo today for the beauty to try it out. The beauty is one cover and the catalogue is 80 images which could mean 80 x 10-15 shots per image...
Thanks for any more information as the Phase One forums stink and the only really decent information comes from here...:+]
Snook
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad