Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2  (Read 26868 times)
jrgoldman9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« on: October 23, 2008, 02:19:19 PM »
ReplyReply

I am hearing lots of contradictory information on the forums about raw files on the G10.  My CS3 will not open them nor will ACR or LR2.
Am I missing something or is there a plan for the G10 files in the near future  What is doubly confusing is that Reichman says he processed the files in PS after opening them in a non Canon application.

Help Please

Cheers,  Jay
Logged
michael
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4914



« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 03:51:47 PM »
ReplyReply

No currently available Adobe app can open G10 files.

I was using a beta program that is not currently available.

Michael

Logged
Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2925



WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2008, 06:20:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: jrgoldman9
I am hearing lots of contradictory information on the forums about raw files on the G10.  My CS3 will not open them nor will ACR or LR2.
Am I missing something or is there a plan for the G10 files in the near future  What is doubly confusing is that Reichman says he processed the files in PS after opening them in a non Canon application.

Help Please

Cheers,  Jay

Note however that the G10 is supported by and does include Canon's DPP software, which is a decent RAW processor.  This is a change from the G9 which really does require a 3rd party RAW processor for good results, since there is no support in DPP.  The software Canon supplies for G9 raw files is very poor.

I think it is save to assume, based on past experience,  that Adobe will include G10 support at some point in the near future, but using DPP in the meantime can provide very good files.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2008, 06:21:28 PM by Wayne Fox » Logged

Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2008, 06:02:08 AM »
ReplyReply

Canon put RAW into the G9 then didn't support it in DPP? So they put a proprietory format in a camera with the understanding that the only way to actually open the files is for a 3rd party company to reverse engineer the file!

Incredible.
Logged

madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2008, 08:45:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Two possibilities for this, Ben. (1) They didn't feel market demand would be high enough for shooting RAW to bother modifying DPP to support it; i.e., they didn't want to devote engineering and testing resources from the DPP team to support the G9. I find this unlikely since the G9 raw format is a CR2 and internally quite similar to ones from recent DSLRs. Or, (2) they didn't want users to be able to disable certain aspects of raw image processing, such as noise reduction, sharpening, etc.

Canon is not the only one to do this, BTW. Nikon's recent P6000 is interesting because it has a NRW file format, which ... err, is actually an uncompressed NEF inside (so the raw files are actually a whopping 20+ MB for a 13.4 MP camera compared to ~15 MB for a 14.6 MP lossless compressed raw file from a G10). But you can't use Capture NX to process the files. You can use View NX, but not to adjust any settings (e.g., you can't adjust noise reduction).

I am guessing that Canon feels comfortable making DPP available for the G10 because they are more comfortable with its raw image quality compared to the G9.
Logged

Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2925



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2008, 08:18:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pom
Canon put RAW into the G9 then didn't support it in DPP? So they put a proprietory format in a camera with the understanding that the only way to actually open the files is for a 3rd party company to reverse engineer the file!

Incredible.

G9 RAW files are not supported in DPP, but you can process them using Canon's ImageBrowser software, which will open a G9 file as a "RAW Image Task".  So Canon did provide a solution with the camera, but it's pretty weak compared to DPP or other professional Level RAW processors, which means for serious work a 3rd party RAW processor is required.

I assume they realized the target market for the G10 has changed pretty dramatically, as a lot of advanced amateurs and pros adopted the G9 as an easy to carry option.  I think the addition of RAW support created a noticeable uptick in units sold because of this,  so it made sense to support it with DPP instead of ImageBrowser.  This also probably simplified development costs, since only one of the programs needed to handle RAW files.

of course, it's always fun to try and second guess companies like Canon.  I was just sitting here thinking the real truth may be far simpler ... some top executive at Canon got ticked off because he/she couldn't open his/her RAW files in DPP, but could in ACR, resulting in a scathing memo sent to the appropriate department.  Who knows how big companies like this really work.  
« Last Edit: October 25, 2008, 08:32:19 PM by Wayne Fox » Logged

Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2008, 07:48:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
of course, it's always fun to try and second guess companies like Canon. I was just sitting here thinking the real truth may be far simpler ... some top executive at Canon got ticked off because he/she couldn't open his/her RAW files in DPP, but could in ACR, resulting in a scathing memo sent to the appropriate department. Who knows how big companies like this really work.

The simple answer is probably the real one...  
Logged

marcmccalmont
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1729



« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2008, 11:31:39 AM »
ReplyReply

I noticed DxO is supporting the G9 RAW so I suppose in the future they will support G10 RAW
Marc
Logged

Marc McCalmont
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8200



WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2008, 08:27:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: marcmccalmont
I noticed DxO is supporting the G9 RAW so I suppose in the future they will support G10 RAW
Marc
I sure hope so! I've just gotten a G10, and DxO is mt main raw converter. Using DPP for the G10 files isn't much fun.

Eric
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
jrgoldman9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2008, 09:39:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Wayne Fox
Note however that the G10 is supported by and does include Canon's DPP software, which is a decent RAW processor.  This is a change from the G9 which really does require a 3rd party RAW processor for good results, since there is no support in DPP.  The software Canon supplies for G9 raw files is very poor.

I think it is save to assume, based on past experience,  that Adobe will include G10 support at some point in the near future, but using DPP in the meantime can provide very good files.

Wayne,

I tested DPP vs. ACR on a jpeg file.  DPP came out as a pretty crummy processor. I also tried DPP on a raw file and I was not impressed at all   So, I have to decide whether to keep the G10, shoot dual capture and wait for good processor for the raw files or return the G10 for now.  

My problem is that I usually shoot dual capture with B&W jpegs and now I can't see the B&W composition right in the camera.  Oh well. there is always something that is disappointing.

Jay

Logged
Mike Louw
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 137



WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2008, 06:04:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: marcmccalmont
I noticed DxO is supporting the G9 RAW so I suppose in the future they will support G10 RAW
Marc

Well, it took them until v 5.3, which was released a couple of days ago, to support the G9, just in time for the release of the G10. I wouldn't hold my breath!  
I wonder what Michael's beta programme was? Probably under NDA........
« Last Edit: October 29, 2008, 06:05:42 AM by mikelouw » Logged

michael
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4914



« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2008, 07:01:38 AM »
ReplyReply

G10 owners should relax. It would be very long till there's good raw support from at last one company.

Michael

Logged
Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2008, 09:58:34 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: michael
It would be very long till there's good raw support from at last one company.

Michael

Does that sentence make sense or am I being very slow?
Logged

DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2008, 10:19:47 AM »
ReplyReply

I think "would", in this case, means "won't".
Logged
David Watson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 396


WWW
« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2008, 01:23:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi

i have just bought a G10 (import from the USA).  The enclosed software is DPP 3.5 which installs okay on my Macpro (10.5) but DPP will not open the raw files - it just hangs.  Do I have to wait until Apple add the G10 to their raw processing engine or am I doing something wrong.

Any help on this subject would be very much appreciated.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2008, 01:23:51 PM by David Watson » Logged

David Watson ARPS
jdemott
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 434


« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2008, 03:50:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: David Watson
Hi

i have just bought a G10 (import from the USA).  The enclosed software is DPP 3.5 which installs okay on my Macpro (10.5) but DPP will not open the raw files - it just hangs.  Do I have to wait until Apple add the G10 to their raw processing engine or am I doing something wrong.

Any help on this subject would be very much appreciated.

My G10 came with DPP 3.5.0.0 which installed just fine on my Imac with OSX 10.5.5.  Images open and can be converted from Raw and saved without problems.  You could try re-installing.   Sorry I can't offer more help, other than to let you know DPP will work on a Mac, so it is worthwhile trying to find the problem.  FWIW, the DPP software isn't very good even when it works.
Logged

John DeMott
Anthony R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 252


« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2008, 06:06:24 PM »
ReplyReply

DNG
Logged
David Watson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 396


WWW
« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2008, 06:09:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi

Thank you for that.  Very helpful as I wasn't sure if the problem was a function of my OS or the application.  I had already reinstalled it once but this time I threw out ALL of the Canon preferences and application support in both the library and user folders and this time it worked after a re-install.

David
« Last Edit: October 29, 2008, 06:09:37 PM by David Watson » Logged

David Watson ARPS
httivals
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82


« Reply #18 on: October 30, 2008, 05:35:30 AM »
ReplyReply

For those of you who have the G10 and have used it with DPP 3, does DPP automatically determine focusing distance and focal length to precisely correct for distortion, if you want it to? Or do you need to manually adjust sliders, or do other manual adjustments, to determine the appropriate amount/type of distortion correction? I'll probably buy the camera now if DPP does distortion correction automatically, but if it's manual, and hence in my view less accurate (because manual adjustments invite user error), then I may hold off until it's support by DXO Optics. Thanks for the help.
Logged
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #19 on: October 30, 2008, 08:20:45 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Anthony R
DNG

So if I import into Lightroom using the convert to DNG option, I'll be able to then edit the DNG file in LR? (or PS?)  Surely that isn't optimal as the conversion to DNG pre-supposes a knowledge of the way the RAW file has been constructed?  But if not optimal, good enough until ACR is updated?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad