Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Calibration Problem, Vista64, EyeOne  (Read 3855 times)
monkeydeus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« on: October 27, 2008, 04:02:16 PM »
ReplyReply

I've recently made some changes to my system that seem now to prevent effective calibration/profiling. I'll try and keep it short and sweet. I HAD a CRT, running Vista64. The profile was fine, everything worked as expected. Recently, I had to move to an LCD monitor (Samsung 240T). Kaput.

I've narrowed the problem down now some.  The monitor vendor recommended using the generic pnp driver, so I did that.  Now, it appears that only the AdobeRGB space is affected (Maybe more, I haven't tested.  I'm only concerned with ProPhotoRGB and AdobeRGB right now).  True red is rendered as orange when I use the AdobeRGB space in PS CS3.  In lightroom for example, I can look at a something red in the library, and it will look orange.  When I take it into develop, the red is rendered true.  LR used ProPhoto for the develop colorspace, and Adobe for the library color space, so that has helped me confirm it is a problem with the color spaces in particular, not necessarily the system overall.  

I'm hoping someone here could help.  I've googled, and found similar descriptions of this problem, but the proposed fix (delete corrupted profile and try again) does not help.  I've installed, uninstalled, reinstalled all parts - monitor driver, card drivers, puck driver, calibration software, with the same result every time.  HELP!  Thanks in advance.

« Last Edit: November 03, 2008, 03:51:40 PM by monkeydeus » Logged
monkeydeus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2008, 03:52:11 PM »
ReplyReply

bump
Logged
Carl Harsch
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2008, 10:35:47 AM »
ReplyReply

The problem is not with the color spaces, but rather with the application and treatment of those color spaces between programs.  Many programs are not color aware and will give horrid results with anything but sRGB color spaces.  If you're incorrectly assigning color spaces rather than converting those color spaces, you'll also experience color shifts.  Using ProPhotoRGB in Lightroom and AdobeRGB in CS3 can be problematic if you're not set up properly to handle differing color spaces.

The generic monitor profile is ok for games and general computer use, but when you're doing critical color editing, you really need to step up to a monitor calibration hardware system to calibrate and profile your specific monitor.  This cannot be stressed hard enough.  Simply relying on your eyeballs to properly adjust tones and colors does not work well enough, no matter how good your eyes are.

Here's a good reference to help with your color management of CS3.  

Logged
Raw shooter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 205


« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2008, 06:32:03 PM »
ReplyReply

With Vista 64, you may find that the problem is actually with the Calibration Loader.

If I were you, I would take the Calibration Loader out of the startup.
I put a shortcut to the Profile Loader on my desktop - ready to be loaded at the proper delayed sequence.
 
When you start your computer, wait till all the Vista 64 normal startups are completely finished (after Superfetch. etc. is completely finished - 5 minutes minimum), then manually load the monitor profile.  I use a dual monitor configuration - and this method loads both monitor profiles together.

You will see both screens change during this manual loading. They are then ready for regular color managed application work.
I use Photoshop CS4 and InDesign CS3 with great success.  ProPhotoRGB for prints to an Epson 4880 or R2400. Some Adobe RGB too.

Obviously the softproofing is critical for the prints to larger papers (4880), but the monitor profiles are flat on and can be trusted using this method of loading.

Hope this helps and the best of luck - Vista 64 is great!
Logged
mbalensiefer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 297


« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2008, 01:14:51 PM »
ReplyReply

"With Vista 64, you may find that the problem is actually with the Calibration Loader.
If I were you, I would take the Calibration Loader out of the startup. "

 ...

So: msconfig, and then check off Calibration Loader?

I am using Monaco's system, and for every profile I default-change to, I must restart my PC to effect the change.
 Is there a way to effect a profile--at will--like you state above? Where do I find the Profile Loader to make the shortcut?

~Mike
Logged
Carl Harsch
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59


WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2008, 06:10:03 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: mbalensiefer
I am using Monaco's system, and for every profile I default-change to, I must restart my PC to effect the change.
 Is there a way to effect a profile--at will--like you state above? Where do I find the Profile Loader to make the shortcut?

~Mike


I'm also using Monaco and as far as I know, it will not work with Vista 64.  For Vista 32, you need to go to the XRite webpages and if you can find the information, there's a workaround for Monaco to work with Vista.  I think the file is ToolCrib or something like that.  It's needed to make the system work correctly.  There's an article on their website that talks about it.  

On another note regarding Monaco, you can also opt to go with Color Eyes Display software and your puck.  This setup will work with Vista 32 and 64.
Logged
mbalensiefer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 297


« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2008, 12:40:29 PM »
ReplyReply


Thanks!
 For those of you reading, I found this utility here:

http://www.integrated-color.com/Merchant2/...ategory_Code=DL

PS X-Rite now has the full version of the puck software from when they bought out Monaco:

http://www.xrite.com/top_support.aspx?action=downloads
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad