Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: 5dII  (Read 7275 times)
thewanderer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


« on: November 03, 2008, 09:27:20 PM »
ReplyReply

In re the above as to video capability,

my limited knowledge of the video cams that have interchangable lens, the canon unit comes to mind, have rather hefty crop factors, (feel free to correct me if i am wrong on that)

would the 5dII have any crop factor on the video portion or would the video frame be full frame as the still image.

thanks in advance


Logged
timescapes
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 60



« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 01:15:06 AM »
ReplyReply

There is no crop factor on the 5Dii with EF lenses.  It uses the whole sensor in terms of size.  How that sensor is downsampled to 1080p, I don't know if anyone has figured that out yet.  Some speculate that it skips photosites, only reading every third pixel, for example.
Logged
Kagetsu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 196


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 03:19:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Cropping only occurs to give it the 16:9 aspect ratio (from 3:2), so nothing of major concern. '

I don't think the preproduction units do pixel skipping, after watching the VL video, it appears his camera had that red dot, but I dare say, the production model will be improved, and likely have a better implemented program. '
That said, I'm no expert.
Logged
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3078



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2008, 07:26:59 PM »
ReplyReply

Cropping to the 16:9 ratio is not necessarily a good thing, far better to have the full height of frame to allow for vertical adjustment in post. Very useful for getting rid of droopy booms!
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
thewanderer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2008, 10:59:29 PM »
ReplyReply

will i be able to use all of my lenses with the camera in video mode,, from the 600 on down?  and how is focus achieved, or is video focus not as critical as still focus
Logged
timescapes
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 60



« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2008, 04:57:52 PM »
ReplyReply

I believe it has some kind of crude "contrast" AF.  Focus is really going to be a difficult issue on this camera, with its huge sensor and fast lenses.
Logged
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3078



WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2008, 12:30:54 AM »
ReplyReply

You only use Auto focus on home movie camcorders. Using Autofocus is a great way to make something look very unprofessional.
Nailing focus is quite challenging when filming and why you normally have someone on film set whose only job is to focus camera.
And that's with smaller sensors and 35mm film [whose image is not as big as 35mm still film].


Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
Derryck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 170



WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2008, 03:30:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Picked up my 5D II yesterday and unfortunately I've been too busy shooting a job to properly try it out. But I did have a go filming lunch being made in the studio and the quality is amazing. The uploads you see on the net don't do it justice. The camera captures video in 16:9 format using the full width of the sensor and stills are 2:3. Below is a screen shot from a movie clip at 70mm f2.8 400iso.
Logged

billy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266


« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2008, 09:10:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Derryck
Picked up my 5D II yesterday and unfortunately I've been too busy shooting a job to properly try it out. But I did have a go filming lunch being made in the studio and the quality is amazing. The uploads you see on the net don't do it justice. The camera captures video in 16:9 format using the full width of the sensor and stills are 2:3. Below is a screen shot from a movie clip at 70mm f2.8 400iso.


what software did you use to process the video? is it raw when you shoot it?
Logged
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3078



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2008, 05:46:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: billy
what software did you use to process the video? is it raw when you shoot it?
The Canon does not produce RAW footage as it outputs in a compressed video codec. Not really any different from a JPEG from a stills camera. People however confusingly refer to the raw footage from camera [tsk, tsk Mr Lafloret   ], instead of saying ungraded footage.
Grading is where you tweak the look of the footage to get a certain style/look or to accurately match different shots in same scene to make for seemless cutting.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad