Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Another book due next month  (Read 5864 times)
KeithR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 616


« on: November 20, 2008, 04:37:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Mr. Schewe is at it again! Once again Jeff does not disappoint.
http://photoshopnews.com/
He mentions a new release of ACR. My question is this ACR6 or a dot upgrade? And will the book have info on the new stuff(which he can't talk about).   And will MR and Jeff have an update to the video on ACR?
Logged

The destination is our goal but it’s the journey that educates us.
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2008, 04:44:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: KeithR
And will MR and Jeff have an update to the video on ACR?

I hope so.  My attention span is pretty short but if it is on TV I'll watch it until a power outage.
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5253


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2008, 05:27:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: KeithR
He mentions a new release of ACR. My question is this ACR6 or a dot upgrade?

Dot release...which I can't talk about yet...

Quote
And will MR and Jeff have an update to the video on ACR?

Yep, to be shot in mid-Dec...but not released till Mike, Chris and I get back from Antarctica (expect it in Feb-March 09)
Logged
KeithR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 616


« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2008, 10:04:45 AM »
ReplyReply

[quote name='Schewe' date='Nov 20 2008, 05:27 PM' post='238471']
Dot release...which I can't talk about yet...

Well, now you can, Jeff:  
http://lightroom-news.com/
ACR got TAT!
Logged

The destination is our goal but it’s the journey that educates us.
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5253


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2008, 10:43:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: KeithR
ACR got TAT!


Yep...but the biggest news is that you can now save and read snapshots–which for Camera Raw is a big thing. Lightroom has history you can fall back on but while Camera Raw has multiple undo, doing various corrections is remember only for the period that the current session of Camera Raw's launch. Being able to grab multiple snapshots and have them saved as metadata is darn useful!

Also note that Camera Raw now has output sharpening (ala PixelGenius & Lightroom) and it should be noted that the resample algorithm has been substantially improved (another successful little project by Eric I might add). It's got a tuned downsample and an adaptive upsample both more or less based on flavors of bicubic. And yes, NOW i can talk about 5.2...

:~)
Logged
01af
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 294


« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2008, 07:07:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Schewe
... and it should be noted that the resample algorithm has been substantially improved (another successful little project by Eric I might add).
Wow! That's what I have been waiting for since ACR 3.2. Finally Camera Raw's resample algorithm is usable. Well done, Eric!

-- Olaf
Logged
keithrsmith
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2008, 08:09:13 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Schewe
Also note that Camera Raw now has output sharpening (ala PixelGenius & Lightroom) and it should be noted that the resample algorithm has been substantially improved (another successful little project by Eric I might add). It's got a tuned downsample and an adaptive upsample both more or less based on flavors of bicubic. And yes, NOW i can talk about 5.2...

:~)

Now I am confused.  I understood when the ACR sharpening was equivalent to Pixel Capture sharpen, but what am I supposed to do with output sharpening in ACR?  It seems to go against the "sharpen for print at output size and resolution" theory

An explanation would be appreciated

Keith
« Last Edit: November 28, 2008, 08:09:39 AM by keithrsmith » Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8027



WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2008, 10:56:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: keithrsmith
Now I am confused.  I understood when the ACR sharpening was equivalent to Pixel Capture sharpen, but what am I supposed to do with output sharpening in ACR?  It seems to go against the "sharpen for print at output size and resolution" theory


Kind of if you're going to mess around with the size and such. The idea is, you're going directly to print from here, you've set the size etc. So yes, if you're rendering the largest, say native res for subsequent work that may be output at differing sizes, you don't want to output sharpen out of the ACR gate. But if you do, pretty useful.

Now if we could just feed this to a smart print engine in Photoshop (ala the Print module), that be pretty cool. But then we do have Lightroom.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad