Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: ACR 5.2  (Read 21585 times)
Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« on: November 25, 2008, 03:04:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Snapshots!

HEAVEN!

Targeted Adjustment Tool ala LR is also nice though I would like a 'clear all' button like with the local adjustment brushes.

Given that Bridge/ACR now is as sophisticated a developing tool as LR2, and with the far better useability and integration of the Bridge CS4, if you don't buy into the 'library' way of working in LR (like myself), and if you own CS4 anyway, there really is no disadvantage at all in using a completely enclosed CS4 workflow. Been very very happy with CS4.

Now if only the bugs in the Review mode in Bridge would be sorted out...
Logged

walter.sk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1334


« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2008, 06:25:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pom
Snapshots!
HEAVEN!
Targeted Adjustment Tool ala LR is also nice though I would like a 'clear all' button like with the local adjustment brushes.
There is!  I just tried the targeted brush, and after a bit of searching I found the "Clear" button (but I don't remember where...I think it was on the lower right side.)

I couldn't find a way to stop using the brush, until I tried by selecting the hand tool, which solved the problem.  Is there another way to let go of the brush?
Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2008, 07:09:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pom
Targeted Adjustment Tool ala LR is also nice though I would like a 'clear all' button like with the local adjustment brushes.

Please elaborate on exactly what you're looking for. Then I can tell you whether that functionality is achievable with 5.2 or not.
Logged

Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2008, 01:07:01 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: madmanchan
Please elaborate on exactly what you're looking for. Then I can tell you whether that functionality is achievable with 5.2 or not.

Hi and thanks, the input from someone on the 'team' is extremely valuable here!

With the tool set to 'parametric curve' you can make changes BUT the parametric curve window doesn't open up, unlike with the other 4 options (hue/saturation/luminance/greyscale) where using the tool opens up the appropriate panel alongside.

Unlike in the past where adjustments to these values would have been inputted manually, I think it would be important to add a 'return to default values' button in the appropriate panel/pane. It's a pain in the neck to make a whole bunch of tweaks, decide you want to start from scratch and have to enter a whole bunch of boxes to type '0'.

That said I'm still salviating over the added usage brought by these tools. As a wedding photographer you can imagine what a combination of the targeted brush and the local adjustment tools will do for me! I've only processed one wedding with CS4 so far, it took me almost double the time in ACR for all that CS4 is faster. But those pictures look PERFECT when they go to PS to batch for printing! Local Adjustments are extremely addictive, now you can get perfect pictures that you wouldn't have bothered with in the past particularly, hey the tool is there, why not lighten up that corner a bit!

BTW did I miss something or is there no DNG converter in the 5.2 update?
« Last Edit: November 26, 2008, 01:11:06 AM by pom » Logged

Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2008, 01:09:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: walter.sk
I couldn't find a way to stop using the brush, until I tried by selecting the hand tool, which solved the problem.  Is there another way to let go of the brush?

It's the same with all the new brushes. You have to learn new keyboard shortcuts. Z for zoom or H for hand will bring you back and it's faster than clicking. Does anyone have the keyboard shortcut for returning to the 'Basic' pane from anything else?
Logged

madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2008, 09:17:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pom
BTW did I miss something or is there no DNG converter in the 5.2 update?

Ben, there is a DNG Converter 5.2, but it is not included in the CR plug-in download package. Starting with the 5.2 release, we have decided to separate out the downloads of the CR plug-in and DNG Converter application, because most users have indicated to us that they tend to use one or the other, but not both (among other reasons).

So, if you wish to download the DNG Converter 5.2, it is a separate download.
Logged

madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2008, 09:22:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pom
Does anyone have the keyboard shortcut for returning to the 'Basic' pane from anything else?

That depends.

If you are using a tool that does not have its own special panes (examples of such tools are the Zoom tool, White Balance tool, etc.), then you can navigate all the panes using Cmd-Option-{1 through 9}, where Cmd-Option-1 is the Basic pane and Cmd-Option-9 is the Snapshots pane. On Windows, replace Cmd with Ctrl, and replace Option with Alt. Note that on the Mac, Cmd-Option-8 is usually mapped to universal access by Mac OS X, so unless you change this preference in System Settings, you will not be able to use Cmd-Option-8 to access the Presets pane.

If you are using a tool that does have its own special pane (e.g., Adjustment Brush, or Spot Healing) then you can press a key like H (to access the Hand Tool) which will go back to the regular panes.
Logged

BFoto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 241



WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2008, 10:58:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pom
Given that Bridge/ACR now is as sophisticated a developing tool as LR2, and with the far better useability and integration of the Bridge CS4, if you don't buy into the 'library' way of working in LR (like myself), and if you own CS4 anyway, there really is no disadvantage at all in using a completely enclosed CS4 workflow. Been very very happy with CS4.
Very good point...begging the many questions raised to this day about the other 3 modules neglect in the development of LR. Although some improvement, mainly it seems in the print module, have been made recently, the poor slideshow and moderately better web module need a renewed kick in the rear by adobe...IMHO.

Logged

button
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 427


WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2008, 03:26:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: madmanchan
Please elaborate on exactly what you're looking for. Then I can tell you whether that functionality is achievable with 5.2 or not.

Hey Eric,

One thing I would love to see under the adjustment brush menu is "clarity".  If it's there now, my apologies- I havent' seen it.  Keep up the great work!

Thanks,
John
« Last Edit: November 26, 2008, 03:28:26 PM by button » Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5532


WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2008, 04:41:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: button
One thing I would love to see under the adjustment brush menu is "clarity".


Already there as well as Exposure, Brightness, Contrast, Saturation, Sharpness and Color tint. Note that these are "control channels" and have been tuned to work locally so there's not a 1:1 absolute relationship between these controls and the global controls. But they're close except for -Sharpness ain't "blur" it's more of an un-sharpness that tends to smooth. The effect is very subtle...(some might say TOO subtle).

:~)

The other thing I think is lacking is the ability to darken from the dark side kinda like the Shadows slider in Parametric Curves...you can use Exposure or Brightness to darken but it's darkening down from above not darkening from the bottom up.
Logged
Samotano
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88



WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2008, 11:41:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Schewe
Already there as well as Exposure, Brightness, Contrast, Saturation, Sharpness and Color tint. Note that these are "control channels" and have been tuned to work locally so there's not a 1:1 absolute relationship between these controls and the global controls. But they're close except for -Sharpness ain't "blur" it's more of an un-sharpness that tends to smooth. The effect is very subtle...(some might say TOO subtle).
I wonder what Jeff can (or cannot) say regarding distorsion correction (a la DxO) in LR/ACR... or if there has been any talk  at all on that ...

Another thing I wonder is how far will LR go?  Will it eventually become a photographer's replacement for PS?

Just wondering about the future...
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5532


WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2008, 11:45:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Samotano
Just wondering about the future...


Anybody who knows can't say...and anybody who says, can't know (unless his initials are TK).
« Last Edit: November 26, 2008, 11:45:57 PM by Schewe » Logged
Samotano
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88



WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2008, 12:03:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Schewe
Anybody who knows can't say...and anybody who says, can't know (unless his initials are TK).
  Well I share the first name of TK... shouldn't I be privileged to half of what u can't say?  
Logged
paulbk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 469



« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2008, 02:01:34 AM »
ReplyReply

re: Windows XP Pro

I just downloaded, unzipped, and installed CameraRAW 5.2. Then I ran “CameraProfiles.exe” that came with the zip download. I’m sure it installed a lot of profiles I don’t need. Anybody know where (what directory) these profiles are stored? I want to delete unnecessary files.
Logged

paul b. kramarchyk
Barkhamsted, Connecticut, USA
Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2008, 04:14:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: paulbk
re: Windows XP Pro

I just downloaded, unzipped, and installed CameraRAW 5.2. Then I ran “CameraProfiles.exe” that came with the zip download. I’m sure it installed a lot of profiles I don’t need. Anybody know where (what directory) these profiles are stored? I want to delete unnecessary files.

C:\Document and Settings\all users\application data\adobe\camera raw

Note that any profiles you make up for yourself using the DNG converter will be stored in 'user name' rather than 'all users'.

Logged

Ben Rubinstein
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1733


« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2008, 04:19:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: madmanchan
That depends.

If you are using a tool that does not have its own special panes (examples of such tools are the Zoom tool, White Balance tool, etc.), then you can navigate all the panes using Cmd-Option-{1 through 9}, where Cmd-Option-1 is the Basic pane and Cmd-Option-9 is the Snapshots pane. On Windows, replace Cmd with Ctrl, and replace Option with Alt. Note that on the Mac, Cmd-Option-8 is usually mapped to universal access by Mac OS X, so unless you change this preference in System Settings, you will not be able to use Cmd-Option-8 to access the Presets pane.

If you are using a tool that does have its own special pane (e.g., Adjustment Brush, or Spot Healing) then you can press a key like H (to access the Hand Tool) which will go back to the regular panes.

Ouch, when you have shortcut keys that need two hands you might as well use the mouse. Try doing ctrl/alt/6 to quickly get to the vignetting pane!

Shame that ACR can't use perhaps shift/# to get to any of the adjusment panes whether using the normal or special panes. Would make life easier rather than having to keyboard shortcut out of local adjustments then keyboard shortcut back into the required pane.

Give you an example, on a given picture I will usually do basic corrections, then vignetting if needed, then local corrections. When working through hundreds of proofs from a wedding as fast as possible it would be nicer to have a more streamlined shortcut system.

Just a thought.
Logged

martijn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2008, 10:48:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the great new additions to ACR5.2!

I do have a question though-about sharpening.
How do the new output sharpening options in the Workflow Options relate to the sharpening settings on the Detail tab?
Do they replace/override or enhance the user settings?

If the Output sharpening replaces the user-defined sharpening, the latter would be for preview purposes only I guess (that is an option in the preferences after all...).

But, I assume the Detail tab settings are for input sharpening, and the output sharpening options are for, well...so they if that's the case, the output sharpening does build on/enhance the Detail tab sharpening?

Is some workflow/best practices rethinking in order with this new option-whether to use the detail tab, or to tone that down a bit etc?

Thanks for any insights on this!

Martijn
Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2008, 11:27:13 AM »
ReplyReply

In Camera Raw, there are 3 explicit sharpening stages, corresponding to the stages in the "sharpening workflow" originally proposed by Bruce Fraser: capture sharpening, creative sharpening, and output sharpening.

Capture sharpening is handled in the Detail pane. It is enabled by default (amount = 25). It can be disabled by setting amount to 0. The last major revision to capture sharpening occurred with CR 4.1.

Creative sharpening is handled via local adjustments and is new to CR 5 / LR 2. By default there is no creative sharpening, since by default there are no local adjustments to an image.

Output sharpening is set via the workflow options. By default it is disabled.

Capture & creative sharpening are applied to the image at its original, native resolution. Output sharpening is applied after any image resampling that is required to bring the image to its output resolution.
Logged

martijn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2008, 01:46:30 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you very much, Eric, exactly what I wanted to know!

Martijn
Logged
button
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 427


WWW
« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2008, 09:58:22 PM »
ReplyReply

I think a big "hats off" to the camera raw team is in order for creating the targeted adjustment tool.  Whoever came up with that one deserves a raise (or some paid vacation).

John
« Last Edit: December 05, 2008, 09:59:32 PM by button » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad