Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: ? On .MOV Files  (Read 6464 times)
Kevin Gallagher
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 233



WWW
« on: November 30, 2008, 10:22:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi all, I have a question about .mov files. If I view them on my PC {using the Quicktime Free Player) I can't seem to move them to another directory. I get the "this file is in use by another program blah..blah..blah dialog box" I've looked in the running apps & processes to try and identify what is causing this but don't see any obvious candidates. A reboot seems to cure the problem but it is a bit of a nuisance. Any help would be appreciated.
Logged
feppe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2909

Oh this shows up in here!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 11:30:01 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Kevin Gallagher
Hi all, I have a question about .mov files. If I view them on my PC {using the Quicktime Free Player) I can't seem to move them to another directory. I get the "this file is in use by another program blah..blah..blah dialog box" I've looked in the running apps & processes to try and identify what is causing this but don't see any obvious candidates. A reboot seems to cure the problem but it is a bit of a nuisance. Any help would be appreciated.

Try selecting the file, and keeping it selected for 2-10 seconds - until the filesize, format and video length show up at the bottom of Windows Explorer pane. This should fix it.

Windows insists on reading the headers of the file whenever you select it, and video files seem to sometimes take quite a while to finish. You can't move the file until it is finished. Annoying as hell.
Logged

Kevin Gallagher
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 233



WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 01:46:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Kevin Gallagher
Hi all, I have a question about .mov files. If I view them on my PC {using the Quicktime Free Player) I can't seem to move them to another directory. I get the "this file is in use by another program blah..blah..blah dialog box" I've looked in the running apps & processes to try and identify what is causing this but don't see any obvious candidates. A reboot seems to cure the problem but it is a bit of a nuisance. Any help would be appreciated.

  Thanks Feppe but that didn't do it. I came upon something that advised disabling qttask.exe in the startup folder by using msconfig, that helped with some but not all of the files. The only way I was able to move them was to uninstall quicktime completely. There are some inquires about this problem on the Apple "support" forums but..... no answers
 

 Anyone know of another PC program to play .mov files?
Logged
Chris Sanderson
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1889



« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2008, 02:08:29 PM »
ReplyReply

Use VLC Media Player - far more stable, more compatible with Windows' environments and less CPU intensive - it's also free!

My suggestion: Do a complete uninstall of QuickTime
« Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 02:10:32 PM by Chrissand » Logged

Christopher Sanderson
The Luminous-Landscape
Kevin Gallagher
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 233



WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2008, 03:55:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Chrissand
Use VLC Media Player - far more stable, more compatible with Windows' environments and less CPU intensive - it's also free!

My suggestion: Do a complete uninstall of QuickTime


Hi Chris, it worked like the proverbial charm.     Took a bit of time for the QT to uninstall.. it must have had it's fruit laden tentacles all over my poor PC
 
Logged
Kevin Gallagher
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 233



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2008, 07:00:27 AM »
ReplyReply


Oh well you can't win them all  

 I recently treated myself to an IPOD touch and installed ITunes..seems ITunes won't start without quicktime installed  


Logged
Kevin Gallagher
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 233



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2009, 09:14:05 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Kevin Gallagher

Oh well you can't win them all  

 I recently treated myself to an IPOD touch and installed ITunes..seems ITunes won't start without quicktime installed  


UPDATE: I just discovered a neat little win app called "unlocker" It's freeware and available from a number of sites as well as  http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/. It adds an option to your right click menu that, when invoked, shows you exactly what program or process has it's hooks in your file, let's you kill the hooks and delete the file(s).
« Last Edit: May 24, 2009, 09:14:42 AM by Kevin Gallagher » Logged
dalethorn
Guest
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2009, 06:35:26 PM »
ReplyReply

I solved the problem (at least for my purposes) just by having an extra .MOV file in the directory (name it to 'dummy.mov'). When I'm finished with the real .MOV files, I open the dummy file and that unlocks the one I was viewing.  So then I can remove the other files and leave the dummy there.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad