When I check "yes to all" upon quitting, I can see that the time modified to the RAWs is indeed now changed to the time I quit. So what I do not know is if the image data in the RAW is actually changed, or if the recipe is the only thing added to the file, hence modifying it (when checking "yes to all" when quitting).
DPP adds reference data to the raw file that only DPP reads. It includes all the parameter settings of the program, including dust spotting. The raw image data is not altered.
Adobe products provide an external "side-car" file (or a massive database buried in the system drive) and DPP merely places that data into the raw file. I think it's a cleaner, easier approach.