Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: DXO Optics and Canon G10  (Read 13822 times)
JPrimgaard
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 54


« on: January 05, 2009, 04:12:16 PM »
ReplyReply

A question for those using DXO optics.

How long after the introduction of the G9 was it before DXO support was introduced?

Am looking at the price break offered currently on DXO, but really only need it for the G10.  Isn't worth it though if it's going to be a long wait.

Thanks for the input!

Jake
Logged
Misirlou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 545


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 04:39:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: JPrimgaard
A question for those using DXO optics.

How long after the introduction of the G9 was it before DXO support was introduced?

Am looking at the price break offered currently on DXO, but really only need it for the G10.  Isn't worth it though if it's going to be a long wait.

Thanks for the input!

Jake

Well, you could buy DxO now, shoot now, and just run DxO on those images later.

If you go to the DxO site, there is a lot of talk about DxO trying to do a better job of prioritizing new modules, so maybe the G10 will be available soon.
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 7526



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 04:45:59 PM »
ReplyReply

I believe that DxO has announced that the G10 would be supported in January.

This news is displayed on the front page of their site, and was also reported below on this very section of the forum.

Cheers,
Bernard

Logged

A few images online here!
JPrimgaard
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 54


« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 05:17:58 PM »
ReplyReply

I am getting DXO only for the G10, so if support is many months away it's a waste for me currently.

And I realize what was announced, but I have no experience with this company and don't now what "January" means to these folks (maybe March or May?).  I seem to remember other small companies promising support for "XYZ" by whatever date, only to leave it's customers hanging for months and months.

That's why I ask what the G9 support was like as it may be an indicator of their actual responsiveness in adding new support.

Promises are nice, results are what matter

Thanks for the input guys.

Jake
Logged
NikosR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 622


WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2009, 11:54:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: JPrimgaard
I am getting DXO only for the G10, so if support is many months away it's a waste for me currently.

And I realize what was announced, but I have no experience with this company and don't now what "January" means to these folks (maybe March or May?).  I seem to remember other small companies promising support for "XYZ" by whatever date, only to leave it's customers hanging for months and months.

That's why I ask what the G9 support was like as it may be an indicator of their actual responsiveness in adding new support.

Promises are nice, results are what matter

Thanks for the input guys.

Jake

DxO are not usually late after having announced some future camera support. They were very late with the G9, but then they hadn't announced it either. I would read 'January' as end of  January -  beginning of February.

DxO are generally late supporting new cameras (I suppose their excuse is they have to do much more work than others since they test and map the camera - lens combinations) but they are usually on time with their announcements.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2009, 11:57:38 PM by NikosR » Logged

Nikos
JPrimgaard
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 54


« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2009, 10:10:45 PM »
ReplyReply

Nikos,

Thanks for the input, I saw that they are pushing for end of January.  I simply have no experience with this company.

Again, thanks!

Jake
Logged
daws
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 265


« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2009, 04:06:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: JPrimgaard
Nikos,

Thanks for the input, I saw that they are pushing for end of January.  I simply have no experience with this company.

Again, thanks!

Jake

I've been using DxO since v3.5. My only experience with them that relates to your question is that I asked them early last year when they'd release a module for the Canon EF 14mm 2.8L II USM on the 5D (the lens came out in autumn of '07) . They promptly emailed me back that "it's on their list."

A year later, nothing.

Currently I'm waiting for them to support the 5D II. Like the G10, they're saying January.

We'll see.


EDIT: Rereading my post, in fairness to DxO I should mention that I've had a couple occasions to deal with their tech support in the last two years, and both times the support staff was thoroughly professional and very quick to respond. Also, IMO their current v5 DxO Optics RAW converter has been excellent when used with my 5D and 24-105 zoom.
In sum I've had no issues their the performance of DxO's product or of their support -- only frustration that they don't have correction modules available for more of the lenses in my kit.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2009, 04:20:10 PM by daws » Logged
NikosR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 622


WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2009, 05:45:01 AM »
ReplyReply

DxO have just come up with version 5.3.2 supporting the G10 and the 5DII as promised.
Logged

Nikos
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6455


« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2009, 05:54:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Marc McCalmont just reported that G10 & 5D2 are supported by DXO  (http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=31364&hl= ).

You can read the press release on DXO website: http://www.dxo.com/intl/photo/news/DxO-Opt...rection-Modules

Edit: Nikos was faster than me...
« Last Edit: January 21, 2009, 05:55:40 AM by francois » Logged

Francois
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 7526



WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2009, 06:53:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: francois
Marc McCalmont just reported that G10 & 5D2 are supported by DXO  (http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=31364&hl= ).

Cool, now only the D3x is missing. :-)

DxO on the G10 should shine, I cannot wait to try re-converting some "old" G10 files with it to see how it deals with distorsion, etc...

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 7526



WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2009, 09:10:34 AM »
ReplyReply

Just tried opening some G10 files with DxO 5.3.2.

The files do open, but the program doesn't seem to be applying any lens distorsion correction... I believed that this was supposed to be totally automated. Am I missing something here?

Cheers,
Bernard

Logged

A few images online here!
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 7526



WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2009, 09:21:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BernardLanguillier
Just tried opening some G10 files with DxO 5.3.2.

The files do open, but the program doesn't seem to be applying any lens distorsion correction... I believed that this was supposed to be totally automated. Am I missing something here?

Got it, it seems that the G10 module is currently "not allowed" on my DxO instance altough I have an Elite license,... strange.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
Bernard

Logged

A few images online here!
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7470



WWW
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2009, 10:33:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BernardLanguillier
Got it, it seems that the G10 module is currently "not allowed" on my DxO instance altough I have an Elite license,... strange.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
Bernard
Maybe you need to upgrade to the "Elite Pro Supercollosal" license.  

I've been waiting to hear your comments before I upgrade. I use DxO for everything else (mainly Canon 5D), and it is a reall annoyance to have to use DPP for my G10 only.
I think I'll download 5.3.2 and see what happens.

Cheers,

Eric

P.S. The G10 is such a fun camera for the situations it is suited for!
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
httivals
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82


« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2009, 11:23:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Bernard: I have the same experience as you with the G10 and Canon 5DII.  I filed a request with DXO customer service -- they usually get back to me within a day or two.  In the meantime, if someone else is able to get the G10 or 5DII profiles to work, I'd love to hear how. . . .  I'm looking forward to using the new modules.

Quote from: BernardLanguillier
Got it, it seems that the G10 module is currently "not allowed" on my DxO instance altough I have an Elite license,... strange.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
marcmccalmont
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1722



« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2009, 01:53:02 PM »
ReplyReply

I first downloaded 5.3.2 and had no problems with either the G10 or 5D2 files
It now supports my Xsi + Sigma 18-200 OS!
Marc
Logged

Marc McCalmont
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 7526



WWW
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2009, 05:38:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: httivals
Bernard: I have the same experience as you with the G10 and Canon 5DII.  I filed a request with DXO customer service -- they usually get back to me within a day or two.  In the meantime, if someone else is able to get the G10 or 5DII profiles to work, I'd love to hear how. . . .  I'm looking forward to using the new modules.

The advise I got from their support team is to completely un-install 5.3.2 with AppDelete (I am on OS 10.5.6) and to re-install, which I am currently doing.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 7526



WWW
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2009, 06:20:47 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BernardLanguillier
The advise I got from their support team is to completely un-install 5.3.2 with AppDelete (I am on OS 10.5.6) and to re-install, which I am currently doing.

Cheers,
Bernard

Update, just had the time to do a quick test after re-install, it seems to have worked.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
httivals
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82


« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2009, 08:33:56 PM »
ReplyReply

I also got advice from the support team, followed it, and now it's working.  The improvement on the G10 files is extraordinary!

Quote from: BernardLanguillier
Update, just had the time to do a quick test after re-install, it seems to have worked.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 7526



WWW
« Reply #18 on: January 21, 2009, 09:25:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: httivals
I also got advice from the support team, followed it, and now it's working.  The improvement on the G10 files is extraordinary!

I didn't really check in details yet, but they quick look I gave at the file seemed promising.

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
httivals
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82


« Reply #19 on: January 22, 2009, 01:37:46 AM »
ReplyReply

By setting lens softness to "0" (default for removing lens softness), the increase in sharpness without increasing noise is extraordinary.  At iso 80, these files do compare with a DSLR!  I printed a landscape last night that I'd printed before.  It now is an extraordinary print, whereas before it looked like a print from a good compact.

Quote from: httivals
I also got advice from the support team, followed it, and now it's working.  The improvement on the G10 files is extraordinary!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad