Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: C1 4.6 Pro "freezing" problem  (Read 5240 times)
Paul Sumi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1217


« on: January 15, 2009, 04:01:36 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm runnng C1 4.6 Pro on a Win XP 32 bit box (quad core, 4 gigs of RAM).  I'm running into a problem where C1 freezes when I try to copy and apply a camera profile to a large number of RAW files at once (400-600 Canon 1Ds2 files).  

The program freezes and the screen doesn't update.  Task manager shows CPU usage of 30%-40% but that C1 is still running.  I've let the computer "sit" for a number of minutes to no avail.  I've had to end the task to quit the program.

Applying changes to smaller numbers (perhaps 50-100) of files works fine, so I can work-around.

I'm wondering if I just need to let C1 crunch a bit longer or if this is a genuine problem.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul

Update: this happens when I try to click on a picture a short time after I apply the change in the Adjustments Clipboard.  The app freezes and a couple of times I got a popup saying C1 has unexpectedly quit and invited me to send in a report.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 11:36:33 PM by PaulS » Logged

mrcmrc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 40


« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 02:24:50 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: PaulS
I'm runnng C1 4.6 Pro on a Win XP 32 bit box (quad core, 4 gigs of RAM).  I'm running into a problem where C1 freezes when I try to copy and apply a camera profile to a large number of RAW files at once (400-600 Canon 1Ds2 files).  

The program freezes and the screen doesn't update.  Task manager shows CPU usage of 30%-40% but that C1 is still running.  I've let the computer "sit" for a number of minutes to no avail.  I've had to end the task to quit the program.

Applying changes to smaller numbers (perhaps 50-100) of files works fine, so I can work-around.

I'm wondering if I just need to let C1 crunch a bit longer or if this is a genuine problem.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul

Update: this happens when I try to click on a picture a short time after I apply the change in the Adjustments Clipboard.  The app freezes and a couple of times I got a popup saying C1 has unexpectedly quit and invited me to send in a report.

I'm on a Mac, however I've got some freezes and crashes with C1 4.6 (and 4.6.1), I haven't found a solution. Try contacting the PhaseOne support (http://www.phaseone.com/Content/Support.aspx), they are pretty fast (but they still have to find a solution to my crashes...).
Logged
Khun_K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 349


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 10:46:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: mrcmrc
I'm on a Mac, however I've got some freezes and crashes with C1 4.6 (and 4.6.1), I haven't found a solution. Try contacting the PhaseOne support (http://www.phaseone.com/Content/Support.aspx), they are pretty fast (but they still have to find a solution to my crashes...).
I got the same issue as well today using 1Ds MK3. I ran thru 994 captures and my C1 4.6.1 probably freeze 6-7 times, I have to force quit and restart it and it continue to work but somehow the naming is totally crashed and messing up, but the files captures still there. I made the shots tethered to my Macbook Pro 2.4GHz with 4G RAM. However, last week I use the C1 4.6.1 on my iMac 2.8GHz, 4G Ram and ran thru 1,100 captures with my P45+ and not a single problem. so may the problem is with Canon?  Or the communication between the camera and C1?
Logged
AlanG
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 195



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2009, 11:14:32 PM »
ReplyReply

I can't say for sure what is happening in the above cases.  I find that if I simply trash a lot of pictures, the program freezes for a while. But it actually isn't hanging up, it just takes a while to trash the photos. This is pretty sluggish compared to version 3.x  At fist I thought this could be caused by the Trash folder being on a different drive from the pictures - e.g. it had to copy all the photos to the trash. But I put the Trash onto the same drive and it still is slow. It gives no message what is going on.

So maybe when you think it has stopped, the program is still working slowly.  

I'm on Vista 64, C-1 version 4.6.3
Logged

Alan Goldstein
Goldsteinphoto website

I have a new fine art project. Please take a look:
Fine art site

Galleries of images at Photoshelter:
Galleries
Henry Goh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 574


« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2009, 11:25:51 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm running C1 4.6.3 on a Macbook Pro 2.4GHz/6Gb ram and on a Win XP Quad Core 2.8GHz/4Gb ram.  I have zero issues with both machines.  One thing I learned is to make sure you clean up previous versions of 4.xx before installing the latest otherwise you risk some contamination from old files left in the folder.  In fact my setups are stable even with C1 V3.7.9 and 3.7.8 still on the machines and running.

I'm even shooting Nikon D2X tethered through Nikon Camera Control Pro V2.40 to hot folders and letting C1 Pro process the files without issues.

Perhaps I'm just very lucky.

ps. one more thing that could be helping - I run registry mechanic on all my Windows machines daily.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2009, 11:26:38 PM by Henry Goh » Logged
AlanG
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 195



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2009, 08:14:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Henry Goh
I'm running C1 4.6.3 on a Macbook Pro 2.4GHz/6Gb ram and on a Win XP Quad Core 2.8GHz/4Gb ram.  I have zero issues with both machines.

Just so I can try to figure out if there is something wrong with my setup... If you trash 300 photos at one time, how long before you can do anything else with the program?

Also since you brought up tethered shooting.
I have a 5DII and it is not supported yet by C-1's own tethering. So if I run Canon's tethering software along with C1 and point to the same capture folder, here is what happens:

1. The images don't always show up in C1 as soon as I take them.  Usually I have to shoot a few pictures and then some come in. Shoot a few more and some come in. I can't simply shoot a photo and then review it.

2. If the USB cable between the camera and the computer is removed, I have to close C1, plug in the camera to re-establish a connection, then restart C-1.

Due to these tethering problems, I generally use other cameras for tethered shooting.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2009, 08:19:43 AM by AlanG » Logged

Alan Goldstein
Goldsteinphoto website

I have a new fine art project. Please take a look:
Fine art site

Galleries of images at Photoshelter:
Galleries
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad