Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: White Balance, RAW, HDR, ACR  (Read 5439 times)
AndrewKulin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333



WWW
« on: February 19, 2009, 09:21:23 PM »
ReplyReply

When shooting HDR images in RAW and adjusting white balance which of the following will work?  I will often have a whi-bal card shot using the same HDR sequence as my shots (usually AEB 0, +/-2 EV) to be used to set the white balance correctly.  The first method is is how I currently do this but I am looking for a more streamlined way, particularly when sequence of shots are to be stitched in a panorama

1.  Open RAW files in ACR, for each set of exposures, e.q., -2, 0, then + 2 EV, go first to the Whi-Bal photo, use the eye-dropper and set WB based on the grey card.  Then synchronize all the other photos done at the same exposure setting.  Repeat process for the other two exposure settings.  Run HDR.  (then stitch)

Can this method be used instead and yield accurate results?  

2.  open all RAW shots in ACR.  Set white balance based on one of the three whi-bal shots (e.g., 0 EV).  Synchronize all shots at all exposures based on the one white balance correction?  Run HDR, etc.
3. Alternative workflow?

Thanks
Logged

tomrock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 240


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2009, 07:56:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Opening them all in ACR and synchronizing them is how I'd do it so that must be the best way. :-)
Logged
jamest50
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2009, 01:28:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi:

As long as the light is the same for all exposures, there is no need to take more than one White Balance shot. Use this one for the images.

Quote from: tomrock
Opening them all in ACR and synchronizing them is how I'd do it so that must be the best way. :-)
Logged
AndrewKulin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333



WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2009, 08:44:38 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: jamest50
Hi:

As long as the light is the same for all exposures, there is no need to take more than one White Balance shot. Use this one for the images.


Thank you, you have confirmed what I suspected was the case.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad