Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Bridge and ACR 5.2  (Read 4134 times)
jrgoldman9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« on: February 26, 2009, 12:59:29 PM »
ReplyReply

I have the CS4 suite. I downloaded the new version of camera raw plugin and now when I open a folder in Bridge the jpgs show the images but any raw files show either a blank or DNG icon.  If I click on a raw icon then it opens in the ACR window,  But I still can't see it in Bridge  If I want to try again do I need to UNINSTALL FIRST?  I used automatic install.

I would like to try manual install: Here are Adobe's instructions:

"Manual installation on Mac:
1. Exit Photoshop CS4 and Adobe Bridge.
2. Open the download file, double-click CameraProfiles.dmg, and follow the onscreen instructions.
3. Open the Finder.
4. Navigate to the root of the local disk (not the user's home folder).
5. Navigate to: (Please read directory carefully)

Library/Application Support/Adobe/Plug-Ins/CS4/File Formats

6. Move the existing plug-in to another location (for example, a new folder on your desktop). Ensure you keep this version in case you need to revert back.
7. Copy the Camera Raw plug-in, Camera Raw, from the download into the same folder as in Step 4.
8. Launch Photoshop CS4 or Adobe Bridge. "

In step 4 what is the root of the local disk?
In step 5 there is no plugin folder under Adobe.

A folder 'CS3' is still in the adobe folder.  Do I throw it away or uninstall t (how) ?


THERE WERE NO PROBLEMS SEEING RAW FILES IN BRIDGE, EXCEPT FO THE CANON G10, BEFORE THE FIRST DOWNLOADING.

HELP!

Thanks, Jay
Logged
Dinarius
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 709


« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 03:02:02 AM »
ReplyReply

Jay,

I would post your question here>

http://www.adobeforums.com/webx/.3bb6a858/

....you'll probably get a faster reply.

....and I would choose a more descriptive header.

D.
Logged
tomrock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 239


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 07:08:08 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
In step 4 what is the root of the local disk?
In step 5 there is no plugin folder under Adobe.

Double-click the hard disk icon on your desktop in the upper-right corner. You want the top disk if you have more than one. That's the "root" of you local [boot] disk. There will be a plug-ins folder under Adobe there.

Another thing to try in Bridge, if to choose Tools --> Cache --> Purge cache for the folder where you can't see the raw files.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2009, 07:08:35 AM by tomrock » Logged
250swb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 211


« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2009, 03:44:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I have the CS4 suite. I downloaded the new version of camera raw plugin and now when I open a folder in Bridge the jpgs show the images but any raw files show either a blank or DNG icon. If I click on a raw icon then it opens in the ACR window, But I still can't see it in Bridge If I want to try again do I need to UNINSTALL FIRST? I used automatic install.

I treated myself to a CS4 download when I got my new Canon G10 and the same thing happened to me. All my normal RAW images had a picture thumbnail, but the G10 had a logo box but they would still open in ACR. The fix was easy, I updated Bridge and then I could see the G10 thumbs.

Steve
« Last Edit: March 10, 2009, 03:45:10 AM by 250swb » Logged

KeithR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 630


« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2009, 11:02:40 AM »
ReplyReply

Be advised that ACR is now at 5.3 and Lightroom is at 2.3.
Logged

The destination is our goal but its the journey that educates us.
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad