Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Capture one 4.7 on OSX Instability  (Read 7062 times)
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8199



WWW
« on: April 07, 2009, 07:21:25 AM »
ReplyReply

I would stay on 4.6, 4.7 is crashing on me all on the time on OSX 10.5.6...

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Colorwave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1000


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2009, 06:15:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Same results here.  I'm back to 4.6.2.  Interestingly enough, my issues were not from tethered shooting or using the new file format, but doing other routine processes within C1.  4.6 was and is a very stable release, so I will have to wait out the other conveniences they have added.
Logged

BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8199



WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 07:02:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Colorwave
Same results here.  I'm back to 4.6.2.  Interestingly enough, my issues were not from tethered shooting or using the new file format, but doing other routine processes within C1.  4.6 was and is a very stable release, so I will have to wait out the other conveniences they have added.

Same thing here, I got several out of memory errors while doing basic image parameter modifications... I am on a 32GB Leopard 8 core machine...

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
DesW
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 174


« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2009, 07:58:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Hmmm,

 Not to mention the Jpgs-- something is out of whack with the rendering output--I've got weird colour artifacts outputting to Jpg direct from the CF Card  with Custom WB Camera settings.

Tif seem OK for now.

DesW

Moi

Logged
jjlphoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 467


« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2009, 09:05:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BernardLanguillier
Same thing here, I got several out of memory errors while doing basic image parameter modifications... I am on a 32GB Leopard 8 core machine...

Cheers,
Bernard


Curious....I am on a MacPro with Twin 2.66gHz Xeon Duals and 9GB RAM running Tiger. I was trying out the Iridient Digital RAW Developer demo, and that 'low memory' warning came up. Never saw it before. I ignored it and luckily things went fine. This was during tethered shooting. Apparently, there is an OSX app called Image Capture that runs in the background and it is reported to be buggy in Leopard. Never heard of it being buggy in Tiger before.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2009, 09:06:45 AM by jjlphoto » Logged

Thanks, John Luke

Member-ASMP
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2838


WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2009, 09:01:04 AM »
ReplyReply

There is a memory leak for the operation of rotating images in 4.7. So if your workflow involves a lot of image rotations then you are best off remaining on 4.6.3.


Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
__________________
Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
Phase One, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
National: 877.217.9870  |  Cell: 740.707.2183
Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
terence_patrick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 152


WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2009, 02:40:40 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm on 4.7 with a Macbook 2.16ghz w/ 4gb ram and 10.5.6. Hasn't crashed once for me and I've left my computer on with C1 open for at least 4 days now while editing a shoot with about 450 Canon 5D MK2 files. Also have Photo Mechanic, Safari, Chicken of the VNC (remote desktop app) and iTunes open, for what it's worth.
Logged
pss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 960


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2009, 02:11:08 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: terence_patrick
I'm on 4.7 with a Macbook 2.16ghz w/ 4gb ram and 10.5.6. Hasn't crashed once for me and I've left my computer on with C1 open for at least 4 days now while editing a shoot with about 450 Canon 5D MK2 files. Also have Photo Mechanic, Safari, Chicken of the VNC (remote desktop app) and iTunes open, for what it's worth.


i tried to shoot tethered yesterday with the 5DII on my mbp (2.4/4gb/10.5.6) and C1 4.7 crashed after about 100 frames....just like canon capture.....anyone else have the same experience?
all i want to do at this point is use c1 for tethered shooting but if that does not work either, there is no point for me....

terence, which profile did you choose for the 5DII? i tried several (but did not really messed with it too much) and the skintones were awful in all of them.....have you tried shooting tethered?
Logged

mcfoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 938


WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2009, 10:16:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pss
i tried to shoot tethered yesterday with the 5DII on my mbp (2.4/4gb/10.5.6) and C1 4.7 crashed after about 100 frames....just like canon capture.....anyone else have the same experience?
all i want to do at this point is use c1 for tethered shooting but if that does not work either, there is no point for me....

terence, which profile did you choose for the 5DII? i tried several (but did not really messed with it too much) and the skintones were awful in all of them.....have you tried shooting tethered?

Hi
I was at CPS Canon in Sydney & they said there seems be a problem with mac book laptops. I am just about to start a shoot for the next 3 days with a 2.26 Octa (2009) with 16 GB ram. Have just bought C1 4.7 which is going to be my first experience with a Phase product. Also have DPP just in case.
Thanks Denis
Logged

Denis Montalbetti
Montalbetti+Campbell
www.montalbetticampbell.com
pss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 960


WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2009, 10:54:10 PM »
ReplyReply

the only way i can shoot tethered with the 5DII right now (without problems) is via VM and windows XP with canon capture.....works great....other then the whole 2 systems at once and a couple of apps running in both, of course.....

the problem with canon tethered is really old news, 10.5.6 sped things up considerably but things hit the wall after 100+ files.....so i thnk it is pretty amazing that phase makes a big announcement with 4.7 and tethered shooting with the 5DII.....i thought they somehow went around the 10.5.6/canon usb problem...but i guess they did not.....

10.5.7 is around the corner and hopefully takes care of this so we can just use canon capture/hotfolder.....

i am also not sure how anyone can use C1 without custom profiles...reminds me of shooting with the dsII and C1...the magne profiles were the only ones that provided decent skintones....

if anyone has found a nice profile for the 5DII please let me know....i would love to see it....
Logged

terence_patrick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 152


WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2009, 01:45:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pss
i tried to shoot tethered yesterday with the 5DII on my mbp (2.4/4gb/10.5.6) and C1 4.7 crashed after about 100 frames....just like canon capture.....anyone else have the same experience?
all i want to do at this point is use c1 for tethered shooting but if that does not work either, there is no point for me....

terence, which profile did you choose for the 5DII? i tried several (but did not really messed with it too much) and the skintones were awful in all of them.....have you tried shooting tethered?

Yes, I recently completed a job shot tethered without any issues. It wasn't a high volume job, but it worked a lot better than what I was previously doing (Canon Utility>LR>PM>C1). Granted, I recently upgraded my MB's hard drive to a Hitatchi 7200rpm drive, so it's a fresh install of OSX 10.5.6. I'm also at 4gb of ram, even though this model of MB only officially supports 2gb, but it's all recognized and has made a difference in the MB's performance. Seems like a new machine to me.

Have you tried the Canon 1D Daylight V3 profile with a bit of saturation boost? Gives me a smoother palette to start with.
Logged
mcfoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 938


WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2009, 06:41:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi
Well after the first day of shooting with PO 4.7 with the 1DSIII we had many crashes. We took the sleep mode off the camera & that did help. We are using 10.5.6 the latest one. We do like the program it is lot better than DPP. Even though DPP was bullet proof in 10.4.9. We are thinking of getting rid of the Canon SW off this computer tomorrow hoping that will help. We had a great day & got the shots needed. I am shooting very fast at times. BTW the new Broncolor Scoro power packs are brilliant!
Any ideas?
Thanks Denis
Logged

Denis Montalbetti
Montalbetti+Campbell
www.montalbetticampbell.com
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad