Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Photoshop CS4 missing CMYK mode?  (Read 7296 times)
JDClements
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 312



WWW
« on: May 11, 2009, 08:34:26 AM »
ReplyReply

I am trying to convert some images to CMYK for press for the first time since upgrading to CS4, and CMYK is not in the mode menu? I have Grayscale, Index color, RGB color, and Lab color. Am I missing something in general, or is something missing in my installation?
Logged

Jack Flesher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2595



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 10:18:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: JDClements
I am trying to convert some images to CMYK for press for the first time since upgrading to CS4, and CMYK is not in the mode menu? I have Grayscale, Index color, RGB color, and Lab color. Am I missing something in general, or is something missing in my installation?

Are you saying CMYK is not in the Image>Mode menu at all, or it is there and grayed out?  Regardless, it should be there, and depending what mode your existing image is in it may be grayed out or not.
Logged

JDClements
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 312



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2009, 10:35:45 AM »
ReplyReply

It's not there at all.
Logged

Greg Barnett
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2009, 11:14:49 AM »
ReplyReply

Have you tried throwing away your PS preferences?
Logged
Jack Flesher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2595



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2009, 12:16:59 PM »
ReplyReply

First try hitting "Show All Menu Items."  If that doesn't show, or regardless, you should probably try resetting the menu preferences back to Photoshop defaults in Edit>Menus.  Then if those don't work try the preference reset --- hold CMD+OPT+Shift keys as you launch CS4.  If that doesn't work, it sounds like you'll need to do a fresh install...
« Last Edit: May 11, 2009, 12:24:41 PM by Jack Flesher » Logged

JDClements
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 312



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2009, 12:26:53 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Greg Barnett
Have you tried throwing away your PS preferences?
Yes, it doesn't fix it. Besides CMYK, I am missing a few others, too. I just fired up my installation at home and all the options are there. On my office machine, it is missing.

This is what it looks like:
[attachment=13604:photoshop_cmyk.jpg]
Logged

JDClements
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 312



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2009, 12:29:09 PM »
ReplyReply

DOH! Show ALL menu items! I didn't know that horrible feature was there. I thought only Microsoft hid menu items from users.

Thanks for your help, I appreciate it.
Logged

Greg Barnett
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2009, 01:42:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: JDClements
Yes, it doesn't fix it. Besides CMYK, I am missing a few others, too. I just fired up my installation at home and all the options are there. On my office machine, it is missing.

Interesting because it does fix it on Mac if you do the command/option/shift reset of prefs.

Logged
k bennett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1464


WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2009, 03:46:15 PM »
ReplyReply

In any case, shouldn't you be using Convert to Profile rather than Mode>CMYK?
Logged

Equipment: a camera and some lenses.
JDClements
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 312



WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2009, 07:08:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: k bennett
In any case, shouldn't you be using Convert to Profile rather than Mode>CMYK?
Should I be? Can you please explain the difference, because I do not know about this.
Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2009, 08:03:25 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: JDClements
DOH! Show ALL menu items! I didn't know that horrible feature was there. I thought only Microsoft hid menu items from users.

There's no such option I can find on the Mac. So maybe you can blame MS.

As for Convert to Profile, advantage is, you can pick ANY CMYK profile installed, whereby with the Mode change, the current selected CMYK profile in Color Settings is used AND you get a soft proof too. Mode Change is not very useful...
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Greg Barnett
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2009, 08:36:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: digitaldog
There's no such option I can find on the Mac. So maybe you can blame MS.

It shows up after you turn off the visibility of a menu item in the Keyboard Shortcuts & Menu panel. Not real intuitive!
Logged
k bennett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1464


WWW
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2009, 09:05:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: JDClements
Should I be? Can you please explain the difference, because I do not know about this.

Well, that's my understanding. IN CS3 it's under the Edit Menu, Edit > Convert to Profile. This opens a dialog box which allows you to choose the destination profile (there are several CMYK profiles for different paper and press conditions), and choose the rendering intent. Most photos look good using Relative Colormetric or Perceptual, and you can toggle back and forth to check which is better.

This gives more control over the process. I have set up Actions for my common CMYK situations, using the Convert to Profile command. This speeds up my production work, but it's not necessary unless you are doing these conversions all the time.

EDIT: Let me add that the CMYK profiles you want are the U.S. Sheetfed and U.S. Web, Coated or Uncoated paper (assuming you are in the U.S.) These are "canned"profiles, but they work pretty well. Choosing the right profile can make a big difference, so you need to know the paper and press before doing the conversion. The client or art director should be able to give you this information.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2009, 09:09:11 PM by k bennett » Logged

Equipment: a camera and some lenses.
Jack Flesher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2595



WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2009, 09:19:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: digitaldog
There's no such option I can find on the Mac. So maybe you can blame MS.

It's there on Mac too, but only shows up if the menu preferences got set to basic to begin with. This has cropped up a few times with some of my students on workshops who did first time installations of CS.  For some inexplicable reason, some fresh CS instals set the menu view option to "Basic" instead of "Default" which gives a limited set of menu items in the drop-downs. (See Edit>Menus).  If the basic option is chosen, you will see the "Show All Options" in any menu thusly limited. I haven't been able to figure out exactly what causes CS4 to install that way on some systems and not others, but know that it happens on occasion.

Cheers,
Logged

JDClements
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 312



WWW
« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2009, 08:28:58 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Jack Flesher
For some inexplicable reason, some fresh CS instals set the menu view option to "Basic" instead of "Default" which gives a limited set of menu items in the drop-downs. (See Edit>Menus).
One fresh install of mine was set as Default, the other was set as Basic. Thanks for the tip, I have now corrected that.

And thanks k bennet and digitaldog for the convert to CMYK tips, I learned something there.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad