Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: No 5DMKII tethered support?  (Read 7126 times)
gr8fl4295
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


« on: May 13, 2009, 09:10:38 AM »
ReplyReply

I was hoping that Aperture 2.1.3 supported tethered shooting with 5DMKII, but it looks like NO.  Even after upgrading to 10.5.7.
The camera is recognized, but says "BUSY" when trying to capture.

Any suggestions?
Logged
Phil G
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2009, 04:07:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: gr8fl4295
I was hoping that Aperture 2.1.3 supported tethered shooting with 5DMKII, but it looks like NO.  Even after upgrading to 10.5.7.
The camera is recognized, but says "BUSY" when trying to capture.

Any suggestions?

I cannot get Aperture to even recognise the H3 D50  .fff files I just get a empty dotted line thumbnail frames in the import window and it will not import ??

I am on OS X 10.5.7 and latest version+ ug of Aperture

Phil
Logged
CatOne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 09:52:14 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: gr8fl4295
I was hoping that Aperture 2.1.3 supported tethered shooting with 5DMKII, but it looks like NO.  Even after upgrading to 10.5.7.
The camera is recognized, but says "BUSY" when trying to capture.

Any suggestions?

Aperture's tethered support doesn't work with any of the new Canon cameras.  Aperture's tethering support relies on a standard tethering protocol.  Canon used to support this, but they have moved to a proprietary solution starting with the Mark III cameras (so the 1D and 1Ds Mark III, the 50D, and the 5D Mark II, and likely others).  I'd think Aperture would completely need to re-implement tethering support to support the new Canon cameras, and I don't know if Canon even publishes their new proprietary spec.

So for now the solution is to use Canon's Capture app and set up a hot folder in Aperture, like was necessary in Aperture 1.x  
Logged

gr8fl4295
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2009, 10:01:33 AM »
ReplyReply

thanks for the reply.  I use the "hot folder" steps with LR.  Thought I might be able to subtract that part with Aperture, apparently not.


Quote from: CatOne
Aperture's tethered support doesn't work with any of the new Canon cameras.  Aperture's tethering support relies on a standard tethering protocol.  Canon used to support this, but they have moved to a proprietary solution starting with the Mark III cameras (so the 1D and 1Ds Mark III, the 50D, and the 5D Mark II, and likely others).  I'd think Aperture would completely need to re-implement tethering support to support the new Canon cameras, and I don't know if Canon even publishes their new proprietary spec.

So for now the solution is to use Canon's Capture app and set up a hot folder in Aperture, like was necessary in Aperture 1.x  
Logged
bryanyc
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 98


« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2009, 04:57:48 PM »
ReplyReply

well it is stupid that the 5d2 doesn't work yet because on Apple's aperture page for tethering it specifically says the 5d2 works.

see for yourself:

http://www.apple.com/aperture/specs/raw.html
Logged
buckshot
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 187


« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2009, 08:36:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: bryanyc
well it is stupid that the 5d2 doesn't work yet because on Apple's aperture page for tethering it specifically says the 5d2 works.

see for yourself:

http://www.apple.com/aperture/specs/raw.html

That page lists the RAW formats supported by Aperture, but doesn't say anything about tethered shooting support (as far as I can tell).
Logged
CatOne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2009, 09:51:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: buckshot
That page lists the RAW formats supported by Aperture, but doesn't say anything about tethered shooting support (as far as I can tell).

That is correct.

Here is the list of cameras for which Aperture provides built-in tethered support:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1085

For cameras not on this list, you can use their associated capture software and the "hot folder" approach which worked for Aperture 1.x.  It is definitely more klugey, but it sure would be nice if the camera vendors hadn't stopped supporting the standard tethering protocol.
Logged

Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2867


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2009, 03:07:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Don't mean to butt in but I thought it was worthwhile to mention that Capture One 4.8.2 has full native support for the 5DII shooting tethered. Many of our customers find C1 handles Canon files better (color, micro detail, noise levels, shadow color accuracy, mixed lighting handling etc) than LightRoom/Aperture.

If you have time to download the free trial you can decide for yourself.

If you're new to the program my company does screen-sharing based online training. There is also a class for those who already know the program well but want to master the advanced workflows possible for experts.

Capture One is also a great way to hedge your bets in the future as it has consistently had tethered support for the most recent Canon cameras (now also Nikon) shortly after their release.

Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
__________________
Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
Phase One, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
National: 877.217.9870  |  Cell: 740.707.2183
Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
« Last Edit: July 31, 2009, 03:08:52 PM by dougpetersonci » Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad