Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Capture one 3.7 to 4  (Read 4599 times)
gendem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« on: June 08, 2009, 04:39:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi there

I decided to try out the latest C1 Pro, and unless I'm missing something, they removed a bunch of the most useful keyboard shortcuts: those that directly control access to the adjustment sliders.

With C1 3.7 I am able to adjusts exposure, WB, etc directly, using the keyboard. Very fast, and no wasted time mousing all over the place, especially when a secondary programmable keyboard is used.  I can't seem to figure out how to do this with the demo of 4.8.1  Was this functionality removed, or is it hidden somewhere?

...Mike
Logged
MarkF
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2009, 02:00:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: gendem
Hi there

I decided to try out the latest C1 Pro, and unless I'm missing something, they removed a bunch of the most useful keyboard shortcuts: those that directly control access to the adjustment sliders.

With C1 3.7 I am able to adjusts exposure, WB, etc directly, using the keyboard. Very fast, and no wasted time mousing all over the place, especially when a secondary programmable keyboard is used.  I can't seem to figure out how to do this with the demo of 4.8.1  Was this functionality removed, or is it hidden somewhere?

...Mike

I think it was removed, but I would be very happy to be proved wrong! Now we are supposed to hover the mouse over the required correction and spin the scroll wheel to make the adjustment, but I agree it's just not as pleasant a way of working as using keyboard shortcuts.
Logged
jtrujillo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37



WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 03:49:17 AM »
ReplyReply

I switched to version 4 time ago and still haven't find the shortcuts , though I devote a good amount of time at each release. I still miss these small adjustments of luminosity, contrast etc with the arrowkeys but I must say that with time you get used to the new method.
Logged

kevraber
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2009, 09:04:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: jtrujillo
I switched to version 4 time ago and still haven't find the shortcuts , though I devote a good amount of time at each release. I still miss these small adjustments of luminosity, contrast etc with the arrowkeys but I must say that with time you get used to the new method.


In 4.8.1 keyboard controls are there.  Place your cursor in any of the numeric boxes and then use the up down arrow keys.  Also, you can customize keyboard commands.  If you have a scroll mouse place it on any of the sliders and you can adjust with the scroll wheel.
Logged
jtrujillo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 37



WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2009, 10:05:10 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: kevraber
In 4.8.1 keyboard controls are there.  Place your cursor in any of the numeric boxes and then use the up down arrow keys.  Also, you can customize keyboard commands.  If you have a scroll mouse place it on any of the sliders and you can adjust with the scroll wheel.
OK, but what I miss was being able to make basic adjustments with the keyboard only. My essential workflow for a batch of photos was all from the keyboard: small retouches to exposure, contrast saturation even White balance if I remember well , then another keystroke (arrow key) and got into the next photo. I don't mean that all should be limited to this but that's a very usual process on many photographs and for me it was comfortable. And you could do this even with the palettes visible and always looking at the photograph. Having to access the mouse made everything different.

Logged

gendem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2009, 09:51:33 AM »
ReplyReply

What Juan said. The wasted time of trying to position the mouse correctly adds up and distracts you from the image at hand. Direct-access adjustments are a huge and inexplicable omission. Very frustrating.
Logged
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104


« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2009, 12:06:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Thats why I am still using 3.7, I am afraid to loose these little workflow settings I have in place. I too use a macro keyboard, and would hate to use a mouse in place of shortcuts.

Where can you customize keyboard comands?


Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2765


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2009, 11:49:31 PM »
ReplyReply

You can customize your keyboard shortcuts under Capture One > Edit Keyboard Shortcuts. In that window you'll need to "duplicate" the default set of keyboard shortcuts first.

The Quick Adjustments keyboard shortcut system is pretty good. http://www.captureintegration.com/2009/04/...ck-adjustments/

Direct keyboard shortcuts specific to exposure/contrast may be added in a future version.

Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
__________________
Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
Phase One, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
National: 877.217.9870  |  Cell: 740.707.2183
Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
gendem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2009, 08:00:19 AM »
ReplyReply

The lack of direct keyboard shortcuts to adjustments, not just exposure and contrast, was present in C1 3. It seems as if the rush be just like Lightroom, phase one forgot one of their key advantages over every other RAW conversion system: speed. The fact that they "may" do this even though the request for this feature is all over even their own forums is very telling, and sad. I haven't seen such a huge product screw up since Corel bungled DRAW.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad