Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Topaz Detail now in beta testing phase  (Read 7862 times)
plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« on: August 04, 2009, 09:13:27 PM »
ReplyReply

The first Topaz Detail beta for Windows is now ready (Mac version coming Wednesday), and includes factory presets. See the download link at the top of the page here. Serial number is in the ReadMe that is included with the file.
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2009, 09:27:27 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the heads up - I'm a fan of Topaz (in certain circumstances - Adjust particularly and denoise occasionally) so I'll check this out.
Logged
plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2009, 11:57:15 AM »
ReplyReply

You're welcome!

BTW, besides offering a high level of control over image detail, Detail is developing into a serious B&W conversion tool which is perfect for landscape images. More info soon.

The Mac version is being held up just a bit so it can benefit from the latest fixes and improvements to the Windows version right out of the gate.
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2009, 06:28:57 PM »
ReplyReply

The Mac version is now out!
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2009, 06:43:54 PM »
ReplyReply

A bit slow, but performs as advertised - I'll discard my old fashioned local contrast USM.  The lack of halos/ringing is impressive - I suspect the technology behind the algorithm is pretty complex.
Logged
sniper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 594


« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2009, 08:47:40 AM »
ReplyReply

I found it slow loading as well, although it certainly seems to have possibilites, a lot depends on the final price though.
Logged
snickgrr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 270


WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2009, 10:33:46 AM »
ReplyReply

That does look pretty impressive...

Someone on here suggested, if you have Nik's Silver Efix, to use the "structure" slider and use the resulting layer in luminosity mode.  Doing so gives you very very similar results as far accentuating details.
Logged
plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2009, 11:41:01 AM »
ReplyReply

sniper, beta4 for Mac just came out (to match the Windows beta); it's supposed to be faster. Though there may still be some wait for the pre-processing. The developer is constantly trying to improve it.
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
Farkled
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 97


« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2009, 11:46:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Beta 4's multi-core optimization has really helped load times.  Thr 85 MB TIFs that took 5 minutes to load now take less than 2.  JPGs are a matter of a few seconds on my Dell quadcore running @ 2.33 GHZ.  As a micro-contrast tool I am loving it.  Jury is still out for B&W conversion (don't do much anyway.)
Logged
PierreVandevenne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 512


WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2009, 02:13:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Tim Gray
A bit slow, but performs as advertised - I'll discard my old fashioned local contrast USM.  The lack of halos/ringing is impressive - I suspect the technology behind the algorithm is pretty complex.

Could be wavelets.
Logged
JeffKohn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1671



WWW
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2009, 12:47:58 PM »
ReplyReply

No 64-bit version is a big disappointment for a plugin coming out this long after CS4 release.

I don't know what previous betas were like, but I tried opening an 86 megapixel pano with B4 and it took so long I thought Photoshop had hung (I didn't use a stopwatch, but I'd guess at least 5 minutes). So hopefully there's still some room for improvement.

The actual results looked decent though, I'll have to try some more images. Definitely one of those tools where a little goes a long way though.
Logged

plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2009, 01:07:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Beta 5 for Mac is just out, solving both a multiprocessor crash issue and related compatbility issues when using other developers' plug-ins in the same session. Also, it seems a lot faster!

I'm checking into the 64-bit question and will let you know.
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2009, 01:29:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Jeff, the developer says:

"We did not make a beta release for 64-bit Windows, but it will be available for the real release."
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
JeffKohn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1671



WWW
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2009, 01:57:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Good to know, thanks for the update.
Logged

MarkL
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 344


« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2009, 02:00:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Crashes out on my PC with any image over about 300mb (P4 duo 2.8GHz 3Ghz RAM)

Often makes a real mass of web size jpgs

Works as advertised on 'normal' sized images but seems to add/bring out a fair amount of noise
« Last Edit: August 08, 2009, 02:01:08 PM by MarkL » Logged
plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2009, 02:07:16 PM »
ReplyReply

In the absence of a Noise tab (such as in Adjust), you can increase "Small Details" and REDUCE "Small Boost". If you adjust these properly, you will see that Reduce Small Boost will suppress the noise while increase "Small details" maintains sharpness.
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
snickgrr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 270


WWW
« Reply #16 on: August 09, 2009, 12:05:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Seems to crash Photoshop when sending large files to print on 8 core Mac.
Logged
plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« Reply #17 on: August 09, 2009, 01:57:31 PM »
ReplyReply

You're using Detail beta 5? Let me know and I'll pass on the info.
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
snickgrr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 270


WWW
« Reply #18 on: August 10, 2009, 12:46:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Ummm...Can't locate a version number for it, but I just downloaded it a couple days ago.
Logged
plugsnpixels
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 324



WWW
« Reply #19 on: August 10, 2009, 10:06:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Click the menu button (lower right of the interface) one of the options will tell you the version number. It might not have the particular beta build listed though, but it seems you would have the latest judging by when you downloaded it.
Logged

FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad