Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Snow Leopard observations  (Read 14978 times)
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696


« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2009, 04:33:04 PM »
ReplyReply

The DTP94 doesn't work properly on Snow Leopard, at least not on my machine with Color Navigator (5.2.2) and BasICColor Display (4.1.15).
It works but the measurement period per color patch is quite long and in dark tonalvalues the results are off.
I rebootet my machine in Leopard and the DTP94 worked accurate and flawless with both softwares as usual.
Will there be an update for the DTP94? Probably not - a real pitty.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2009, 04:33:35 PM by tho_mas » Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8202



WWW
« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2009, 08:44:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Still crashes at save on some configs even after 1.6.1 upgrade.

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/2009/09/snow_...d.html#comments

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2009, 11:40:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: tho_mas
The DTP94 doesn't work properly on Snow Leopard, at least not on my machine with Color Navigator (5.2.2) and BasICColor Display (4.1.15).

Has to be the software as this hardware ran fine on my NEC 3090 with SpectraView II 1.1.03.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2009, 11:41:08 AM by digitaldog » Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
BlasR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 760



WWW
« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2009, 12:48:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BernardLanguillier
Still crashes at save on some configs even after 1.6.1 upgrade.

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/2009/09/snow_...d.html#comments

Cheers,
Bernard


My crash if I do more then two layers.

Blas
Logged

ashley
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


WWW
« Reply #24 on: September 18, 2009, 09:47:37 AM »
ReplyReply

I have had a nightmare since upgrading to snow leopard and originally I was convinced that this was down to the upgrade. It turned out to be a failing hard drive but the signs were far from clear and it looked more like software issues at the start. I have written a more complete blog post at:

http://www.nudephotopro.com/blog/2009/09/c...aches/#more-402
Logged

kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 771


WWW
« Reply #25 on: September 18, 2009, 06:04:39 PM »
ReplyReply

DXO does not install
NX2.20 works 2.2.2 does not
I have problems of software that cannot find to find the ICC profiles they just produced...?
PTLens says it will not work-

so I wait a half year...

Have not found anything usefull worth upgrading

It will come but not now...

Apple is ahead of the future again..
Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696


« Reply #26 on: September 19, 2009, 08:42:26 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: digitaldog
Has to be the software as this hardware ran fine on my NEC 3090 with SpectraView II 1.1.03.
yes, maybe. With "Argyll" the DTP94 seems to run okay.
Logged
Jack Flesher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2595



WWW
« Reply #27 on: September 25, 2009, 10:57:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: kers
PTLens says it will not work-

so I wait a half year...

Hmmm....  I need to tag Thomas -- PTLens is running fine in stand-alone or CS plug-in mode.  Maybe doesn't work in LR, I don't know because I use C1.

I did the install finally last night, and it went surprisingly smoothly.  I would not "endorse" it yet, but so far, so good.  I am not having any prominent issues, can save layers, can save jpegs.  I did update all of my key software before the SL install and I did install Rosetta from the options on the SL disk.  I did have to uninstall and reinstall my 3800, but that was about it.  Ditto my MPB install -- went smooth.  As for performance, the only thing notable so far is that launches are faster and C1 seems to run a lot faster.


Logged

NikosR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 622


WWW
« Reply #28 on: September 28, 2009, 02:17:01 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: kers
NX2.20 works 2.2.2 does not


According to this http://www.diglloyd.com/diglloyd/2009-09-b...NikonCaptureNX2 it seems the problem is in the installer not the program per se. If you can find an installation of 2.2.2 on Leopard it's worth it to try what Lloyd is suggesting.
Logged

Nikos
Baxter
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


WWW
« Reply #29 on: September 29, 2009, 02:31:22 PM »
ReplyReply

I got fed up of waiting for the NX2 update, so uninstalled NX2 v2.2.2 and downloaded the NX2 2.2.0 updater from the Nikon Europe website. Works fine, opening files which it previously wouldn't. Have to say I find it v frustrating that they haven't moved quicker on this.

Logged

NikosR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 622


WWW
« Reply #30 on: September 30, 2009, 12:20:20 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Baxter
I got fed up of waiting for the NX2 update, so uninstalled NX2 v2.2.2 and downloaded the NX2 2.2.0 updater from the Nikon Europe website. Works fine, opening files which it previously wouldn't. Have to say I find it v frustrating that they haven't moved quicker on this.


NX 2.2.2 works FINE on Snow Leopard, if you get it to install correctly. For the people who have not upgraded to Snow yet the easiest way is to upgrade to NX 2.2.2 on Leopard first and then upgrade to Snow. No problem then. Other way is as Lloyd suggest in link I have provided earlier. In any case, the problem lies with the installer not the program itself. That doesn't mean Nikon shouldn't fix it though...
Logged

Nikos
kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 771


WWW
« Reply #31 on: September 30, 2009, 05:03:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: NikosR
NX 2.2.2 works FINE on Snow Leopard, if you get it to install correctly. For the people who have not upgraded to Snow yet the easiest way is to upgrade to NX 2.2.2 on Leopard first and then upgrade to Snow. No problem then. Other way is as Lloyd suggest in link I have provided earlier. In any case, the problem lies with the installer not the program itself. That doesn't mean Nikon shouldn't fix it though...


It woulld be a good thing if Nikon produced their software as good as the cameras.

NX2:  a very slow program with an unlogical interface and slow render speed-

But still produces the finest detail out of my d3x nefs so i have to stick by it...for the serious photography

They should have a talk with the man behind Raw Developer- maker of a small very fast working program with a logical interface.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 06:05:33 AM by kers » Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
schrodingerscat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 369


« Reply #32 on: October 11, 2009, 01:20:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Just picked up a refurb Mini that came with the SL installed and the Drop In disc. I did an erase and install of a full backup of my old machine from an external drive, reinstalling SL afterwards. Performed usual voodoo before and after backup install and SL upgrade, and the 10.6.1 update.

Everything seemed fine, but had some strange Airport behavior so called Tech Support. Seemes there was indeed a problem somewhere, so reverted the Mini back to 10.5.8. Just for grins I also installed SL on an Air running 10.5.8 and had the same Airport problem, could only access the base station with one certain configuration that was different from 10.5. Don't use the laptop that much, or for heavy lifting, so haven't explored SL further on it.

In the meantime I did a bit of research and found lots of folks having Photoshop and printing problems with SL along with the usual teething situations, mostly involving haxies and drivers. During a call about another matter, an Adobe tech support person recommended that waiting 'till 10.6.2 "would be a good idea". This was also echoed by some of the more knowledgeable folks posting on various forums.

Always a good idea to check for compatibility with necessary apps and equipment before making major OS upgrades and make sure to bring everything else up to current standards afterwards.

BTW - incompatible components found by SL are moved to a folder on your hard drive labeled "Incompatible Software"
Logged
ashley
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


WWW
« Reply #33 on: October 11, 2009, 01:26:05 PM »
ReplyReply

I actually found airport much improved on my iMac after installing snow leopard. I agree though that there are a few issues with Photoshop and I am hoping they will be resolved in a week or two when 10.6.2 is released.
Logged

schrodingerscat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 369


« Reply #34 on: October 11, 2009, 02:41:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: ashley
I actually found airport much improved on my iMac after installing snow leopard. I agree though that there are a few issues with Photoshop and I am hoping they will be resolved in a week or two when 10.6.2 is released.

The problem wasn't reception, but that I couldn't turn it off/on either from the menu bar or preferences. No problem with 10.5. Maybe not much of a problem, but could indicate other surprises waiting in the wings as it was a glitch involving current Mac hardware and software.

Will try 10.6.2 on the Air when it's available.
Logged
ashley
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


WWW
« Reply #35 on: October 11, 2009, 02:45:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Sounds like it may be affecting various computers in different ways. I've had no problems at all on the iMac with 10.6 but it was always a pain even trying to get a connection on 10.5 and I was convinced the built in antenna was useless because the old G5 was always perfect.
Logged

Pages: « 1 [2]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad