Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Spyder3Print SR  (Read 6661 times)
keith_cooper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 438



WWW
« on: August 28, 2009, 03:48:35 PM »
ReplyReply

I've been testing the new version of the new Spyder3Print SR profiling solution from Datacolor. The new measurement device now allows it to be used in a scanning mode.

Spyder3Print SR review

I'm just finishing up a review of a Canon iPF6100 that Canon kindly lent me, and whilst I had it, I tested the S3P SR for making some profiles. Worked very well, with not much difference from using considerably more expensive kit.
Logged

pherold
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 133


« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2009, 07:16:46 PM »
ReplyReply

Keith,
Does this scanning mode allow you to read an entire strip of colors at once, or do you still have to click on each color?
Logged

-Patrick Herold
  Tech Support
www.chromix.com
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2009, 09:38:59 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pherold
Does this scanning mode allow you to read an entire strip of colors at once, or do you still have to click on each color?
Scroll down to the middle of the review for the details on strip reading.
Logged

KeithR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 629


« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2009, 08:36:53 AM »
ReplyReply

Any idea when the updated software will be available?
Logged

The destination is our goal but its the journey that educates us.
keith_cooper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 438



WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2009, 08:53:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: KeithR
Any idea when the updated software will be available?
Pretty soon I believe. You'd need to check in the updates section of their web site. Or look on the datacolor Yahoo group
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/datacolor_group/
Logged

dmiller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2009, 11:11:05 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: pherold
Keith,
Does this scanning mode allow you to read an entire strip of colors at once, or do you still have to click on each color?

Yes, naturally enough. In scanning mode (the default), you push the button once per row, when the SR spectrocolorimeter is on the leftmost patch, and then move it across the row to read the remainder, with no need of any button pushing on the rest of the patches. The SR sensor automatically detects transitions between the patches in the target print.

You're not limited to starting with the leftmost patch. You can click on any patch in the row, with the mouse, to select it, and then start scanning from that position as well.

It's also possible to switch the SR sensor to reading individual patches (by toggling a popup menu control in the Target measuring window) so that you can read one patch at a time with it; any patch in the target.

You can use the supplied plastic ruler to keep the SR sensor lined up on the row, or if (like me) you don't like using rulers, you can simply put the SR sensor down on the target and move it across by hand. (This saves the time needed to reposition the ruler for the next row, and so: you can finish a target more quickly this way).

You can move the SR sensor smoothly, if you like; or you can alternatively use a "stop and go" movement, where you very briefly "land" the nose of the spectro on a patch; wait to hear the measurement click; and then quickly move and "land" it on the next patch. Whichever way you choose, you don't need to push the button other than to start scanning on the first patch in the sequence.

Overall measuring speed is close to 2 patches/second this way, with no button presses other than once at the start of each row. Without trying to rush, I can comfortably measure a 225 patch target in around 2 1/2 minutes with only 15 button presses (one for the start of each of the 15 rows in the target). Likewise, I can measure a 729 patch target in around 9 minutes.

David Miller
Senior Software Developer, Digital Color Solutions
Datacolor
Logged
dmiller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2009, 11:12:40 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: KeithR
Any idea when the updated software will be available?

It's been available since last week, as a free download in the Support area on the Datacolor site, along with an extensive set of Update Notes to describe the differences between the current version (4.0.1) and the previous version from July 2008.

David Miller
Senior Software Developer, Digital Color Solutions
Datacolor
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad