Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: graphics card for dual 2 ghz G5, 30" monitor  (Read 3693 times)
augg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« on: August 31, 2009, 10:03:08 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

Looking for advice re: a good graphics card to run a 30" monitor on a dual 2 ghz power pc G5. I've heard of problems with the older G5's and Radeon x1900 xt graphics cards. Any info or suggestions?
I've been reading the great things about the NEC 30" monitors here and it seems the way to go. Anything at all re: the Dell 30" monitors?

thanks,
dan
Logged
augg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2009, 08:09:46 AM »
ReplyReply

Is no one here running a 30" monitor with a 2 ghz G5???



Quote from: augg
Hi,

Looking for advice re: a good graphics card to run a 30" monitor on a dual 2 ghz power pc G5. I've heard of problems with the older G5's and Radeon x1900 xt graphics cards. Any info or suggestions?
I've been reading the great things about the NEC 30" monitors here and it seems the way to go. Anything at all re: the Dell 30" monitors?

thanks,
dan
Logged
vandevanterSH
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 626


« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2009, 09:50:06 PM »
ReplyReply

As of July '09 these are the card that Apple lists for G5

Graphics cards for PowerMac G5

    * GeForce 6600 LE
    * GeForce 6600
    * GeForce 7800 GT
    * NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500 (part number 631-0110)
Steve
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6455


« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2009, 02:34:44 AM »
ReplyReply

You'll have to look at which model you have. They were equipped with different PCI slots (PCI, PCI-X, PCI-E). Compatible video cards are dependant on the PCI type.

You'll find more info about that "issue" here: http://www.macintouch.com/readerreports/po.../topic4027.html

Logged

Francois
augg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2009, 05:59:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank you for your replies. Lots of frightening reading in the link you provided!

Looks like I have the GeForce 6600 LE, 128 mb vram. So theoretically this SHOULD run a 30" and a 24" monitor. If anyone has experience with this set up I'd love to hear from you.

thanks,
dan

Quote from: francois
You'll have to look at which model you have. They were equipped with different PCI slots (PCI, PCI-X, PCI-E). Compatible video cards are dependant on the PCI type.

You'll find more info about that "issue" here: http://www.macintouch.com/readerreports/po.../topic4027.html
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 07:47:45 AM by augg » Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6455


« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2009, 08:12:46 AM »
ReplyReply

I use an old G5 model and your seems to be the "late 2005" model. From the specs, the GeForce 6600LE offers one DVI and one dual-link DVI ports. This setup should - theoretically - be able to handle a 30" and a 24" display.
Logged

Francois
augg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2009, 05:53:40 AM »
ReplyReply

Found a GeForce 7800 GT on ebay for $155 which should be a big improvement over the 6600.

Quote from: francois
I use an old G5 model and your seems to be the "late 2005" model. From the specs, the GeForce 6600LE offers one DVI and one dual-link DVI ports. This setup should - theoretically - be able to handle a 30" and a 24" display.
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6455


« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2009, 07:07:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: augg
Found a GeForce 7800 GT on ebay for $155 which should be a big improvement over the 6600.
This card used to be the "hot" upgrade, I remember Mac users flashing PC cards. $155 is a good price.
Logged

Francois
augg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2009, 02:01:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Well, I ended up getting the apple 30" refurb (w/extra warranty) and it runs both monitors, 30" & 23", like a charm with the original GeForce 6600LE card in my G5. Seems I don't need the 7800 after all but its in the mail now so I'll install when it arrives.


Quote from: francois
This card used to be the "hot" upgrade, I remember Mac users flashing PC cards. $155 is a good price.
Logged
augg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2009, 08:13:10 AM »
ReplyReply

I've just been calibrating my new monitor using an eye one and realized the G5 supports dual monitor calibration.
Downloaded the eye one match 3 software which works well w/the original eye one display.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2009, 05:22:02 AM by augg » Logged
mmurph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 507


WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2009, 10:13:08 AM »
ReplyReply

When you get the second card, use the profile for your best
monitor as the "target" when you profile the second monitor.

The i1 will match all of the parameters - white point, luminosity, gamma, etc.
Logged
augg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2009, 04:04:48 PM »
ReplyReply

hey mmurph,

i'll give that a try,
thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad