Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Capture One- noisy images  (Read 6251 times)
Alex MacPherson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 292



WWW
« on: October 19, 2009, 11:35:28 PM »
ReplyReply

I am using C1 4.8.3 as my raw converter for my Canon 5D. I recently notice quite a lot of noise in the
shadow areas of my recent images. For a minute, I thought there was something wrong with my sensor that I had recently cleaned.

I went back and opened the images in ACR and there wasn't any noise where I had seen it in the C1 processed images.

What gives?! What am I doing wrong in C1? The images were properly exposed and there were no changes in exposure ect.  

help!
Logged

Alex MacPherson

Visit My Website
stewarthemley
Guest
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2009, 03:56:08 AM »
ReplyReply

I know you stated your problem was with C1 but had a similar problem with LR (essentially the same as ACR) and noisy images from a 5D2 at high ISO, anything above 1600. I tried Raw Developer and it was far better. You could try a free demo download to see if it's any better. (As it's fashionable to state full disclosure - I have no connection with RD other than as a satisfied user!)
Logged
barryfitzgerald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 568


« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2009, 04:23:45 PM »
ReplyReply

C1 4 adds a lot of sharpening by default, have you tried reducing this or turning it off?

Obviously sharpening enhances noise, so if you are going to do some NR work on images, I would avoid any sharpening, or keep it to a minimal level.
I have noticed, that even with sharpening off, C1 does seem to apply some anyway, this is one of the weak spots of the software IMO, but it's still very good, and right up there for details work.
Logged
tho_mas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696


« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2009, 07:04:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Dolce Moda Photography
I am using C1 4.8.3 as my raw converter for my Canon 5D. I recently notice quite a lot of noise
do you use the actual RAW files or do you convert them to DNG prior to editing them in C1?

Logged
Alex MacPherson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 292



WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2009, 05:14:21 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: tho_mas
do you use the actual RAW files or do you convert them to DNG prior to editing them in C1?

raw files only
Logged

Alex MacPherson

Visit My Website
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2767


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2009, 06:43:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Speaking as an experienced user of both programs and a big lover of the 5DII for low-light high-ISO shots: C1 does a fantastic job of handling noise/grain/detail from the 5DII on high ISO shots. If you're not finding this I would uninstall Capture One and reinstall.

Or, in case the issue is settings or expectations, perhaps you could post a raw file and we'll pitch in by processing and posting 100% crops from our various preferred convertors.

Doug Peterson
__________________
Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
Phase One, Leaf, Leica, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
National: 877.217.9870 | Cell: 740.707.2183
Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
RSS Feed: Subscribe
« Last Edit: October 31, 2009, 04:29:25 PM by dougpetersonci » Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
Jack Flesher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2595



WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2009, 11:13:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Stupid question, but what ISO were the 5D files and what NR settings did you have set in C1?
Logged

marcmccalmont
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1724



« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2009, 07:12:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Try turning off sharpening and then use a sharpening filter during post processing
On High ISO 5DII shots I like first selecting shadows then running noiseware pro (weak noise)
Then as a second step sharpening the inverted selection with focus fixer (.7 to .9)
Hope this helps
Marc
Logged

Marc McCalmont
rsonia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2009, 09:40:12 AM »
ReplyReply

In preferences under color if it is set to Perceptual, try setting to Relative Colorimetric. Don't know why, but it makes a difference...
Logged
rovanpera
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 69


« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2009, 07:59:17 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Dolce Moda Photography
I am using C1 4.8.3 as my raw converter for my Canon 5D. I recently notice quite a lot of noise in the
shadow areas of my recent images. For a minute, I thought there was something wrong with my sensor that I had recently cleaned.

I went back and opened the images in ACR and there wasn't any noise where I had seen it in the C1 processed images.

What gives?! What am I doing wrong in C1? The images were properly exposed and there were no changes in exposure ect.  

help!

C1 adds fine noise to all images, are you referring to that? It also does some color NR when the slider is at 0...
Logged
N Walker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 296


WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2009, 08:21:59 AM »
ReplyReply

I recently notice quite a lot of noise in the
shadow areas of my recent images. For a minute, I thought there was something wrong with my sensor that I had recently cleaned.

I went back and opened the images in ACR and there wasn't any noise where I had seen it in the C1 processed images.

What gives?! What am I doing wrong in C1? The images were properly exposed and there were no changes in exposure ect.  

help![/quote]


If you turn off noise reduction in Phase One and ACR, Phase One is noisier. With noise reduction settings at default CI uses higher noise reduction algorithms. I purchased Phase One several years ago because it was vastly superior to earlier versions of ACR (large blotchy RGB artefacts in the shadows for one). Phase One's colours out of the box were also superior until Tom Fors ACR calibrator tool appeared and ACR offered camera calibration setting inputs.

For one off red label images I use RPP as it superior to all other RAW converters (though the UI is not for the feint hearted or speed and sucks) - it joins up the dots and holds noticeably more subtle details. All of my comparisons are made with all sharpening and micro contrast options turned off between converters - although who knows what is being injected into the coding at default with some converters.

Phase One is over hyped from bygone days and its superiority in today's RAW converter market is a myth.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2009, 08:48:04 AM by Nick Walker » Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad