Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: C1Pro settings transfer 4.5 to 5.0  (Read 3278 times)
hilljf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 92



WWW
« on: October 31, 2009, 06:45:47 PM »
ReplyReply

I recently upgraded to Capture one Pro 5.0 from 4.8.   The new version creates a new settings directory and does not refer to the prior 4.5 directory with all the settings from pevious work.  I hope I am missing something simple, but how can we transfer the settings forward.   I have a huge amount of work in adjusments to my images and it would be absurd to have to redo this work.

Again, i hope it is my bad for not seeing some basic setting so that I can reference my prior settings in the new programs.

thanks,  John
Logged

K.C.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 650


« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2009, 12:49:14 AM »
ReplyReply

Another place to ask would be here:

http://forum.phaseone.com/En/
Logged
Jack Flesher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2595



WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2009, 12:08:49 PM »
ReplyReply

I think the only settings folder that gets overwritten is the one in the default session.  If you used sessions, v5 does a migration the first time you open a v4 (.col45) session and converts it to a v5 (.col50) session.  If you only used the default session in v4, but migrated to specific image folders and made your adjustments, those settings should still be in those image folders. Generally they are saved in a automatically generated sub-folder labelled "CaptureOne" which has it's own subfolder labelled  "Settings45." C1 v5 can read those 45 settings and will apply them (or at least most of them -- some it cannot read as the adjustment protocols were changed in v5) when browsing that image folder again.

Cheers,
Logged

Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2767


WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2009, 02:50:57 PM »
ReplyReply

Indeed I thought I had posted a response to this. Maybe in another thread?

Yes, Jack is right that version 5 will COPY the settings from the col45 folder to the col50 folder.

So as an end user you don't have to do anything; the first time you browse to a folder containing raw files adjusted in version 4 they will appear basically how you adjusted them in version 4. There may be some minor differences as the algorithms have changed, but for most purposes the changes will be small enough to ignore.

If, for some reason, you needed to go back to version 4 the original col45 folder will not have been altered and version 4 would see the raw files just as they last were adjusted in version 4.

IF for some reason this is not happening on your computer then you're experiencing a bug of some kind and should start a support case or contact your dealer. The first thing either will have you do is do a complete uninstall/reinstall (instructions) of version 5.

Doug Peterson
__________________
Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
Phase One, Leaf, Leica, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
National: 877.217.9870 | Cell: 740.707.2183
Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
RSS Feed: Subscribe
Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
selsoe
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53


« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2009, 02:52:47 PM »
ReplyReply

CO5 migrates all settings from 4. That is, all adjustments and sessions are retained, but moved to a new folder/file so you still can go back to 4 if you choose. Nothing is lost, going from 4 to 5.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad