Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: SHAME ON ADOBE AND APPLE  (Read 10161 times)
jjlphoto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 467


« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2009, 01:39:22 PM »
ReplyReply

I wonder if Migration is one of those legacy apps that needs Rosetta to run. Snow Leopard does not come with Rosetta (the ones before always did). You have to download Rosetta separetely. I suggest posting a question the the Apple discussion forums. I usually get Mac issues solved quickly there.
Logged

Thanks, John Luke

Member-ASMP
Wally
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


« Reply #21 on: November 09, 2009, 02:28:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: PeterAit
I can't help but noting that a goodly percentage of posts here are either (1) People telling us how great Macs are or (2) People asking for help with Mac problems.

Ironic isn't it. You forgot however to add any problems with your Mac are always your fault as Macs are 100% perfect, and any problems you have with other other OS are always your fault also because you do not use a Mac
Logged
BlasR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 760



WWW
« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2009, 05:53:57 PM »
ReplyReply

[quote name='mdijb' date='Nov 6 2009, 11:32 PM' post='323171']
Tuesday—opened and set up new MacPro..  Migrated everything from Old to New computer.

Tuesday—Apple does not support migration from OSX 10.4.11 to 10.6.

Had to move stuff manually to new Machine—Done on Wednesday— after one hour on phone with Adobe tech support  Did clean install of Photoshop CS3 and Lightroom 2.0 per Adobe.  This meant having to install all plugging individually.

Wednesday
Lightroom  did not see the catalogue on my external hard drive, and HDR merge in Photoshop do not work.  After 45 Minutes of waiting for Adobe to answer and listening to music—no one answered

Thursday—after 60 Minutes of waiting and listening to music from ADOBE, no one answered.  I even tried to reach Customer support instead of Tech support with no success.  Searched adobe website for help without success.

Friday.  After 30 minutes of waiting, no contact with tech support was achieved.  I then tried Customer support and reached a Human, who transferred me to tech support.  I first talked to an agent whom I could not understand, and he then transferred me to another agent, higher-level agent.  I spent about one hour with this person and one of my main problems was solved, I think.  

When the second problem was investigated, After about 20 Minutes, I was told there was a solution, but I would have to establish and one time contract for $39 to fix my problem because CS3 was no longer supported.   No guarantee was offered, although asked for. He was not able to process my card because of an internal problem with Adobe.  He transferred me to Customer service and after 15 minute, I paid via credit card the $40 and given a new contract number.

Customer Service then transferred me back to Tech support.  After 15 minutes I was told there was and internal communication problem and the people who solve my issue were not reachable.  He took my home number they would call me back within One hour.

As of this writing one hour later, I have not been called.

After several hours of my time over the last three days, my problem remains.  At every step of this ordeal I let them know how long I had been on the phone and although sympathy was expressed, the problem remains. Every time I was transferred to another Human, I was asked for my personal Info, the Adobe ID #, etc.etc. At no time was this passed along to the next agent.  Every time I was treated as a new person—Prior to then I was non-existent.

Is this the penalty of not upgrading from CS3 to CS4, even though my version is only one behind the current version?  Is this poor performance reflective of a company TOO callous, profitable, and arrogant, and ungrateful to its loyal users like me

Shame on Adobe and on Apple for making this upgrade to their products so painful.  I do Understand the need to Upgrade software, but do not understand the practice of making us pay such a heavy price in terms hours of wasted time, because we did not upgrade each and every time, if it did not offer enough reason to do so.  Are these companies interested in maintaining a loyal user base, allowing us to use an earlier version of their product if updating did  not offer a significant  advantage,  forcing to take the path of least resistance and upgrading each and every time they think necessary.

In this day and age, these upgrades should be “seamless” and Painless—NOT a punishment for not paying them for upgrades at their whim.








here is my problem,Process:      

 Adobe Photoshop CS4 [27045]
Path:            /Applications/Adobe Photoshop CS4/Adobe Photoshop CS4.app/Contents/MacOS/Adobe Photoshop CS4
Identifier:      com.adobe.Photoshop
Version:         11.0.1 (11.0.1x20090216 [20090216.r.522 2009/02/16:17:00:00 cutoff; r branch]) (11.0.1)
Code Type:       X86 (Native)
Parent Process:  launchd [185]

Date/Time:       2009-11-09 18:37:54.878 -0500
OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.6.1 (10B504)
Report Version:  6

Interval Since Last Report:          118717 sec
Crashes Since Last Report:           1
Per-App Interval Since Last Report:  251600 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report:   1
Anonymous UUID:                      B1B5FD23-8358-441A-93A9-325C43C41433

Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread:  0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Anyone understand it?

CS4 is crashed, if I open any files with 308 mb or more, I can't do two layers at once I need to flatten then save it then do another layer one by one.

I can't convert to smart object, will crashed right away.

Calling customer service is loosing my time, I think last time they send me to Jupiter, and I'm still waiting to someone answer my call.

So I give up.  I'm one of those the start to hate Photoshop
Logged

mdijb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


WWW
« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2009, 10:57:40 PM »
ReplyReply

Here is the latest on ADOBE NIGHTMARE.  After 1 hour of more time waiting to get a human being at adobe, I finally called the number to purchase and upgrade.  I reached them immediately, but they were unable to get me the Customer service number to get a credit for the support contract that was not fullfilled.  I finally called my bank and asked them to not pay Adobe --they agreed to credit my account and they were real helpfull.

I then Purchased, downloaded the CS4 update, and installed.  When attempting to use the HDR merge function--the main purpose for my upgrade--it did not function.  I submitted another online request for tech support.  WHO knows when this nightmare will end.

MDIJB
Logged

mdiimaging.com
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8085



WWW
« Reply #24 on: November 10, 2009, 12:04:51 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: mdijb
Here is the latest on ADOBE NIGHTMARE.  After 1 hour of more time waiting to get a human being at adobe, I finally called the number to purchase and upgrade.  I reached them immediately, but they were unable to get me the Customer service number to get a credit for the support contract that was not fullfilled.  I finally called my bank and asked them to not pay Adobe --they agreed to credit my account and they were real helpfull.

I then Purchased, downloaded the CS4 update, and installed.  When attempting to use the HDR merge function--the main purpose for my upgrade--it did not function.  I submitted another online request for tech support.  WHO knows when this nightmare will end.

May I suggest that you try one of the programs that work for HDR like Photomatix or PTgui?

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6838


« Reply #25 on: November 10, 2009, 02:53:02 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BlasR

Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread:  0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

EXC_BAD_ACCESS exception is often (but not always) a sign that your RAM is beginning to fail.
Logged

Francois
BlasR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 760



WWW
« Reply #26 on: November 10, 2009, 08:30:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: francois
EXC_BAD_ACCESS exception is often (but not always) a sign that your RAM is beginning to fail.



I have 32 do you think all of then are?


If it's I need to contact aple, computer is only 8 month old

Logged

francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6838


« Reply #27 on: November 10, 2009, 08:41:02 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BlasR
I have 32 do you think all of then are?


If it's I need to contact aple, computer is only 8 month old
Try to running a test application to see if it detects a problem with your RAM. Or, you can try to remove half of your memory modules and see if the problem is still there. Troubleshooting RAM issues is not easy. If your Mac is still under warranty (obviously it is after only 8 months) and you have an Apple Store nearby, they a visitis a good way to know if your RAM is OK or not.

Only one bad memory module is enough to trigger crashes…
Logged

Francois
BlasR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 760



WWW
« Reply #28 on: November 10, 2009, 09:20:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: francois
Try to running a test application to see if it detects a problem with your RAM. Or, you can try to remove half of your memory modules and see if the problem is still there. Troubleshooting RAM issues is not easy. If your Mac is still under warranty (obviously it is after only 8 months) and you have an Apple Store nearby, they a visitis a good way to know if your RAM is OK or not.

Only one bad memory module is enough to trigger crashes…



Francois,

Thank you.

I make an appoitments to take it in,on friday.
Logged

Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7997



WWW
« Reply #29 on: November 10, 2009, 09:28:57 AM »
ReplyReply

First thing I would try, in case it is ram beginning to fail, is to remove the existing ram, clean the contacts carefully (a little contact cleaner can be used, then wipe with a clean, lint-free cloth), and reinsert. In the past I have found dirty ram contacts to cause all sorts of problems, and cleaning them has most times fixed them.

Eric

Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6838


« Reply #30 on: November 10, 2009, 09:37:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BlasR
Francois,

Thank you.

I make an appoitments to take it in,on friday.
You're welcome. This is the best way to handle the situation without loosing too much time… I hope you have this issue sorted out soon.
Logged

Francois
PierreVandevenne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 510


WWW
« Reply #31 on: November 10, 2009, 11:54:30 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: francois
You're welcome. This is the best way to handle the situation without loosing too much time… I hope you have this issue sorted out soon.

FWIW, I have seen dozens of EXC_BAD_ACCESS messages while developing software on OS X and 100% of them were caused by my stupidity, not a single one by some faulty hardware.

http://developer.apple.com/mac/library/qa/qa2004/qa1367.html

At first sight, there is no reason to start tinkering with the hardware.
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6838


« Reply #32 on: November 10, 2009, 12:45:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: PierreVandevenne
FWIW, I have seen dozens of EXC_BAD_ACCESS messages while developing software on OS X and 100% of them were caused by my stupidity, not a single one by some faulty hardware.

http://developer.apple.com/mac/library/qa/qa2004/qa1367.html

At first sight, there is no reason to start tinkering with the hardware.
I have also seen hundreds of them not related to hardware malfunction but a short visit at the local Apple Store will let BlasR know if his RAM is bad or not. If his RAM is OK, then he can spend time on software.

BTW, Photoshop CS 4 (and previous versions), as far as I know, doesn't use Cocoa.

Edit: "…100% of them were caused by my stupidity…". Well, the retain/release/auto-release system is known to cause headaches among Cocoa developers (me included). While on the Mac, we can choose to use or not garbage collection, on the iPhone there's not choice… Aspirin is your best friend!  
« Last Edit: November 10, 2009, 12:55:38 PM by francois » Logged

Francois
PierreVandevenne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 510


WWW
« Reply #33 on: November 11, 2009, 10:48:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: francois
BTW, Photoshop CS 4 (and previous versions), as far as I know, doesn't use Cocoa.

Well EXC_BAD_ACCESS is not a Cocoa thing. That was just an example.

you can get them with very very simple programming errors, in many languages

http://forums.macosxhints.com/archive/index.php/t-75131.html

Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6838


« Reply #34 on: November 11, 2009, 11:07:12 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: PierreVandevenne
Well EXC_BAD_ACCESS is not a Cocoa thing. That was just an example.

you can get them with very very simple programming errors, in many languages

http://forums.macosxhints.com/archive/index.php/t-75131.html
Sorry, I know that it's not a Cocoa only error, unfortunately. The comment wasn't directed at your post. That's what happen why I try to multi-task ;-(
« Last Edit: November 11, 2009, 11:08:08 AM by francois » Logged

Francois
mdijb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 388


WWW
« Reply #35 on: November 11, 2009, 08:22:56 PM »
ReplyReply

to   ncjohnboy

Thanks for link in your post.  It finally achieved tech tech support I needed.  It to a few more days but I finally reached supervisory level support person who was very helpful and solved my problems.

The final suggestion was to erase everything and re-install all Adobe software, which was walked thru with me step by step, and then doing a clean install of each elements, filters and plugin of which there were many, I needed.

Maybe I should have known that a clean install was the best way, but I think this should have been recommended much earlier in the process.  All that took about 90 minutes versus the 6-8 hours of wait time I experienced.

I complained bitterly about the access to help and it seems the managers are very aware of this continual complaint--it seems they spend a lot of time with people having my experience and know how bad the problem is---What they will do about remains to be seen.  MDIJB
« Last Edit: November 11, 2009, 08:26:11 PM by mdijb » Logged

mdiimaging.com
Colorwave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 999


WWW
« Reply #36 on: November 11, 2009, 09:59:48 PM »
ReplyReply

I know that in the past, John Nack has expressed interest in hearing about issues with their new outsourced phone support (mostly India, I think).  I remember a "Dear customer . . ." letter he posted from an Adobe VP saying how sorry they were that the support experience sucked so badly now.  It couldn't hurt to try to contact him, or post a comment in the appropriate spot on his blog.  John is a Photoshop PM.

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/
« Last Edit: November 11, 2009, 10:01:27 PM by Colorwave » Logged

schrodingerscat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 369


« Reply #37 on: November 13, 2009, 01:32:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Colorwave
I know that in the past, John Nack has expressed interest in hearing about issues with their new outsourced phone support (mostly India, I think).  I remember a "Dear customer . . ." letter he posted from an Adobe VP saying how sorry they were that the support experience sucked so badly now.  It couldn't hurt to try to contact him, or post a comment in the appropriate spot on his blog.  John is a Photoshop PM.

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/

Yep, India. Recently had to contact Adobe about a licensing situation(whole 'nother topic in itself), and between the accent and the satellite echo it bordered on painful.

I've found that after realizing you are not getting anywhere, just keep asking for the next tier until you get someone who knows what they are talking about and not just reading instructions on a screen.

As long as the shareholders are held as more important than customers the situation will not change.

PS - the fellow that eventually helped me solve the problem also indicated "it would be a good idea" to wait 'till 10.6.2 before moving to SL.
Logged
BlasR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 760



WWW
« Reply #38 on: November 14, 2009, 08:00:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: francois
You're welcome. This is the best way to handle the situation without loosing too much time… I hope you have this issue sorted out soon.



Well, after 2 1/2 hours at Braintree store, getting new memory ram and looking for problems to resolved the problems

nothing changed, subjection was to reinstall , cs4, but to do that I need to contact adobe( that is the pain) I think is better spend more money

get new cs4 and no deal with adobe.

that will happen maybe next week, I will post here if it work or not

Thanks again
Logged

francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6838


« Reply #39 on: November 14, 2009, 08:05:11 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: BlasR
Well, after 2 1/2 hours at Braintree store, getting new memory ram and looking for problems to resolved the problems

nothing changed, subjection was to reinstall , cs4, but to do that I need to contact adobe( that is the pain) I think is better spend more money

get new cs4 and no deal with adobe.

that will happen maybe next week, I will post here if it work or not

Thanks again
Sorry to hear that you issue is still there but happy that your hardware is OK... Good luck!

Edit: Why don't you deactivate Photoshop and uninstall it? And before that, did you throw away the preferences file? I know that it can be a pain in the lower back…
« Last Edit: November 14, 2009, 08:29:43 AM by francois » Logged

Francois
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad