Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom vignetting correction  (Read 4267 times)
viahorizon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« on: December 25, 2009, 04:42:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Hello,

I was doing a little panorama project using f/1.2 lens. I noticed the vignetting must be corrected before stitching to get the very best results. It is hard to guess precisely the amount of vignetting + midpoint data just looking at the pictures.

Do you know of a lens vignetting database place or of a tool/script that could supply those values based of a sort of calibration image (solid blue sky for instance)?

Best,
VH
Logged

gallery@viahorizon
francois
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 6865


« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2009, 05:07:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: viahorizon
Hello,

I was doing a little panorama project using f/1.2 lens. I noticed the vignetting must be corrected before stitching to get the very best results. It is hard to guess precisely the amount of vignetting + midpoint data just looking at the pictures.

Do you know of a lens vignetting database place or of a tool/script that could supply those values based of a sort of calibration image (solid blue sky for instance)?

Best,
VH
PTLens ( http://epaperpress.com/ptlens/ ) or DXO ( http://www.dxo.com/us/photo ) might do the trick.
Logged

Francois
viahorizon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2009, 05:24:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks. PTLens looks promising. Yet it's all destructive editing and inside Lightroom it could be non-destructive.
Logged

gallery@viahorizon
francois
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 6865


« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2009, 10:51:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: viahorizon
Thanks. PTLens looks promising. Yet it's all destructive editing and inside Lightroom it could be non-destructive.
There's no non-destructive solution at the moment, unfortunately.
Logged

Francois
viahorizon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2009, 12:18:52 PM »
ReplyReply

I kind of hoped for a tool/hack to somehow estimate correct values to enter to lightroom vignetting tool... so the news is bad
Logged

gallery@viahorizon
Tklimek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 286


« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2009, 03:25:34 PM »
ReplyReply

I have a feeling that if one is patient; that exact feature may show up in LR 3.x.

I think some of core features currently missing from Lightroom (i.e.; not "Stability, Speed, Image Quality", etc.) may be addressed in the newest release whenever it comes out, or in the subsequent .x releases.

Features I'm looking forward to seeing:

Distortion correction (along the lines of PTLENS)
Proper softproofing capability
Picture book layouts/capability

Other nice to have stuff:
True "plug-in" ability (ability to have plug-in's in the non-destructive pipeline)
HDR capability
Panaromic stiching capability

Can't wait to see how 3.0 turns out; the beta is pretty good!

Todd in Chicago



Quote from: viahorizon
I kind of hoped for a tool/hack to somehow estimate correct values to enter to lightroom vignetting tool... so the news is bad
Logged
Panopeeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1805


« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2009, 03:40:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: viahorizon
I was doing a little panorama project using f/1.2 lens. I noticed the vignetting must be corrected before stitching to get the very best results
The following has nothing to do with your question. I conclude from your vignetting problem that you actually shot the pano frames with f/1.2. If that is right, I would like to understand why you were using such aperture for a panorama.
Logged

Gabor
NikoJorj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1063


WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2009, 02:32:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: viahorizon
I noticed the vignetting must be corrected before stitching to get the very best results.
Well, most good panorama stitchers can correct vignetting themselves (at least, Hugin and PS-Photomerge do).

But having the data you need is far from complicated :
- shoot something evenly lit at the desired aperture, better at a very slow shutter speed and moving fairly the camera to have no detail at all on the image,
- then boost the contrast and find the proper vignetting setting in LR,
- and then make a preset with these vignetting parameters and apply to all other shots.
No ready-made automation for that, so far, alas.
Logged

Nicolas from Grenoble
A small gallery
viahorizon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2009, 03:19:26 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for all the replies.

@NikoJori: I did as you advice thanks to the hints from another user. I've found the vignetting to be not exactly symmetrical (see attached greyscale image files).

@Panopeeper: I don't want to be limited in my aperture choice when doing panos -- sometimes I decide I'd like shallow DOF or I have no tripod.

There is very interesting read about nonuniform image illumination @ http://www.reindeergraphics.com/index.php?...&Itemid=125
« Last Edit: December 28, 2009, 03:38:25 AM by viahorizon » Logged

gallery@viahorizon
Panopeeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1805


« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2009, 10:14:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: viahorizon
I don't want to be limited in my aperture choice when doing panos -- sometimes I decide I'd like shallow DOF or I have no tripod.
That's all right, but the sharpness at the edges is usually the victim, and that can ruin the pano.
Logged

Gabor
sandymc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 269


« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2009, 04:57:48 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: viahorizon
I've found the vignetting to be not exactly symmetrical (see attached greyscale image files).

CornerFix (at least V1.3+) can handle asymmetrical vignetting. You'd have to convert your images to DNG to be able to use it however.

Sandy
Logged
viahorizon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2009, 02:40:52 PM »
ReplyReply

@Sandy

Thank you very much! That's the exact tool I was looking for. Splendid!
Logged

gallery@viahorizon
dkekesi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


WWW
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2010, 06:26:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Why don't you try using PTGUI for stitching? It will automatically correct for falloff during the process, so you do not need to bother.
Logged

Best Regards,
Dániel Kékesi
www.kekesi.com
viahorizon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 24


« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2010, 02:21:31 PM »
ReplyReply

I tried it - some vignetting is removed, but not all.
Logged

gallery@viahorizon
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad