Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR 3 Beta 2 Released  (Read 8220 times)
Doyle Yoder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 500


« Reply #20 on: March 23, 2010, 11:34:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: digitaldog
I think the two key words above is “and drivers”.



Even if you set it and tell LR to “save...”? At least on the Epson‘s I have, this works.



Yes. But one issue again is “and drivers” because depending on the printer driver version, it might not. I don’t know this is necessarily LRs fault.

But only Adobe changed something here. The question is why, when printing worked just fine with Epson drivers and Canon drivers in LR2.

Doyle

Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9100



WWW
« Reply #21 on: March 23, 2010, 11:57:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Doyle Yoder
But only Adobe changed something here. The question is why, when printing worked just fine with Epson drivers and Canon drivers in LR2.

Doyle

I don’t know the answer to that question. It could be that the change fixes other drivers and their issues, or in my case, makes no difference at all. Multiple companies (Apple, Adobe, Epson and apparently Canon) are all moving the goal posts here, that’s why these print issues are so hard to nail. But it has been pointless to point a finger of blame because in some cases, a tweak in code in one place fixes issues (and in other breaks them). All I can tell you is the behavior and output is identical in all the Adobe apps to my Epsons.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Photo Op
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 193


« Reply #22 on: March 23, 2010, 01:04:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: digitaldog
I just printed the same document using color management in LR3 and LR2, the results are identical as were the setting of course. Epson 3880.
Andrew- would you be willing to perform the same test with the 2880? And if yes, are you using the Mac driver (6.62) from the Epson web site, or 8.17 from the "automatic" Apple download. Thanks in advance.
Logged

David
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9100



WWW
« Reply #23 on: March 23, 2010, 01:16:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Photo Op
Andrew- would you be willing to perform the same test with the 2880? And if yes, are you using the Mac driver (6.62) from the Epson web site, or 8.17 from the "automatic" Apple download. Thanks in advance.

Actually, that’s a typo on my part, the test was done on a 2880 (not 3880). The driver used is 8.1.7.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Photo Op
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 193


« Reply #24 on: March 23, 2010, 01:37:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: digitaldog
Actually, that’s a typo on my part, the test was done on a 2880 (not 3880). The driver used is 8.1.7.

My experience is the same as yours. I downloaded LR3b2 and tested with the "same" settings as LR2.6. Prints are identical to each other and the monitor soft proofed image. Hopefully when Apple releases 10.6.3, results will not change.
Logged

David
Doyle Yoder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 500


« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2010, 01:50:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Photo Op
My experience is the same as yours. I downloaded LR3b2 and tested with the "same" settings as LR2.6. Prints are identical to each other and the monitor soft proofed image. Hopefully when Apple releases 10.6.3, results will not change.

Well here we go around, and around, and around again. Something has been changed and something else now needs to change again.

Doyle
Logged
Colorwave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 999


WWW
« Reply #26 on: March 23, 2010, 02:11:10 PM »
ReplyReply

I guess the peanut gallery could be forgiven for assuming that a final release is not likely for a while now, as they say that they are still soliciting feedback.  Take your time, Adobe, as you shoehorn in soft proofing and tethered capture for Phase One backs.
Logged

semillerimages
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 163


WWW
« Reply #27 on: March 23, 2010, 04:14:27 PM »
ReplyReply

Dunno about the printing as I do all of that through photoshop, but in terms of speed - I'd say that it's twice as fast in loading the program/catalog and twice as fast in rendering files to work on - all on my old dual core, dual Opteron system. Very impressive speed boost!
Also, the noise reduction is pretty amazing!

Bravo Adobe!

*steve
Logged

semillerimages.com
Doyle Yoder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 500


« Reply #28 on: March 23, 2010, 05:52:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: digitaldog
I don’t know the answer to that question. It could be that the change fixes other drivers and their issues, or in my case, makes no difference at all. Multiple companies (Apple, Adobe, Epson and apparently Canon) are all moving the goal posts here, that’s why these print issues are so hard to nail. But it has been pointless to point a finger of blame because in some cases, a tweak in code in one place fixes issues (and in other breaks them). All I can tell you is the behavior and output is identical in all the Adobe apps to my Epsons.

I think we got to the bottom of this one. Check the end of this thread.

http://forums.adobe.com/message/2479324#2479324

Interesting thing that Canon did to get around these issues but then it come back to bite them.

Doyle
Logged
Doyle Yoder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 500


« Reply #29 on: March 23, 2010, 06:23:50 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Doyle Yoder
I think we got to the bottom of this one. Check the end of this thread.

http://forums.adobe.com/message/2479324#2479324

Interesting thing that Canon did to get around these issues but then it comes back to bite them.

Doyle


I edited the AppColorMatchingInfo.xml file and added Canon's DPP (which had defaulted to ColorSync in the driver) to the file and now I have No color correction in the driver with DPP.

Now I am going to do some test printing later today or maybe tomorrow morning.

Doyle
« Last Edit: March 23, 2010, 06:29:11 PM by Doyle Yoder » Logged
Colorwave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 999


WWW
« Reply #30 on: March 23, 2010, 07:22:51 PM »
ReplyReply

I may very well be missing something in the methodology, but in trying to use the new point curve tone control, I'm able to place new points, just like PS, but am only able to edit them by sliding my cursor up and down in the image or on the histogram.  When I select a point in PS, I have an option of nudging the point in any direction with my arrow keys, as long as it is selected.  In LR 3b2, I find that fine tuning the curve is difficult with the point curve because the physical manipulation of the points in the histogram window is a little coarse, and when I go to slide an adjustment up or down within my image, it often places a new point right next to the old one.  In trying to select the extra point that did not want, even when the point is selected and dark, the delete key deletes the entire image instead of the adjustment point.  I can undo the action, but I'm puzzled by why they would only halfway implement Photoshop's operating procedures with this option they have now given us.  Am I missing something?  Often the parametric curves are better, but sometimes I feel the need for more specificity, and am quite comfortable with how Photoshop works in this regard.  If you don't abuse it and make an overly lumpy curve, it is a nice option to have.
Logged

wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5744



WWW
« Reply #31 on: March 23, 2010, 08:14:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Just watched Julieanne Kost's new video on LR3B2, and the new features look exciting.  I've already downloaded and installed, but haven't really dug into it yet.  Terry White also has a video.  However, since this IS a Beta and Adobe IS asking for feedback:

Lightroom 3 Beta forums
Tom Hogarty's Feature Request/ Bug Report page

Mike.

P.S.  I've added these to my Lightroom Links page too (links to over a hundred different sites)
« Last Edit: March 23, 2010, 09:17:16 PM by wolfnowl » Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2108


« Reply #32 on: March 23, 2010, 08:42:53 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Colorwave, please try using alt/option key while dragging points on the curve. Should give you finer control for adjustments.
Logged

Colorwave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 999


WWW
« Reply #33 on: March 23, 2010, 09:25:36 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: madmanchan
Hi Colorwave, please try using alt/option key while dragging points on the curve. Should give you finer control for adjustments.
Thanks for the quick reply and tip, Eric.  I guess that is in line with other controls within Lightroom.  It does indeed constrain the response of moving a point on the curve, although I still can't figure out how to reedit a curve and delete a specific point.  Years of nudging points with the keyboard in Photoshop have left me imprinted, and I find Photoshop's implementation still seems to have more control for me.  I love the way both applications allow me to click on a value and make larger scale edits by dragging, but sometimes I need to split hairs.  I know that the unwashed masses always need something to bitch about, but I would prefer that the tools be significantly different between the two applications (i.e. the crop tool) or as close in functionality as possible, and find 80% similarity to be an awkward overlap of methods to adapt to.
Logged

madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2108


« Reply #34 on: March 23, 2010, 09:30:56 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Ron, I think you can cmd-click / ctrl-click a given point on the curve to delete it.
Logged

Doyle Yoder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 500


« Reply #35 on: March 24, 2010, 08:59:01 AM »
ReplyReply

As a follow up to the printing tests.

I could edit the Canon driver AppColorMatchingInfo.xml file and change the printing behavior for LR3 B2, and it printed correctly. But doing the same thing for Canon's DPP software to make No color correction show up instead of ColorSync did not print correctly. It appears to be double profiling.

I will wait for 10.6.3 before I dig into this any further.

Doyle
« Last Edit: March 24, 2010, 10:26:15 AM by Doyle Yoder » Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9100



WWW
« Reply #36 on: March 24, 2010, 07:58:57 PM »
ReplyReply

Doyle, you see this:

http://www.macworld.com/article/150073/201...l?lsrc=rss_main
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Doyle Yoder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 500


« Reply #37 on: March 25, 2010, 05:43:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: digitaldog

Thanks, but these are for the little printers not the iPF series.

Doyle
Logged
StuartOnline
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 294


WWW
« Reply #38 on: March 25, 2010, 07:02:12 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Doyle Yoder
Thanks, but these are for the little printers not the iPF series.

Doyle

I read thought the list and I did not see any IPF printers listed either.
Logged
Pages: « 1 [2]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad