Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Profoto Packs  (Read 12220 times)
UlfKrentz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308


WWW
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2010, 10:38:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: gwhitf
snip
If anyone has invented a more elegant solution, I'd sure love to know.
snip

Im sure Im going to be flamed...

http://www.bron.ch/_data/bc_pd_ps_scoroa4s_big.jpg

but its all build inside and there is only one system (RFS) that is used for all packs, and the transmitter is really cute and it is simply doing the job.

Cheers, Ulf
Logged
AlDoori
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99


« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2010, 10:42:30 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: UlfKrentz
Im sure Im going to be flamed...

http://www.bron.ch/_data/bc_pd_ps_scoroa4s_big.jpg

but its all build inside and there is only one system (RFS) that is used for all packs, and the transmitter is really cute and it is simply doing the job.

Cheers, Ulf
amazing, isnt it?
Logged
CBarrett
Guest
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2010, 11:02:45 AM »
ReplyReply

Man, I just noticed that PF has reduced D4's 20% for remaining inventory.  D5 Air's imminent?
Logged
TMARK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1843


« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2010, 11:12:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: gwhitf
That's what I meant to say. We put Velcro on the backs of the Cheesey Awful Pocket Wizards, and then "stick" them to the side of the Acute or 7B packs. And then, that little tiny cable is rolled up into a nice tight circle, and then a ZipTie is put around that, to keep it from dangling.

I like those J Hooks, but how about something that slid out of the profoto pack, to grip a Cstand? My assistants tie ropes into little circles, and then wrap those ropes around the handles of the Acute packs, and then hang those off the bottom knob of the CStands. That is, until I find them, and throw them away. I gotta switch to decaf, seriously.

No need to switch to decaf.  Your assistants should switch to espresso or Red Bull.  Ropes?  Tied to the bottom knob? I'd toss that too if I saw it.  I micromanage grip work.  I learned from movie grips, the total pros, who all seem to have mullets, a criminal record and live in Northridge.  I find lots of assistants are grip challenged, unless they come from film/video.  

A built in super clamp with an extender, giving the pack clearance would be great, no more teetering on the edge of the J Hook.  Its never been a problem, but still.
Logged
klane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 785

I live in a c-stand fort.


« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2010, 02:16:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: CBarrett
Man, I just noticed that PF has reduced D4's 20% for remaining inventory.  D5 Air's imminent?

I think its first/second quarter promo, that could mean a D4 air is to come later this year, which if it drives down the price of the D4 then more power to them. I honestly do not see

what they can upgrade on the D4 besides add Air and maybe match the 2400 to the 1200 for duration times.

The acute needs an update much more than the D4, Id like to see 1/10 stop digital readout on the acute.


Either way the D4 is the bast pack ive ever used, I currently own one and I am buying another next week and trying to hunt down a third. I really am in love with the control,

precision, and extra features the D4 has.
Logged
paul_jones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 565


WWW
« Reply #25 on: April 21, 2010, 02:30:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: UlfKrentz
Im sure Im going to be flamed...

http://www.bron.ch/_data/bc_pd_ps_scoroa4s_big.jpg

but its all build inside and there is only one system (RFS) that is used for all packs, and the transmitter is really cute and it is simply doing the job.

Cheers, Ulf

the air is the same. its simpler and works really well, and is a lot cheaper. they will have that with the acutes and d4 soon, as its new and hasn't quite been rolled out yet on every product.

only some products have RFS.

paul
« Last Edit: April 21, 2010, 02:34:20 PM by paul_jones » Logged

check my new website
http://www.paulrossjones.com
Steve Hendrix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1158


WWW
« Reply #26 on: April 21, 2010, 02:39:00 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: CBarrett
Man, I just noticed that PF has reduced D4's 20% for remaining inventory.  D5 Air's imminent?


This is a promotion that began in February and runs through June 30, 2010. It also includes the Acute 2, 2R and Value Kits, along with the D4.

The best time to order would have been before April 1, when prices went up a bit. But it still is a great promo and is ongoing up to the end of June.


Steve Hendrix
Logged

Steve Hendrix
Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
MFDB: Phase One/Leaf-Mamiya/Hasselblad/Leica/Sinar
TechCam: Alpa/Cambo/Arca Swiss/Sinar
Direct: 404.543.8475
Steve Hendrix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1158


WWW
« Reply #27 on: April 21, 2010, 03:03:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: paul_jones
the air is the same. its simpler and works really well, and is a lot cheaper. they will have that with the acutes and d4 soon, as its new and hasn't quite been rolled out yet on every product.

only some products have RFS.

paul


If you mean the Air Remote is simpler than the RFS, I don't see how the RFS could get any simpler. You press an up or down arrow to control the power on the pack. That's it.

The Air is cheaper, but not by a lot, that probably varies country to country. All of the Broncolor packs and monolights come with an RFS option except for the Nanos. We only sell ProFoto and Broncolor (well, a little Elinchrom), and I like both. I like both remote systems also. The Broncolor RFS is small and compact, very simple to operate, and the battery lasts about 5 years. The ProFoto Air isn't much bigger, but has more controls, although they are not complicated to use.


Steve Hendrix
Logged

Steve Hendrix
Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
MFDB: Phase One/Leaf-Mamiya/Hasselblad/Leica/Sinar
TechCam: Alpa/Cambo/Arca Swiss/Sinar
Direct: 404.543.8475
paul_jones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 565


WWW
« Reply #28 on: April 21, 2010, 03:20:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Steve Hendrix
If you mean the Air Remote is simpler than the RFS, I don't see how the RFS could get any simpler. You press an up or down arrow to control the power on the pack. That's it.

The Air is cheaper, but not by a lot, that probably varies country to country. All of the Broncolor packs and monolights come with an RFS option except for the Nanos. We only sell ProFoto and Broncolor (well, a little Elinchrom), and I like both. I like both remote systems also. The Broncolor RFS is small and compact, very simple to operate, and the battery lasts about 5 years. The ProFoto Air isn't much bigger, but has more controls, although they are not complicated to use.


Steve Hendrix

sorry, yes the rfs is very simple.  is there a bron controller that can turn the lights up independently from the controller/trigger?   paul
Logged

check my new website
http://www.paulrossjones.com
Steve Hendrix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1158


WWW
« Reply #29 on: April 21, 2010, 03:27:05 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: paul_jones
sorry, yes the rfs is very simple.  is there a bron controller that can turn the lights up independently from the controller/trigger?   paul


Paul

The Servor D Remote Control has more control than the RFS and works with the Grafits and the Minicoms. But it's about the size of the one that might be resting by the TV. It's been a while since I've sold one.


Steve Hendrix
Logged

Steve Hendrix
Sales Manager, www.captureintegration.com (e-mail Me)
MFDB: Phase One/Leaf-Mamiya/Hasselblad/Leica/Sinar
TechCam: Alpa/Cambo/Arca Swiss/Sinar
Direct: 404.543.8475
UlfKrentz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308


WWW
« Reply #30 on: April 21, 2010, 03:28:08 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: paul_jones
the air is the same. its simpler and works really well, and is a lot cheaper. they will have that with the acutes and d4 soon, as its new and hasn't quite been rolled out yet on every product.

only some products have RFS.

paul

Hi Paul,

I was just surprised there were people complaining that the built in units in the ProPacks dont work properly so they have to use additional external components. The PW is quite bulky, too.
I looked at bhphoto, the profoto air sync tranceiver is 195$ including shipping, the Broncolor RFS Radio Slave Transmitter is 184,95$ plus shipping, I suppose thats not much difference. As Steve already said, what can be simpler than the RFS? We own some Grafits that are more than 10 years old, we bought the RFS conversion kit and are up to date. It just works, never needed any double receiver or second transmitter. I hate this kind of stuff, its always causing trouble. I would like to see Profoto offer a kind of "air conversion kit" for you.

Cheers, Ulf
Logged
UlfKrentz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308


WWW
« Reply #31 on: April 21, 2010, 03:37:22 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Steve Hendrix
Paul

The Servor D Remote Control has more control than the RFS and works with the Grafits and the Minicoms. But it's about the size of the one that might be resting by the TV. It's been a while since I've sold one.


Steve Hendrix

Hi,

The servor is IR and wont work well outdoors, its not working at all with the scoros. But I really love the function all units model light off.
You can take complete control with the RFS using the RFS-transceiver with a computer if you want to.
Can be very nice if you can hardly reach your pack because its placed somewhere else (e.g. a different floor). But we use this rarely.

Cheers, Ulf
« Last Edit: April 21, 2010, 03:40:52 PM by UlfKrentz » Logged
geesbert
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 554



WWW
« Reply #32 on: April 21, 2010, 04:20:01 PM »
ReplyReply

I think you misunderstood me, the PW/Air thing hanging off my D4 is not to trigger the D4, but rather translate the PW signal for the D1s. it could be anywhere on set, it might just be convenient to controll the D1s fro the same place where the D4 is.  all my other flashes are PW equipped, either build in or dangeling, only the D1s are Air.

the PWs  work flawlessly, both the d4 build-in one  and the Plus and the  Multimaxes.
Logged

-------------------------
WWW.RANDLKOFER.COM
tmx3
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 65


« Reply #33 on: April 21, 2010, 04:34:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Hey Christopher,

I use both packs regularly for different photographers i assist. The major difference for me is the flexibility with power control, which the D4 wins hands down every time. D4 offers 4 independent channels with 1/10th stops control wheras acute 2400s only offer intuitive full stop independent control when using more than one head per pack and a variety of esoteric (easily forgetable!) switch/head combinations to adjust power ratios/levels further. I find the Acutes fairly rudimentary, coming from a still life background. Mind you if its duration your concerned with Bron wins hands down.

good luck!
Logged
UlfKrentz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308


WWW
« Reply #34 on: April 21, 2010, 04:47:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: geesbert
I think you misunderstood me, the PW/Air thing hanging off my D4 is not to trigger the D4, but rather translate the PW signal for the D1s. it could be anywhere on set, it might just be convenient to controll the D1s fro the same place where the D4 is.  all my other flashes are PW equipped, either build in or dangeling, only the D1s are Air.

the PWs  work flawlessly, both the d4 build-in one  and the Plus and the  Multimaxes.

@geesbert:

I understood that, I was referring to gwhitf: "Even when I pay extra for the "R" packs, much of the time, the built in PW does not work as well, so the assistants add these physical models as backups."
Ive seen that PW stuff so many times and was really surprised to read that, good to hear that its working for you.

@chris:

from what I have seen of your work, I think you should go with the D4. If you can affort to wait it might be the best advice. I suppose the D4 will be available with the "air control" soon, probably at the photokina.

Cheers, Ulf
« Last Edit: April 21, 2010, 04:56:50 PM by UlfKrentz » Logged
CBarrett
Guest
« Reply #35 on: April 21, 2010, 07:55:29 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks, everybody. I've got the D4 for the week and am really liking it so far.  I'm considering it as my punch source... when I want a strong source from one area and my D1 500s lack the strength.  I also really like the separate digital variators, so if I want to pull one head off, say with a grid spot, that unit can be really dialed in and there's Watt/Seconds to spare.  I do suspect that there will be an Air version in the near future and in the words of Ken from Dodd... "Rent mine until then."

Why is there no Rum in my house?

-CB
Logged
jimgolden
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 406


WWW
« Reply #36 on: April 21, 2010, 10:10:58 PM »
ReplyReply

thats a crazy promo - i think there is new stuff coming for sure. it's been in the rumor mill for a while...
Logged
Conner999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 471


« Reply #37 on: April 22, 2010, 07:44:52 AM »
ReplyReply

I often say the same about tequila....

Use Acute and Compacts at moment, but that D4 looks yummy.  Would love to hear your ongoing impressions of it during the week.

Given that they just put Air (triggering only) into the Acute 600B and B2 (now 3), I'd be surprised if the D4, given it's already digital guts (easier to integrate remote control), wouldn't be getting the full Air treatment shortly.   That said, unless you need full remote power control, the cost savings of buying the D4 (NIB or clean used) vs. say the eventual D5 Air when the latter is released will be notable.

One thing I am curious about is what kind of stoppage loss you get when you start extending cables... ~1 stop per extension?

Quote from: CBarrett
......

Why is there no Rum in my house?

-CB
« Last Edit: April 22, 2010, 07:45:40 AM by Conner999 » Logged
amsp
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 794


« Reply #38 on: April 22, 2010, 07:57:20 AM »
ReplyReply

Btw, I heard Profoto is hiring people with expertise in continuous lighting, so I fully expect them to make a big push into that market in a not too distant future. Not exactly unexpected with the whole video explosion and all.
Logged
JonathanBenoit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 414


WWW
« Reply #39 on: April 22, 2010, 08:43:59 AM »
ReplyReply

I've been using very simple daylight floods for lighting interiors. Has anyone attempted mixing light from the D1 1000 with daylight hotlights? I'm looking for a bit more output when I need it and dont want to break the bank by switching over completely to strobe.
Logged

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad