Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: 1Ds3 focusing screen  (Read 2523 times)
timplog
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



« on: May 27, 2010, 01:33:44 PM »
ReplyReply

Any of you 1DsMK3 users found a better (for manual focusing) screen than the one that ships with the camera??
Thanks for this great forum!
Logged
feppe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2909

Oh this shows up in here!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2010, 01:39:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: timplog
Any of you 1DsMK3 users found a better (for manual focusing) screen than the one that ships with the camera??
Thanks for this great forum!

Funny you should ask, I was just yesterday looking at focusing screens for my 550D. KatzEye seems to be premium product, then there's another ingeniously named Focusing Screen.

I would also appreciate some first-hand reports on these - from what I've read elsewhere they are both solid products, but might have problem using them with f/5.6 lenses.
Logged

k bennett
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1489


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2010, 02:31:00 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: timplog
Any of you 1DsMK3 users found a better (for manual focusing) screen than the one that ships with the camera??
Thanks for this great forum!


The Ec-S screen provides a much better manual focusing experience *if you are using fast lenses.* It also does a better job of showing actual DOF.

If you are using f/2.8 zooms, it's darker than the standard screen. If you are using anything slower, it's much darker. If you want to focus the f/1.2 and f/1.4 primes, it's great. Otherwise, not so much.
Logged

Equipment: a camera and some lenses.
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3905


« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2010, 06:33:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: k bennett
The Ec-S screen provides a much better manual focusing experience *if you are using fast lenses.* It also does a better job of showing actual DOF.

Fully agree. It makes manual focusing much more accurate, and it adds another visual feedback confirmation with AF. DOF can be seen much more accurately, especially at wider than f/2.8 apertures.

Quote
If you are using f/2.8 zooms, it's darker than the standard screen. If you are using anything slower, it's much darker. If you want to focus the f/1.2 and f/1.4 primes, it's great. Otherwise, not so much.

While darker, I also use it to focus my f3.5 TS-E lenses (which really require Live View for tilted focusing anyway).

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
JonathanBenoit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 414


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2010, 10:21:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: timplog
Any of you 1DsMK3 users found a better (for manual focusing) screen than the one that ships with the camera??
Thanks for this great forum!

From my experience, Maxwell makes the best focusing screens. I'm not sure if he makes them for the 1ds though.
Logged

timplog
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2010, 12:11:25 AM »
ReplyReply

thanks all-wonder if Canon's Ec-B split microprism screen has any darkening affect in the viewfinder.
Supposed to be sort of old-school MF standby we used to know.
Also I frequently use the angle finder C.  
I've only got 2.8L zooms-and worse the 100-400L 5.6.
Thanks for your thoughts.
Logged
marcmccalmont
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1734



« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2010, 12:30:40 AM »
ReplyReply

I have had very good luck having Bill Maxwell make them for me. I also had a katseye in a Xti that worked well
Call Bill at 404 244 0095, tell him you will order a Canon screen from B&H and have it shipped to him
Then discuss the max aperture of most of your lenses which will determine which coating he puts on the screen.
I also have him put a rule of thirds grid on it. He has probably made half a dozen screens for me. Some times it takes a month or so to get it.
Marc
Logged

Marc McCalmont
Chris_Brown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 818



WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2010, 09:10:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: timplog
Any of you 1DsMK3 users found a better (for manual focusing) screen than the one that ships with the camera??
Live View?
Logged

~ CB
Josh-H
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1913



WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2010, 09:32:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Chris_Brown

Yup - I am using Live View for pretty much 100% of my landscape tripod work - zoomed in 10X its a cinch to get critical focus.

I dont think there is a better way to get critical focus, short of tethering a laptop.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad