Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom 3 available  (Read 11227 times)
seamus finn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 685


« Reply #40 on: June 08, 2010, 02:01:12 PM »
ReplyReply

The dilemma is this: should you haul out the CC (to quote Dark) for PS5 as well?  In Europe, it's an issue, considering the continuing decline of the Euro. For you lucky consumers in the US, be happy. Between both apps, there' a lot going on.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2010, 02:15:32 PM by seamus finn » Logged

Snook
Guest
« Reply #41 on: June 08, 2010, 03:32:30 PM »
ReplyReply

Anybody know if tethering with a PhaseOne back works or is it only dslr's?
Thanks
Snook
Logged
Richowens
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 818



« Reply #42 on: June 08, 2010, 03:44:46 PM »
ReplyReply

Snook,

 Right now only certain Canons and Nikons.

Rich
Logged

Snook
Guest
« Reply #43 on: June 08, 2010, 03:47:47 PM »
ReplyReply

OK... Thanks
Snook
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8030



WWW
« Reply #44 on: June 08, 2010, 04:15:17 PM »
ReplyReply

We didn’t get soft proofing in this version. Hopefully 4.0.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
DarkPenguin
Guest
« Reply #45 on: June 08, 2010, 06:09:37 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: seamus finn
The dilemma is this: should you haul out the CC (to quote Dark) for PS5 as well?  In Europe, it's an issue, considering the continuing decline of the Euro. For you lucky consumers in the US, be happy. Between both apps, there' a lot going on.

Had they held off on LR3 for a few more days I'd have ordered CS5.  (Trial would have run out.)  As it is I'm not so keen on upgrading to CS5 right now.  I'm sure I will.  Just not sure when.
Logged
semillerimages
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 159


WWW
« Reply #46 on: June 08, 2010, 06:24:14 PM »
ReplyReply

This is a cross post, but I did discover that if you upgrade to CS5 and Lightroom 3 you get the $30 off of Lightroom - even though the website makes it seem like you only get the discount if you buy a full version of CS5. This is in the US store...
Cheers,

*steve


Quote from: DarkPenguin
Had they held off on LR3 for a few more days I'd have ordered CS5.  (Trial would have run out.)  As it is I'm not so keen on upgrading to CS5 right now.  I'm sure I will.  Just not sure when.
Logged

semillerimages.com
Michael West
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 339



« Reply #47 on: June 08, 2010, 09:17:54 PM »
ReplyReply

The full release's Automatic Lens Profiling of my Canon 24-105 is pretty amazing.

It appears to minimally increase the size of the image
Logged
dreed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1169


« Reply #48 on: June 08, 2010, 09:53:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Michael West
The full release's Automatic Lens Profiling of my Canon 24-105 is pretty amazing.

It appears to minimally increase the size of the image

But it doesn't...if you look at the image dimensions, they do not change when you enable the lens corrections.

What I don't like about applying corrections like this is that LR3 has to create new pixels from nothing (as opposed to tilting & cropping.)

For some Canon lenses, there are two profiles: an Adobe profile and a Canon profile. In many instances, they do not produce the same image. Does anyone have the scoop on this?
Logged
Michael West
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 339



« Reply #49 on: June 08, 2010, 10:28:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: dreed
But it doesn't...if you look at the image dimensions, they do not change when you enable the lens corrections.

What I don't like about applying corrections like this is that LR3 has to create new pixels from nothing (as opposed to tilting & cropping.)

For some Canon lenses, there are two profiles: an Adobe profile and a Canon profile. In many instances, they do not produce the same image. Does anyone have the scoop on this?


The instance in whcih the image appeared" to have had a minimal increase in size was due I believe to the correction including the reduction or elimination of some pincushioning.

the pair of profiles, as you mentioned  seems a bit odd
Logged
Jim Pascoe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 707


WWW
« Reply #50 on: June 10, 2010, 08:36:05 AM »
ReplyReply

Just installed LR3 this morning and now using it to edit a new shoot.  All I can say is WOW!.  The speed difference when using the tools in the develop module is significant.  I have been toying with the idea of getting a Mac Pro to replace my Macbook Pro as LR2 just seemed to be a bit too slow when working on lots of pictures such as a wedding shoot.  I seemed to spend too much time waiting for tools to take effect, may be just a second a time, but when working at speed on 500 consecutive pictures it was getting frustrating.  Now the whole experience is more snappy.  Not had time to use other modules yet, but the speed increase may have just saved me £2500 on a new Mac!
Logged
stever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1044


« Reply #51 on: June 10, 2010, 10:20:41 PM »
ReplyReply

i'm sorry, i don't get this - LR3 has lens correction, but only from CS5 ??!!
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8030



WWW
« Reply #52 on: June 10, 2010, 10:27:16 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: stever
i'm sorry, i don't get this - LR3 has lens correction, but only from CS5 ??!!

When you select “Edit with Photoshop”, LR doesn’t have to render out the data like it did in 1.0, instead it uses ACR to do this and open the doc in Photoshop. So obviously the version of ACR running in Photoshop has to be in sync with the raw processing features in LR. So say you have CS4 and LR3. That older version of ACR doesn’t have lens correction so it will not be applied although you can still use the “Edit in Photoshop” command. The alternative is to render out from LR itself (Export). Then open in Photoshop and of course, you’ll get your lens correction.

This architecture is kind of nice because Adobe doesn’t force you to upgrade Photoshop to match LR. But if the two are in sync, its faster to have the option to use the Edit in Photoshop option.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1862


WWW
« Reply #53 on: June 11, 2010, 01:07:10 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: stever
i'm sorry, i don't get this - LR3 has lens correction, but only from CS5 ??!!
I think you're confused here. Lens correction IS available in LR3.
As I understand it, the reference to CS5 is with respect to the lens correction module in LR not being able to access the pool of extra user uploaded lens calibration profiles. The lack of this facility might just be an oversight that's rectified in future bugs fixes.

It's another question if that is something you need anyway. User supplied profiles might be very good or, if poorly made, worse than the defaults.

I assume that it's possible to build your own with the lens profiler download from Adobe labs and install them into LR3.
Logged
stever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1044


« Reply #54 on: June 11, 2010, 09:35:47 PM »
ReplyReply

in general, i'm not interested in verifying the goodness of somebody's correction, however i'm presently testing a Voigtlander 20 and pretty much like what i see - except the mustache distortion - don't expect this lens to be supported by Adobe

has anyone tried the profiler on wide angle "mustache" lenses?  my experience is that wide angle lenses require quite large targets for testing and extremely careful camera alignment

will probably download 3 this weekend but not interested in spending a lot of time on a low probability project
Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2100


« Reply #55 on: June 12, 2010, 05:01:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes, I have tried building a profile for wide-angle manual lenses (roughly 18 mm to 21 mm on 35 mm full frame cameras) with complex / moustache / wave distortion, and the resulting profile works well -- i.e., the mixed pincushion/barrel distortion both get factored out and the resulting image has straight lines.
Logged

barryfitzgerald
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 549


« Reply #56 on: June 13, 2010, 04:39:22 AM »
ReplyReply

Good stuff IMO and I am very pleased that at last the distortion control is in here. Also very pleased that Adobe has addressed the NR issues and a lot of good work gone into this release.
LR3 is now almost exactly what I have been looking for well done!

Nice to see a company take feedback seriously it's really helped the product overall
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1862


WWW
« Reply #57 on: June 13, 2010, 04:57:27 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: barryfitzgerald
LR3 is now almost exactly what I have been looking for well done!
Agreed.
Just waiting for soft proofing now, but I suppose Adobe will hold that one to ensure a good number of upgraders on version 4.
Logged
eleanorbrown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 611


WWW
« Reply #58 on: June 14, 2010, 11:49:48 AM »
ReplyReply

Does anyone have any idea why Lightroom 3 has no soft proofing options?  Thanks, Eleanor
Logged

ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 6910


WWW
« Reply #59 on: June 14, 2010, 12:22:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Eleanor,

I agree it's a pity that there is no soft proof in LR3, still I see some advantages with L3, one is the new processing pipeline which maintains sharpness better than the old one. The two other great things is a noise reduction that actually works and the new lens corrections.

I posted my experiments with the new processing pipeline (based on LR3 Beta 2) here: http://echophoto.dnsalias.net/ekr/index.ph...htroom-3-beta-2

Best regards
Erik


Quote from: eleanorbrown
Does anyone have any idea why Lightroom 3 has no soft proofing options?  Thanks, Eleanor
Logged

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad