Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR 3.2 RC Available  (Read 3511 times)
MBehrens
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156


« on: August 09, 2010, 11:14:14 PM »
ReplyReply

http://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/20...adobe-labs.html

On Adobe Labs
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6954


« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2010, 01:22:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the info. There's a lot of bug corrections and many more supported lenses…
Logged

Francois
Roger Calixto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2010, 02:32:41 AM »
ReplyReply

I installed LR3 but got spooked by all the problems people had so I've kept using 2.7. Now with 3.X out I feel a little better making the plunge. Maybe i'll pick it up again.
Logged

--------------
If my day job wasn't so cool, I'd quit and be a photographer =)
John R Smith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1357


Still crazy, after all these years


« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2010, 03:38:46 AM »
ReplyReply

This must be the fastest upgrade ever - two months on and we are already on 3.2 (but a very sensible reason to skip 3.1). The girls and boys at Adobe must have been working 24-hour shifts. I will give this a try tonight, and see if it makes any difference to my problems.

John
Logged

Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits
Steve Weldon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1476



WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2010, 03:40:55 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: MBehrens
Thanks!  I've been waiting for the NEX5 support.. it will be much appreciated.
Logged

----------------------------------------------
http://www.BangkokImages.com
David Hufford
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 114



« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2010, 03:45:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Roger Calixto
I installed LR3 but got spooked by all the problems people had so I've kept using 2.7. Now with 3.X out I feel a little better making the plunge. Maybe i'll pick it up again.

Just installed and did a few quick tests on my Mac and so far (knock on wood) it is much faster in Develop mode and also with the brush. Will have to hold any other opinion about it until I do more with it, but I may be able to use this version while 3.0 was next to unusable. Hope they got it right this time (even though it is still only a release candidate.)
« Last Edit: August 10, 2010, 03:45:19 AM by drichi » Logged

*Never fall in love with anything that can't love you back*
MBehrens
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156


« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2010, 10:56:49 AM »
ReplyReply

My impressions so far are very good. They fixed the mouse scroll wheel on left extended desktops - YAY! Not a lock up or crash so far...
Win 7 Pro 64 - LR3.2 RC1 64
Logged
Roger Calixto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2010, 10:59:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Do I have to upgrade CR too? Does LR use CR in the background or will CR only affect my transfer to PS (which I don't use...)?
Logged

--------------
If my day job wasn't so cool, I'd quit and be a photographer =)
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6954


« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2010, 11:16:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote from: Roger Calixto
Do I have to upgrade CR too? Does LR use CR in the background or will CR only affect my transfer to PS (which I don't use...)?
No, you don't have to upgrade ACR, Lightroom doesn't use ACR.
Logged

Francois
John R Smith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1357


Still crazy, after all these years


« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2010, 09:38:07 AM »
ReplyReply

 
I have been running the 3.2 RC for a couple of evenings now. On my Win 7 64-bit PC it seems to be stable and with no obvious bugs. In particular, using the before/after view is faster than before. However, with the same files and on the same PC it is still noticeably a bit slower than LR 2.7 on a lot of operations, such as simply switching between modules. There is often a little gulp while the application seems to think about what to do next. But I am still experiencing real problems with the Perspective Control. Actually applying the PC is fine, and totally interactive, but once I have used it on an image any further editing with the adjustment brush or spot removal is virtually impossible, as the change in the image lags many seconds behind the brush all the time. Gradient fill is also slow to respond, but usable.

John
Logged

Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits
adam_j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2010, 04:06:36 PM »
ReplyReply

I see they added support for Zeiss on Canon lens profiles but I'm not seeing that, is anyone else seeing those profiles available?
Logged

madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2010, 04:22:56 PM »
ReplyReply

I see they added support for Zeiss on Canon lens profiles but I'm not seeing that, is anyone else seeing those profiles available?

The Zeiss profiles are available only when processing raw files in LR.
Logged

John R Smith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1357


Still crazy, after all these years


« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2010, 02:52:15 AM »
ReplyReply


But I am still experiencing real problems with the Perspective Control. Actually applying the PC is fine, and totally interactive, but once I have used it on an image any further editing with the adjustment brush or spot removal is virtually impossible, as the change in the image lags many seconds behind the brush all the time. Gradient fill is also slow to respond, but usable.


Over on the Adobe Forums, other users are also experiencing this problem with LR 3.0 and 3.2 RC. It may be that using any lens corrections will result in a performance hit when editing or opening an image in Develop mode, or exporting an image, as LR has to re-render the RAW file each time but with much additional computation if lens corrections or perspective corrections are applied. This is just a guess on my part, but whether or not it will affect you might be dependant on a combination of PC hardware and RAW file size. So for the moment, if LR 3x seems slow, try turning all lens corrections off and see what happens.

John
Logged

Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2010, 10:22:04 AM »
ReplyReply

Correct, the new lens corrections & perspective adjustment tools are powerful but also require a lot of memory & processing power. (Recall these are being done on-the-fly, parametrically.)
Logged

Roger Calixto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 141


« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2010, 12:35:35 PM »
ReplyReply

But this is turned off by default, no? I seem to have to click the option for every foto which is kinda pissing me off...
What is the algorithms downside btw? Should I "use sparingly" (assuming no processing lag)?
Is it like noise reduction? Detrimental if used always?
Logged

--------------
If my day job wasn't so cool, I'd quit and be a photographer =)
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad