Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Using lrcat on two workstations  (Read 1288 times)
markdfink
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53


« on: August 18, 2010, 08:25:10 AM »
ReplyReply

I have a Win7 64 bit machine at home and a Win7 32 bit workstation at work. In the past, with LR2, I used an external drive (eSATA) that I would synchronize with my home internal drive using Beyond Compare. Actually, synchronize isn't correct, I would tell Beyond Compare to make the external drive mirror (match) the internal drive, and it would make the two drive contents identical.

What I'm noticing now in LR3 is that when I plug the eSATA into my workstation at work, images that I had imported at home don't show up. I have to synchronize that particular folder, then they all show up properly and with their keywords.

So, two questions, really. What should I be doing differently in my workflow so that when I make changes at home, I see an identical result at work and vice versa? The second question is, are there any pitfalls with using LR3 64 bit at home and LR3 32 bit at work on the same catalog?

Thanks,

Mark
Logged
Misirlou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 626


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2010, 05:26:25 PM »
ReplyReply

I actually keep my library and my catalog on an external drive, and then hit it from a combination of PCs and Macs, some of which are 32 bit, and others 64. No problem.

I suspect you're running into some sort of synchronization glitch with Beyond Compare, but that's only one possibility.
Logged
markdfink
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53


« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2010, 08:14:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Does LR3 store information about what images are in what folders somewhere other than the lcat file? I have my catalog on the F drive, rather than the default C drive so that everything, images and database, are on the same drive.
Logged
OnyimBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 283


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2010, 09:02:07 PM »
ReplyReply

I actually keep my library and my catalog on an external drive, and then hit it from a combination of PCs and Macs, some of which are 32 bit, and others 64. No problem.

I suspect you're running into some sort of synchronization glitch with Beyond Compare, but that's only one possibility.

Ditto.
Logged

Misirlou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 626


WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2010, 02:30:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Does LR3 store information about what images are in what folders somewhere other than the lcat file? I have my catalog on the F drive, rather than the default C drive so that everything, images and database, are on the same drive.

No, the location info is in the catalog.
Logged
markdfink
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53


« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2010, 01:17:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Should I export LR from my home workstation to the external drive, then use BeyondCompare to synch any image changes, then when I return home from work, import LR from the external drive, followed by a BeyondCompare synch for the images? I'm guessing BeyondCompare is having trouble making the two LR databases match up, but all the images are being properly synched.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad