Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Any rumors of a further update to LR3?  (Read 3269 times)
dreed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


« on: October 13, 2010, 12:51:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Are there any rumors or thoughts on when the next update to LR3 will be?

For the 3rd time today, I've had it (3.2) crash on me whilst browsing and selecting photos in Develop and this latest incident was only after a couple of minutes of use. It's very frustrating trying to get anything done with it when it is constantly crashing like this :-( Sometimes I can run with it for days before a crash, so I don't know if the weakness is in it not handling different use profiles well or what...
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2010, 12:53:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Are there any rumors or thoughts on when the next update to LR3 will be?

Yes <g>
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8075



WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2010, 02:20:45 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes <g>
Andrew,
Are you sure your non-disclosure agreement permits you to provide so many details?  Wink

Eric
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7652


WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2010, 03:12:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

There used to be four upgrades each year. We get only a minor version. If your problem has not been reported it's not very likely that it would be fixed.

It seems that for some of us LR is very stable and for others buggy. The problem may not be in Lightroom but in your system. I had bad problems with LR2 and it took me very long time to figure that the problem was with my NAS. This is the state of the art (pronounce mess) in computing.

Best regards
Erik

Are there any rumors or thoughts on when the next update to LR3 will be?

For the 3rd time today, I've had it (3.2) crash on me whilst browsing and selecting photos in Develop and this latest incident was only after a couple of minutes of use. It's very frustrating trying to get anything done with it when it is constantly crashing like this :-( Sometimes I can run with it for days before a crash, so I don't know if the weakness is in it not handling different use profiles well or what...
Logged

dreed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2010, 10:47:35 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm not even sure what to report :-( "LR3.2 hangs whilst moving between pictures in Develop" does not seem like a very good bug report to me :-(
Logged
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7652


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2010, 11:37:57 PM »
ReplyReply

I see your point.

Are you on Windows or Mac?

If it hangs you may be low on memory. You could make a screen dump of "Help->System Info" , paint over the serial number and post on this forum.

The way Adobe works they have minor version four times a year, that is because they add support for new cameras. They of course also fix some errors. Next major version is probably coming in a year or so, I think Adobe has an 18 month cycle.

Best regards
Erik

I'm not even sure what to report :-( "LR3.2 hangs whilst moving between pictures in Develop" does not seem like a very good bug report to me :-(
Logged

dreed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1260


« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2010, 03:50:10 AM »
ReplyReply

I see your point.

Are you on Windows or Mac?

If it hangs you may be low on memory. You could make a screen dump of "Help->System Info" , paint over the serial number and post on this forum.

The way Adobe works they have minor version four times a year, that is because they add support for new cameras. They of course also fix some errors. Next major version is probably coming in a year or so, I think Adobe has an 18 month cycle.

Best regards
Erik

I'm using 64bit LR3.2 on Windows 7 on a PC with 12GB of RAM, so I'm pretty sure that low memory is not an issue :-)
Logged
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7652


WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2010, 06:09:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

I'm on Mac so I can give little help...

You have checked how much memory is available to Lightroom?

Does Lightroom crash or just hang?

I would suggest that you contact Adobe Support.

Best regards
Erik





I'm using 64bit LR3.2 on Windows 7 on a PC with 12GB of RAM, so I'm pretty sure that low memory is not an issue :-)

Logged

JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 392


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2010, 12:26:37 PM »
ReplyReply

It could be one of the following or a combination perhaps:
Throttling down of the multi-core cpu, because of little cpu activity. It then can take a bit of time to throttle up. To the user it shows as a sluggish response of the system that all of a sudden is normalagain.
The is a bug in W7 that causes a deadlock between certain processes, for the use it shows as if the system does nothing for some seconds up to 30-45sec's. It is confusing as your mouse movevents can appear normal. Theere is a hot-fix for this from Microsoft, but not yet formally released. (PCSTATS' solution was to apply Microsoft Hotfix KB2265716 and restart twice. )

I use a W7 64bit, AMD t1090 (6-core), 8gb memory.

N.B.: I also switched off powermanagement (it never turns of a disk or cpu). I experienced a database corruption and the only probable cause was the default power management option that switches of the cpu after xx minutes of inactivity.
Logged

Fine art photography: janrsmit.com
Fine Art Printing Specialist: www.fineartprintingspecialist.nl


Jan R. Smit
bradleygibson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 829


WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2010, 11:18:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Insufficient memory isn't your problem.  Bad memory, maybe, but it's unlikely if only LR is crashing for you.

Instead, try your video card drivers.

If you're not on the latest for your card, upgrade to the latest.  If you're already on the latest, try rolling back to a previous release.  I recommend explicitly uninstalling the current drivers before installing the replacement ones, particularly if you're rolling back a version.
Logged

John R Smith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1357


Still crazy, after all these years


« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2010, 08:16:53 AM »
ReplyReply

Andrew,
Are you sure your non-disclosure agreement permits you to provide so many details?  Wink

Eric

Andrew's NDA certainly seems to be very elastic. Adobe should be sweating over that one. For me, on my Win 7 box, the full release of LR 3.2 seems very stable and is running just fine. Whereas 3.0 was a nightmare. But it does seem to be the case that LR, compared with any other app I have including PS, is very sensitive to hardware - graphics cards and drivers in particular. I would guess that simply porting LR to a different hardware setup (same OS) might well solve some problems, or give you some different ones.

John
Logged

Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2010, 11:21:37 AM »
ReplyReply

In the case of a LR crash, the most helpful information that you could provide to Adobe is computer system details. It is unfortunately not a guarantee that the issue can be found & fixed, but it does mean a LR engineer will have the opportunity to review the details and see if they can track down the problem.

Regarding updates: Camera Raw and Lightroom are updated about every 13 weeks. The last update was August 31. That should give you an idea of when the next update should appear.
Logged

Lost
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71



WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2010, 12:04:31 AM »
ReplyReply

I hope that they make a bug-fix release sooner than that.

I have logged two problems with the collection management on the Mac. Dragging photographs to reorder them in a collection often produces the wrong order (after dragging the photograph it suddenly jumps to a different position after you let go), and frequently I get a dialogue popping up that simply says "Assert". There are also problems with the Flickr exporter, where LR appears to loose sync with the set ID and will suddenly descide to republish the entire set, creating duplicates of everything on Flickr.

Subjectively, I have had more problems with 3.x than 2.x. I think that the 3.x release was rushed out, perhaps due to pressure from competitors.
Logged

Philmar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 354


WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2010, 10:02:28 AM »
ReplyReply

If you're not on the latest for your card, upgrade to the latest.  If you're already on the latest, try rolling back to a previous release. 

Does LR3 inform you if the drivers are out of date?
Yesterday when I opened CS4 it informed that I should update the drivers to my nVidia GT 7600.
Logged

An office drone pension administrator by day and a photo-enthusiast by night, week-end and on vacation who carries his camera when traveling the world:
Please have a chew on my photos:
http://www.fluidr.com/photos/phil_marion/sets
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2110


« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2010, 09:34:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Generally not. Creative Suite is different b/c some of its features make use of the video card.
Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #15 on: October 25, 2010, 01:18:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Andrew,
Are you sure your non-disclosure agreement permits you to provide so many details?  Wink

Yup, RC 3.3 is out.

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/lightroom3-3/
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad