Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Image Storage/Handling in Work Flow  (Read 1734 times)
wlemann
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« on: February 15, 2011, 09:38:08 AM »
ReplyReply

I am uncertain as to a viable way to manage developed images.  Here is my unjderstanding of the LR system and my idea for this matter.  If a knowledgeable participant can give me a yay or nay on this, I would be grateful:

1. After importing images, make two virtual copies of the original so I can, without resetting, work on two develpment paths, e.g. color and B+W.  I can continue to have the original in the catalog as well.

2. Is it true that I cannot "rename" a thumbnail which has been "developed" but need to append notations as a Caption in the metadata

3.  Once I am finished with a develop and want to keep it, I should export it as TIFF or whatever my choice is and name it.  I can add what the exported file is named in the metadata caption..

4.  I can, if desired, import the exported TIFF itself back into LR so that it appears in the catalog for easy reference. 

5.  If desired, I could further edit/develop the previously exported and reimported TIFF in LR.

6.  Can I print the TIFF from within LR?

7.  Can I put up the TIFF in the Web module?

Thanks so much.  Walter
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2831



WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2011, 09:46:09 AM »
ReplyReply

A question for you.... why the TIF? You can do all the things you ask without ever needing to create a TIF file. Is there some other reason for wanting a TIF?

Another point re renaming is that you can rename files (what you call "thumbnails") as much as you want providing you do so within Lightroom.
Logged

wlemann
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2011, 10:17:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the reply.
Reason for TIFF:  I print in Image Print 8.
Can the LR catalog listing, represented by the thumbnail, be renamed or does that have to be in the metadata caption?
I appreciate your input on the other questions as well.
Walter
Logged
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6873


« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2011, 11:00:07 AM »
ReplyReply

I am uncertain as to a viable way to manage developed images.  Here is my unjderstanding of the LR system and my idea for this matter.  If a knowledgeable participant can give me a yay or nay on this, I would be grateful:

1. After importing images, make two virtual copies of the original so I can, without resetting, work on two develpment paths, e.g. color and B+W.  I can continue to have the original in the catalog as well.

Yes, you can make as many virtual copies as you want, they will show up in the library, in addition to the original RAW file.

Quote
2. Is it true that I cannot "rename" a thumbnail which has been "developed" but need to append notations as a Caption in the metadata

I'm not sure that I understand your question. I'm sorry.

Quote
3.  Once I am finished with a develop and want to keep it, I should export it as TIFF or whatever my choice is and name it.  I can add what the exported file is named in the metadata caption..

You can rename files in Lightroom but don't do it in the Mac Finder or Windows Explorer because Lightroom will lose them.

Quote
4.  I can, if desired, import the exported TIFF itself back into LR so that it appears in the catalog for easy reference.  

Yes, a modified file can be reimported into Lightroom's library. When you edit a file in an external editor such as Photoshop, you have the option to reimport the modified file.

Quote
5.  If desired, I could further edit/develop the previously exported and reimported TIFF in LR.

Yes, it is possible.

Quote
6.  Can I print the TIFF from within LR?

Yes.

Quote
7.  Can I put up the TIFF in the Web module?

Yes but when you build the web pages, it's be converted into a JPEG file (unless I'm wwrong, which is always possible).

Quote
Thanks so much.  Walter


You're welcome.

May I suggest that you could purchase Michael's Lightroom 3 tutorial video. It's a terrific help, especially for people without previous experience with Lightroom. Most of the questions you asked are answered in that tutorial.

« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 01:58:51 AM by francois » Logged

Francois
frugal
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2011, 08:33:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Can the LR catalog listing, represented by the thumbnail, be renamed or does that have to be in the metadata caption?

I'm still not clear on what you're asking here. In LR's library module you'll see thumbnails of your images, you have several display options for what data is shown around the thumbnails (e.g. filename, caption, exposure data, date, etc). The filename is the name of the file, you can rename this through LR no problem and it will be renamed in LR as well as in your operating system (so other applications will see the new name as well and won't see the old one). The only concern with renaming is to not rename the file outside of LR or else LR will lose track of the file (it will still look for it under the old name and won't be able to develop it).

The caption is a completely different piece of metadata which you can use to give a more descriptive piece of information for the image, how you use that is really up to you.
Logged
Bahi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2011, 09:22:39 AM »
ReplyReply

2. Is it true that I cannot "rename" a thumbnail which has been "developed"

There's one aspect of Lightroom's file renaming that often confuses photographers that I've worked with and which might lie behind your question. You can rename an original file from anything that's considered a master (or original) but not using a virtual copy. It's not a bug or defect but virtual copies are often misunderstood.

Let's say you have four renderings or versions of a single file sat next to each other in your library, one of which might be considered the master version ('original') and the other three virtual copies. Lightroom still isn't modifying any of your originals so really, all these renderings are peers, whether nominally labelled masters or not but because there's only one original image file, only one of these versions be linked directly to it and only that version offers you the option of renaming the original file. One approach is to nominate any of the virtual copies to be the master; once done, you can provide a new file name using the usual mechanism. Open the Photo menu and choose Set as Master. This approach is suitable if you intend to export/print just one version.

Quote
need to append notations as a Caption in the metadata

That's actually the better approach and is particularly useful if any or all the virtual copies might be kept and exported for print at any time. It might be better to use the 'Copy name' field rather than Caption, though — it keeps Caption free for its correct use if you ever submit to a picture library or a publication.

Here's one way of doing it. In Library mode, choose to view 'All Plug-in Metadata' from the pop-up menu right next to the word Metadata in the right-hand panel. That will reveal the field labelled 'Copy name'. You can use whatever description you like in here for each copy — something simple like a, b and c or something more descriptive. For the smoothest workflow, you should also set up a filename preset (you only need to do this once) that includes 'copy name' in the filename when you export your TIFF. To do that, hit Export, go to the File Naming section, choose 'Edit…' from the pop-up menu and make use of the Copy name field that appears in the Image Name section. (You can combine it with other fields to automatically create useful names)

Quote
I can, if desired, import the exported TIFF itself back into LR so that it appears in the catalog for easy reference. 

You can even do it while exporting. After hitting Export, tick the box that says 'Add to catalog' (it's in the Location section) and you won't need to re-import the TIFF. Lightroom will place it next to the original in your Lightroom library view, assuming you're sorting by something like capture time. (You can later choose to stack it with the other versions.)

When you've set up your export with the right format, bit depth, colour space, location and file-naming options and the 'add to catalog' flag, make an export preset of it (click Add when you've set all the options in the Export window, then provide a descriptive name) and the whole thing will be accomplished in a single click after that. Just remember to fill in the Copy name fields first.
Logged
NikoJorj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1063


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2011, 11:16:38 AM »
ReplyReply

1. After importing images, make two virtual copies of the original so I can, without resetting, work on two develpment paths, e.g. color and B+W.  I can continue to have the original in the catalog as well.
Possible but without necessity - I'd rather recommend not to do it without having the need for it, to simplify your worlflow.

Quote
2. Is it true that I cannot "rename" a thumbnail which has been "developed" but need to append notations as a Caption in the metadata
You can rename your photos within LR, but depending on your needs, it may be more useful to edit metadata rather than the file name itself.

Quote
3.  Once I am finished with a develop and want to keep it, I should export it as TIFF or whatever my choice is and name it.  I can add what the exported file is named in the metadata caption..
Without Imageprint, this is unnecessary, LR keeps in the catalog (and optionnally in a sidecar file) the development...
NB You might try printing from LR - if that suits your needs it will really streamline your workflow.

Quote
4.  I can, if desired, import the exported TIFF itself back into LR so that it appears in the catalog for easy reference. 
Yes you can.

Quote
5.  If desired, I could further edit/develop the previously exported and reimported TIFF in LR.
Yes too, but in a general case I'd rather advise to go back to the raw file...

Quote
6.  Can I print the TIFF from within LR?
7.  Can I put up the TIFF in the Web module?
Yes you can but it's much simpler and even potentially better to start from the raw file for both.
Logged

Nicolas from Grenoble
A small gallery
JRSmit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 391


WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2011, 10:22:45 AM »
ReplyReply

I am uncertain as to a viable way to manage developed images.  Here is my unjderstanding of the LR system and my idea for this matter.  If a knowledgeable participant can give me a yay or nay on this, I would be grateful:

1. After importing images, make two virtual copies of the original so I can, without resetting, work on two develpment paths, e.g. color and B+W.  I can continue to have the original in the catalog as well.

2. Is it true that I cannot "rename" a thumbnail which has been "developed" but need to append notations as a Caption in the metadata

3.  Once I am finished with a develop and want to keep it, I should export it as TIFF or whatever my choice is and name it.  I can add what the exported file is named in the metadata caption..

4.  I can, if desired, import the exported TIFF itself back into LR so that it appears in the catalog for easy reference. 

5.  If desired, I could further edit/develop the previously exported and reimported TIFF in LR.

6.  Can I print the TIFF from within LR?

7.  Can I put up the TIFF in the Web module?

Thanks so much.  Walter

The basic principle of LR is that when importing it creates from the raw image file of your camera a preview image for library view purposes, and an image in the ACR cache to show when in develop mode. In addtion some data in its database. While this, lets call it a LR-image, LR-Image points to the originating file on your harddisk, it does not touch or alter the image data in that file. The LR-Image carries the name of that file though. A virtual copy is just a copy of the LR-Image, still pointing to the same file on the harddisk, but within LR it is yet another image, thus allow the development and outputting actions as any other image.
So there is from what i understand of your workflow, no need to create two vc's next to the imported image. Using a VC for a B/W development and output path is a viable one.
To distinguish between the different VC's i use the copyname metadata field.
Logged

Fine art photography: janrsmit.com
Fine Art Printing Specialist: www.fineartprintingspecialist.nl


Jan R. Smit
jljonathan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 143


« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2011, 12:40:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Can you please go a little bit further in explaining your comment specifically about output paths
Quote
: Using a VC for a B/W development and output path is a viable one.
Quote
Thanks
Jonathan
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad