Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Canon mounting plate for Horseman 4x5  (Read 3914 times)
trentf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« on: March 11, 2011, 11:52:36 AM »
ReplyReply

I did a search and did not come up with any info...  I am wanting to put my 1Ds mark 3 on my Horseman...  I contacted B&H and was told there was not an adapter.  I know they have the LD system...  But I do not need that.  Has anyone done this...  I also googled this and found nothing.
Logged

AFairley
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1176



« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 12:14:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Not exactly what you're looking for, and I believe it was home made (scroll down in link)

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=51911.0
Logged

elf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 232


« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2011, 08:37:50 PM »
ReplyReply

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220703572222
Logged
Lightbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 125


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2011, 04:56:07 PM »
ReplyReply

Although the above product is a ready to go solution, after building my own version there are a few problems with its design. For starters the Canon sensor is tiny in comparison to a sheet of 4x5 film or even 6x4.5 which the tech camera was designed for, so you have to use the lens standard fairly close to the sensor to achieve focus. On a DSLR the sensor is already buried deep within the camera, then having the camera mounted onto an extension tube puts the sensor even further from the rear standard plane, severely limiting the use of tilt & swing, the front and rear standards will have to be very close together leaving little room for movement. The other problem with the extension tube design is that the image circle cast from the lens will start to create a shadow onto the sensor with only a small amount of movement, due to the small size of the sensor and the fact it is sitting down the end of a tunnel so to speak.

Here's an image showing how I made my bag bellows and camera mount to keep the sensor as "exposed" as possible -




Also I wouldn't trust mounting my camera and having it hang of the lens mount, especially not from a cheap 3rd party extension tube, recipe for dead camera...

.
Logged

elf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 232


« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2011, 08:44:07 PM »
ReplyReply

I agree, the homemade solution will work better. My bellows setup is similar to yours, but I didn't use any parts from a large format camera Smiley http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=34499.0

Ideally, you would want the sensor plane to be in the same plane as the ground glass so you could compose and focus the entire image at once.  I think a 5x7 view camera would make a better starting point or use one of the new m4/3rds cameras.
Logged
Lightbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 125


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2011, 05:07:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Wow impressive setup and looks like you have a more tooled up workshop than me!
Logged

trentf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2011, 09:46:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks guys for the replies....  Now I really do not know what to do....
Logged

elf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 232


« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2011, 05:27:48 PM »
ReplyReply

I'd recommend starting with the sliding adaptor to see if it meets your needs.  It's relatively inexpensive and can be resold on ebay if it doesn't work for you.  Typically on a DSLR you only need a couple of degrees of tilt or swing for landscape work, so it may work well for you.
Logged
Ray R
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2011, 06:15:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Just followed this method (on a 5D Mk2)

www.northlight-images.co.uk/article_pages/canon-view-camera.html

It has moved the sensor on the camera too far back to focus my 65mm lens with a recessed board at infinity.

I cannot get the 90mm to focus either, but the lens board I have for the 65mm is deeper so I need to swap it to the 90 and try it.

The problem is the body of the camera comes forward and so has to be moved away from the board.

I bought the extension tubes off ebay for about 7, and already had a lens board to use.



Logged
Kirk Gittings
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550


WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2011, 06:23:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks guys for the replies....  Now I really do not know what to do....

Nor have you said why you want to do this. What are your expectations for this setup?
Logged

Thanks,
Kirk

Kirk Gittings
Architecture and Landscape Photography
WWW.GITTINGSPHOTO.COM

LIGHT+SPACE+STRUCTURE (blog)
Ray R
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2011, 07:45:39 AM »
ReplyReply

No I cannot get the 90mm to focus either.

I could get the sensor closer to the board - 2-3 mm possibly. I have also placed the lens mount on the inside of the lens board in order to make the fixing of the camera mount sturdier, and this is stopping the lens getting closer.

May have a look later in the week.

Ray
Logged
trentf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2011, 09:14:10 AM »
ReplyReply

I do not really a have "reason" I want to do this other than I want to...  I think the reason is a moot point.  I have an extra 1Dsmark 3 and a Horseman 4x5 sitting here.  I used to do a lot of commercial advertising portraits with the 4x5 and thought it could be be fun.  I was only wondering if anyone has/had done this...  Horseman makes a complete camera setup but I am not going to purchase one to play around.
I really appreciate all the input.

Logged

Kirk Gittings
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550


WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2011, 10:43:01 AM »
ReplyReply

Fun is a fine reason. I asked because allot of LF camera owners think that putting their DSLR on their VC would be a great way to do stitching, add swings and tilts etc. to their DSLR. But usually their goal is better served by going another route.
Logged

Thanks,
Kirk

Kirk Gittings
Architecture and Landscape Photography
WWW.GITTINGSPHOTO.COM

LIGHT+SPACE+STRUCTURE (blog)
trentf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2011, 02:04:09 PM »
ReplyReply

I see... no,  just wanted to play around. But do not really want a make work project.  I though it would be fun to play with when I had the time
Logged

neil snape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433


WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2011, 05:18:10 AM »
ReplyReply

I use a Graflok fixed adapter I bought off Ebay for my Canon DSLR. It works well enough on my Sinar X. Due to the barrel though it is quite limited in shift as I think light is bouncing inside the barrel.

It does allow some nice still lifes with my 180mm Macro Rodenstock lens from the film era.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad