Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: fuji X100 .raf files\ can an update enable ACR to process those ?  (Read 12372 times)
zobelinski
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« on: March 13, 2011, 11:48:22 PM »
ReplyReply

hey there,
just got my fuji X100 and absolutely love it.
well, some little quirks that are annoying but overall very nice, fast and handy.
BUT, what absolutely frustrates me is the fact that the RAF files are only processable with the fuji software and the Raw Photo Processor, both of them give decent quality but are a pain in the b+++ to work with.
since I'm adobe all the way, I'd like to know if we can except to have support for those files at all from ACR.
fuji states that they're working hard on getting support in that regard, but is that technically possible at all?
I was dissappointed that the newest updates 6.4 doesn't support them.
any thoughts or info about that?
cheers, stephan from NZ
Logged

mac pro 12 gb,eizo241W,LR,nikon,fuji
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5418


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 10:35:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Adobe updates ACR/LR 3-4 times a year. Whether or not a camera is caught inside the window if time required for support is somewhat a situation of timing...note, just because the 6.4 RC doesn't support the camera doesn't mean the final won't. They have been cases where a new camera wasn't supported in a beta but was when the final version shipped.
Logged
AFairley
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1130



« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2011, 11:52:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Sometimes its possible to edit the EXIF to trick ACR into thinking it's a flavor of file that it recognizes.  When the Olympus E-5 came out people were changing the camera type to E-30 in E-5 ORF EXIFs (since it was believed the two cameras used the same sensor) so they could process in ACR before it was updated with E-5 support, which by all accounts worked well.  Have no idea if this is feasible with X100 files.
Logged

JeanMichel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 224


« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2011, 01:45:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

Perhaps try: save the RAW  files as DNG and then open in ACR or Lightroom.

Jean-Michel
Logged
zobelinski
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2011, 04:27:43 AM »
ReplyReply

doesn't work, dng converter doesn't recognize raf files from the x100.
atm i'm converting with raw photo converter, which gives very good quality but is tedious to work with.
the thing with fiddling with the exif data seems interesting but i don't know which app to use to do that.
cheers, stephan
Logged

mac pro 12 gb,eizo241W,LR,nikon,fuji
AFairley
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1130



« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2011, 11:15:28 AM »
ReplyReply

doesn't work, dng converter doesn't recognize raf files from the x100.
atm i'm converting with raw photo converter, which gives very good quality but is tedious to work with.
the thing with fiddling with the exif data seems interesting but i don't know which app to use to do that.
cheers, stephan

Stephan, here's a link to doing the trick for the E-5, and another one about a workaround for Lightroom that didn't require modding the EXIF data.  (Use at your own risk and be sure to work only on copies of your original files!)

http://forum.fourthirdsphoto.com/showthread.php?t=61446&highlight=exif
http://forum.fourthirdsphoto.com/showthread.php?t=62217&highlight=exif
Logged

zobelinski
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2011, 03:46:40 PM »
ReplyReply

hey thanks for the tip,
anyway, opened the hex app for mac and tried to find anything, no chance, no camera modelnames in the camera raw exec file as far as i'm aware.
i'm prepared to go the extra mile but not walk around the whole earth...
or maybe i'm missing something
thanks anyway
cheers stephan
Logged

mac pro 12 gb,eizo241W,LR,nikon,fuji
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101


« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2011, 05:08:23 PM »
ReplyReply

It's pretty unlikely one can feed an EXIF-edited version of a X100 file to ACR and get a usable image. The mosaic data is stored differently than previous Fuji models.
Logged

zobelinski
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2011, 05:42:02 PM »
ReplyReply

so we'll just be waiting for you guys to give us X100 support, cause i'm so sick of using other raw converters....
cheers, stephan
Logged

mac pro 12 gb,eizo241W,LR,nikon,fuji
Chris_Brown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 768



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2011, 05:07:19 PM »
ReplyReply

You can always try Raw Developer on the X100 files. The latest version (v1.9.1) supports the X100 and has plenty of new features, too.
Logged

~ CB
zobelinski
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2011, 05:14:49 PM »
ReplyReply

that is what i'm using atm but don't you think it's tedious?
like who wants to change a parameter and then hit command r everytime to see what that has actually changed?
cheers, stephan
Logged

mac pro 12 gb,eizo241W,LR,nikon,fuji
Chris_Brown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 768



WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2011, 01:35:38 PM »
ReplyReply

who wants to change a parameter and then hit command r everytime to see what that has actually changed?

This can be changed in the program prefs.
Logged

~ CB
zobelinski
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2011, 02:57:32 AM »
ReplyReply

did not know that. thanks for the advice.
BUT, today adobe updated from 3.4RC to 3.4 and all my worries are gone.
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
cheers
stephan
Logged

mac pro 12 gb,eizo241W,LR,nikon,fuji
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad