Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Capture One 6.2 Released  (Read 4971 times)
yaya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1120



WWW
« on: April 28, 2011, 10:46:11 AM »
ReplyReply

This is a minor release with lots of new useful bits but the most relevant for this community IMO are:

1. Improved LCC that also takes care of extreme shifts with wide angle Schneiders and hi-res backs
2. Support for Leaf Aptus 22/65/75 compressed files including LCC (which was a bug in 6.1.1)
3. Sensorflex support
4. Local adjustments for Saturation and Clarity
5. Invert Local Adjustment Mask

Enjoy: http://www.phaseone.com/en/Downloads/CaptureOne.aspx
__________________
Yair Shahar | Product Manager Leaf & Mamiya | Leaf Imaging Ltd.
e: ysh@leaf-photography.com | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | www.leaf-photography.com | Leaf, a Phase One company
Logged

Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Mamiya Leaf |
e: ysh@leaf-photography.com | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | www.mamiyaleaf.com | yaya's blog
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2759


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 11:07:49 AM »
ReplyReply

I'd also highlight the improvements in the EIP format.

If you don't know what EIP format is see here first: What the Heck is EIP?

Executive summary:
- EIP allows a raw file to be wrapped with it's side car
- EIP allows a photographer to provide a raw file to a client*, but in a way which makes it far less likely the client will discard all your tweaks or open it in a program where they'd see
- EIP is a format designed to give portability to adjusted raw files
- EIP eliminates the need for a central library file (ala Aperture/Lightroom) or an "export" command
- EIP is completely non-destructive and makes no change whatsoever to the RAW file. If needed you can unwrap the original raw file  from the EIP file either by right clicking it in Capture One or from Windows Explorer or Mac Finder by simply renaming it ZIP and double clicking. Because zero changes are made to the raw file and because you don't need any software to unwrap it the archive-value of the format is very high.
- EIP is compatible with any file format or raw format that C1 accepts
- Double clicking an EIP file opens C1 and navigates to that file. Highly convienant.

The very significant improvement made in C1 6.2 is that EIP files now show up in the Mac Finder or Windows Explorer with a preview showing ALL of the adjustments to the raw file. So if you need to quickly check through a USB stick of images to determine which one is which, or need a quick preview of a raw file that's been emailed to you, or across a server connection etc the preview will reflect all changes (e.g. perspective correction, crop, white balance, exposure correction, curves, color editor changes, spot/dust removal etc).

*I'm not a fan of giving raw files to clients, but the decision to do so is with the photographer and I think it's good that Phase One is providing a way to do so without leaving the file completely naked

Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
__________________

Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
Phase One Partner of the Year
Leaf, Leica, Cambo, Arca Swiss, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Broncolor, Eizo & More

National: 877.217.9870  |  Cell: 740.707.2183
Newsletter | RSS Feed
Buy Capture One 6 at 10% off
Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
Doug Peterson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2759


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2011, 01:19:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Complete breakdown of features, improvements, and bug fixes:
Capture One 6.2 Notes
Logged

DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
Neil Folberg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 125


WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2011, 08:01:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Hello Yair,

Is there now tethered shooting for the AFi with aptus 12?

Neil
Logged
eleanorbrown
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 612


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2011, 09:49:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Now we just need for other applications (ie: Lightroom) to adopt the eip format too.  Also when is C1 going to have a "history" (listed as text).  I use C1 most of the time but also use Lightroom and the history option is one thing I use frequently.  Eleanor
Logged

EricWHiss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2372



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2011, 11:17:40 AM »
ReplyReply

With the new support will Lightroom now be able to pick up ratings made in C1?   I know that C1 will read the ratings made in LR3, but wish it could go back and forth more seamlessly as I work in both applications.
Logged

Authorized Rolleiflex Dealer:
Find product information, download user manuals, or purchase online - Rolleiflex USA
yaya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1120



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2011, 01:44:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Hello Yair,

Is there now tethered shooting for the AFi with aptus 12?

Neil

??

Aptus-II 12 and AFi-II 12 tethered shooting has been available for several months already...
Logged

Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Mamiya Leaf |
e: ysh@leaf-photography.com | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | www.mamiyaleaf.com | yaya's blog
Neil Folberg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 125


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2011, 03:46:05 AM »
ReplyReply

Yair,

I received the reply below on March 4 from PhaseOne support when I complained that my AFi with Aptus 12 would not tether

Neil
   
Hello

The AFI-II-12 is not yet supported tethered in Capture One, right now it is only the Aptus-II 12 and the Aptus-II 12R
Next release of Capture One (which will be 6.2) will support your back.
For now you will have to use LC 11.4.5 to shoot tethered, Capture One 6.1.1 does support the files, just not the tethered part.

We have notes in our system about your AFI 7 and we appreciate your input.

Kind Regards
Ulf
Leaf Support

Logged
JV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 549


« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2011, 10:45:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Does anybody know whether Capture One 6.2 supports the recently upgraded Hasselblad HC 50mm-II and 120mm-II lenses?
Logged
design_freak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1074



« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2011, 01:38:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Does anybody know whether Capture One 6.2 supports the recently upgraded Hasselblad HC 50mm-II and 120mm-II lenses?

You mean lens corrections?
You know these lenses, it's very difficult to obtain merchandise. It is difficult to support something that is difficult to obtain. But who knows, maybe P1 did it. Besides, it is not known whether these lenses work with the H1 and H2, perhaps only with H3 and H4. And in this case it would not have sense. At this point David Grover should take a position.
Logged

Best regards,
DF

-------------------------------------------
WORK HARD AND BE NICE TO PEOPLE
-------------------------------------------
yaya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1120



WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2011, 04:11:47 PM »
ReplyReply

Does anybody know whether Capture One 6.2 supports the recently upgraded Hasselblad HC 50mm-II and 120mm-II lenses?

No and I don't know if they work on H1 and H2 bodies

Yair
Logged

Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Mamiya Leaf |
e: ysh@leaf-photography.com | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | www.mamiyaleaf.com | yaya's blog
JV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 549


« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2011, 09:41:32 PM »
ReplyReply

The lenses definitely work on the H1/H2.  They are HC lenses, not HCD lenses. 
Logged
yaya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1120



WWW
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2011, 11:32:17 PM »
ReplyReply

The lenses definitely work on the H1/H2.  They are HC lenses, not HCD lenses. 

Is this a fact that was confirmed by Hasselblad or by testing these lenses? IIRC the "D" in the HCD lenses, at the time, meant that they were designed to work with the 49X37 chipped Hasselblad cameras?
Logged

Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Mamiya Leaf |
e: ysh@leaf-photography.com | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | www.mamiyaleaf.com | yaya's blog
JV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 549


« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2011, 06:32:51 AM »
ReplyReply

yaya, confirmed by Hasselblad that they work on H1/H2.
Logged
design_freak
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1074



« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2011, 06:43:58 AM »
ReplyReply

yaya, confirmed by Hasselblad that they work on H1/H2.

It's good information. I need to buy it. Anybody have it on the stock ??
Logged

Best regards,
DF

-------------------------------------------
WORK HARD AND BE NICE TO PEOPLE
-------------------------------------------
JV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 549


« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2011, 07:33:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Interestingly enough I cannot find anywhere that Capture One ever provided lens correction presets for the original 50mm lens.  I found that with release 4.1.2 Capture One added support for the 35mm, 80mm, 100mm, 120mm, 150mm and 50-110mm (at 50, 70 and 110mm) lenses but no mention of the 50mm (and also not of the 210mm and the 300mm).
Logged
yaya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1120



WWW
« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2011, 11:53:04 AM »
ReplyReply

Interestingly enough I cannot find anywhere that Capture One ever provided lens correction presets for the original 50mm lens.  I found that with release 4.1.2 Capture One added support for the 35mm, 80mm, 100mm, 120mm, 150mm and 50-110mm (at 50, 70 and 110mm) lenses but no mention of the 50mm (and also not of the 210mm and the 300mm).

I assume that this is because the 50 was not so popular so not many people have asked for a preset? The list in 6.2 is similar to yours.

If the number of Phase/ Leaf users who will ask for presets for the new lenses will justify the R&D required for this then we might consider it

Yair
Logged

Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Mamiya Leaf |
e: ysh@leaf-photography.com | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | www.mamiyaleaf.com | yaya's blog
JV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 549


« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2011, 06:57:20 PM »
ReplyReply

If the number of Phase/ Leaf users who will ask for presets for the new lenses will justify the R&D required for this then we might consider it

Understandable but at the same time also a bit +1 for closed systems...
Logged
yaya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1120



WWW
« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2011, 02:03:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Understandable but at the same time also a bit +1 for closed systems...

Depend on how you look at it of course...

If the old lenses' issues can be corrected in software, then you won't need new lenses, right?

If the new lenses are as good as the spec suggests then you won't need any presets anyway, right?
Logged

Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Mamiya Leaf |
e: ysh@leaf-photography.com | m: +44(0)77 8992 8199 | www.mamiyaleaf.com | yaya's blog
JV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 549


« Reply #19 on: May 06, 2011, 07:03:12 AM »
ReplyReply

yaya, probably true but it does not appear to be the way that both Hasselblad and Phase operate,
the software is for both an essential piece of the solution,
I always took for granted that Capture One supported all HC lenses, I am actually a bit disappointed that this is not the case,
it is just one element for me in determining which solution is most appropriate for me in the future
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad