Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Photoshop Curves  (Read 3469 times)
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6782


« on: August 31, 2005, 07:08:22 AM »
ReplyReply

Guidoa,
You don't see the Lightness channel because you need to be in Lab color mode instead of RGB (Image>Mode>Lab Color). So, your CS2 installation is not corrupt .

However, before you doing anything you should absolutely read this thread.

Hope this helps,
Francois
Logged

Francois
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6782


« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2005, 12:31:29 PM »
ReplyReply

You're welcome!
   Cheesy  Cheesy
Logged

Francois
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6782


« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2005, 05:02:19 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Has anyone tried out curvemeister at www.curvemeister.com? It promises many wonderful things. But I haven't bothered to try it out yet. I plan to do that when I have a few minutes.
I guess you've read the review on Digital Outback Photo website?

Francois
Logged

Francois
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6782


« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2005, 07:52:27 AM »
ReplyReply

A demo version is available for download. As for its [doubled] price, DOP probably made a typo...

Francois
Logged

Francois
francois
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6782


« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2005, 03:17:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I think you are right, Bernard, anyway, that is what I am doing and it seems to work OK.
Guidoa,
Smile, you just saved 70 bucks...

:cool: :cool: :cool:

Francois
Logged

Francois
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7856



WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2005, 09:38:47 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Mark,

No, I have to confess that I have not read Dan's book yet. Thanks for pointing out to that reference, I will check it out.

I have actually never really devoted too much time to checking to what extend such conversion did cause an actual loss. I was just sort of re-stating what other people have been saying, but I completely agree with you that it would make more sense to form an opinion based on facts.

Thanks anyway.

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
guidoa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2005, 06:47:49 AM »
ReplyReply

I had a look at the Curves Primer and instructions suggest that the chanel should be set to "lightness". My PSCS2 only has RGB,red,greem and blue. Is my CS2 corrupt or is there an error in the primer.
Logged
guidoa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2005, 08:48:40 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks Francois, grateful for the thread which is most helpful
Logged
dferrier
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2005, 03:26:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Has anyone tried out curvemeister at www.curvemeister.com? It promises many wonderful things. But I haven't bothered to try it out yet. I plan to do that when I have a few minutes.
Logged
dferrier
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2005, 07:24:19 AM »
ReplyReply

No I hadn't seen that (but I just read it). He seems to like it.  Smiley

I really must find some time to download this and try it for myself. I think the fact that he gives a free class on how to use curvemeister is a definite plus. The price seems to have about doubled since outbackphoto did their review  Huh but oh well, if it does as well as I have read, it is worth the money.
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7856



WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2005, 06:18:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
I had a look at the Curves Primer and instructions suggest that the chanel should be set to "lightness". My PSCS2 only has RGB,red,greem and blue. Is my CS2 corrupt or is there an error in the primer.
Hi there,

Another possibility might be that, instead of suggesting a destructive switch to LAB mode, they might be suggesting to set the transparancy mode of the adjustement layer to "luminosity"?

Not completely sure though.

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
guidoa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2005, 02:30:06 PM »
ReplyReply

I  think you are right, Bernard, anyway, that is what I am doing and it seems to work OK.
Logged
Mark D Segal
Contributor
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6883


WWW
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2005, 08:40:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Bernard, have you read what Dan Margulis said in his Photoshop LAB Color book (chapter 6) about converting back and forth between LAB and RGB? I think this time he has demonstrated quite conclusively that it is a non-issue at least in terms of anything visible on a piece of paper.
Logged

Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....." http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/film/scanning_workflows_with_silverfast_8.shtml
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad