Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Automatic Bridge Re-opener Needed  (Read 4624 times)
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2228



WWW
« on: May 25, 2005, 02:47:56 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm not sure if mine is different or you are just reporting it in correctly, but...here's how mine works (PC):

I open CS2, open Bridge, double click a raw to launch ACR.  At this point launching ACR brings CS2 to the foreground in front of Bridge, but nothing is minimized.  If I hit DONE, ACR closes and CS2 is still in front of Bridge, which I have to click on to work in again.
Logged

Gordon Buck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 409



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2005, 09:06:08 PM »
ReplyReply

It just seems to me that if there are no files being edited in Photoshop (main) then clicking "Done" in ACR would return control to Bridge.  I'm just trying to avoid that extra click after each ACR edit/Done.
Logged

Jonathan Wienke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5759



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2005, 11:50:21 PM »
ReplyReply

ALT+TAB is your friend here...
Logged

kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2228



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2005, 07:09:07 AM »
ReplyReply

Yeah, but that doesn't address the problem.  He's opening the image and not sure which program he wants to be active until after he sees it, so choosing ahead of time doesn't help.  C+R is basically the same as the default, double-clicking on the pic right?  Well if he does C+O and then chooses to go ahead and edit the image, he now has the opposite problem - catch 22.

If Bridge was inside CS2 as File Browser is inside CS, it would all work as it should...no matter what you choose, you were back where you were before.  It would be nice if Bridge could be re-integrated to CS2.  I like it as a stand-alone viewer and for cataloging, but it's not as easy for some types of viewing/editing IMO.
Logged

Jonathan Wienke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5759



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2005, 11:35:21 AM »
ReplyReply

Y'all are missing the fact that you can open numerous images simultaneously in ACR now from Bridge. Browse images in Bridge, mark your selects from the shoot, and open them all simultaneously. ACR will now have a row of thumbnails along the left that you can switch back and forth between very quickly without having to leave ACR. You can transfer settings from one image to others, tweak conversion settings, and then either open all in PS or batch convert to a folder in a variety of formats. There's no need to toggle back and forth between PS, ACR, and Bridge numerous times any more, and thai IS an improvement over CS.
Logged

Dan Sroka
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 594


WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2005, 01:21:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
But really, if a user opens PS, clicks on Bridge from within PS, then opens ACR within Bridge, then closes ACR via "Done", I suspect that nearly everyone would expect to return to Bridge for another browse...
Hi Gordon. Check out Bridge's preferences. Under "Advanced", there is an option for "double-click edits CR settings in Bridge".

If this is OFF, then double-clicking a raw file in Bridge will open ACR from Photoshop. Therefore, when you click Done, you are left in Photoshop.

If this is ON, then double-clicking a raw file in Bridge will open ACR from Bridge. Therefore, when you click Done, you are left in Bridge.

Dan

P.S. I do not know why for you Bridge is minimizing when you edit the camera raw settings... there's no setting in Bridge to have this happen. Are you on Mac or PC? On a Mac, if you have the above preference turned ON and you double-click a raw file with CMD+OPT held down, it will hide Bridge.
Logged
61Dynamic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1442


WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2005, 06:53:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Wow. I'm shocked it took two forum pages before the answer was stated.

The double-click option is something I have activated always. It, along with Ctrl+R on multiple raw images, let me perform quite a bit of raw image processing without the need of having PS loading and running in the BG. Very handy stuff.

I have to say with all the improvements in Bridge with ranking, labling (sorta), raw batch processing and all that whatnot, my workflow time has been cut to much less than half what it was.
Logged
Gordon Buck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 409



WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2005, 01:38:04 PM »
ReplyReply

I’d like an automatic Bridge re-opener.

Let’s see if I can get all the program names right …

Using Photoshop CS2, I open “Bridge” to look at some new RAW images.  In Bridge, I double click on an image thumbnail to open it.  Bridge is minimized and the image opens in Adobe Camera Raw – a third window (dialog box).  I make a few adjustments in the ACR dialog box but decide not to fully open the image for more editing so I click on “Done”.  My ACR edits are saved and the ACR dialog box closes.  Bridge does not reopen; that is, Bridge remains minimized.  If I want to do more ACR edits, I have to re-open Bridge again.

Is this the way the interface is supposed to work?  Can I change it so that Bridge reopens on clicking “Done” in ACR?
Logged

BobMcCarthy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 201


« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2005, 05:34:05 PM »
ReplyReply

There is a small symbol right of center that looks like a folder with a magnifying glass.

Click on it and it opens/reopens Adobe bridge.

Is this what you're looking for?

Bob
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2228



WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2005, 09:15:51 PM »
ReplyReply

Not going to happen.  Bridge is now a separate app to the OS, and ACR is part of CS2, so by opening a raw and launching ACR, you are essentially saying I want to use CS2 now please...then not.
Logged

Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5532


WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2005, 12:51:03 AM »
ReplyReply

Actually, Camera Raw can either be open hosted by Photoshop or by Bridge-and there's a difference. . .

Command/control 'R' will open Camera Raw hosted by Bridge. . .you don't even need Photoshop launched. There you can set whatever CR settings you want, hit done and you are still in Bridge.

If you command/control 'O' the explicitly you are asking to open the images in Photoshop and Photoshop comes to the foreground. This is as designed because if you WANT to open the images, vs just set the CR settings you want to hit open after setting are set and actually open inside Photoshop.

While Bridge and Photoshop are separate programs, they both can host Camera Raw. . .actully at the same time. Try taking an image and doing Command 'O', then bring Bridge to the foreground and on the same image hit command 'R'. You'll have the same image open, one in Photoshop one in Bridge. Last setting wins by the way.

Suggested reading: Camera Raw 3, Photoshop CS2 & Bridge from PhotoshopNews.com
Logged
Gordon Buck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 409



WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2005, 10:14:03 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the tip, Jeff.  I enjoy PhotoshopNews and check it regularly.  Somehow that fine point about PS, Bridge and ACR relationships just didn't register.

But really, if a user opens PS, clicks on Bridge from within PS, then opens ACR within Bridge, then closes ACR via "Done", I suspect that nearly everyone would expect to return to Bridge for another browse, selection, etc.  As is, the result of the above workflow appears to be a return to PS -- which has no images loaded.  (I do see that the Bridge window is open behind the PS window and not minimized.)

Oh well, it's just one more click but I'll bet that I'm not the only one who'd like to avoid it.

Although the above workflow seems natural to me, perhaps it is a poor one.  Although not a professional photographer, I do use PS very regularly.  What sequence do others use to browse through their RAW files, adjust in ACR and then edit in PS?
Logged

kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2228



WWW
« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2005, 10:21:16 AM »
ReplyReply

Frankly, using these tools, using CS with it's integrated acs AND file borwser is alot easier than CS2 and Bridge, workflow-wise.  

I guess this isn't an issue though, unless you for some reason open a lot of images in ACR but don't then edit them.  Maybe that's a normal workflow, but I almost always go to editing after ACS, so it doesn't bother me yet.
Logged

boku
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493



WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2005, 01:01:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Y'all are missing the fact that you can open numerous images simultaneously in ACR now from Bridge. Browse images in Bridge, mark your selects from the shoot, and open them all simultaneously. ACR will now have a row of thumbnails along the left that you can switch back and forth between very quickly without having to leave ACR. You can transfer settings from one image to others, tweak conversion settings, and then either open all in PS or batch convert to a folder in a variety of formats. There's no need to toggle back and forth between PS, ACR, and Bridge numerous times any more, and thai IS an improvement over CS.
Glad you pointed that out Jonathan. I almost forgot that. The filmstrip feature of ACR3 isn't talked about much. I stumbled on it trying to build an HDR with consistent RAW conversion parameters. If it hand't been for that, I still wouldn't realize it is there.

Your argument is valid. We really have been given one super browser (Bridge) and one mini browser (ACR3 filmstrip).
Logged

Bob Kulon

Oh, one more thing...
Play it Straight and Play it True, my Brother.
Gordon Buck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 409



WWW
« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2005, 01:49:07 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
If this is ON, then double-clicking a raw file in Bridge will open ACR from Bridge. Therefore, when you click Done, you are left in Bridge.

Dansroka -- My hero!

Dan, I learned that Bridge really was not minimized but was hidden behind PS.

OK, so maybe this isn't the best workflow but it feels natural to me.  Many thanks.

And thanks to Jeff and Jonathan for pointing to another workflow that I'll try to learn.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad