Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Changing project files to be referenced vs. stored in the Aperture database  (Read 5385 times)
special10
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« on: July 28, 2011, 08:44:23 AM »
ReplyReply

Hello,

I recently imported a new project and made lots of image edits, sorting and tagging etc.

However I intended to have Aperture reference the files instead of importing them into the Aperture database. 

Is there any way to change the project to reference the external files without loosing my image edits and reimporting?

Thanks much,

Edward
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2833



WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2011, 12:10:45 PM »
ReplyReply

Look at the File > Relocate Masters command
Logged

special10
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2011, 01:53:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks - your sugggestion generally seems to have worked.  It did however appear to generate some duplicate files (with a slight file name modifcation) to the files that I have edited while stored in the Aperture database.

Is that to be expected?

Thanks again,

Edward
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2833



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2011, 03:35:17 PM »
ReplyReply

I don't know Aperture well enough to be certain, but I think the answer depends on how you tell Aperture to relocate the masters. If you tell it to use the capture date, then I wouldn't expect duplicates. Equally, if you split by project, an image can only be in one project. But other ways of splitting may cause duplicates. Maybe some real Aperture users can comment?

John
Logged

Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad