Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: RawTherapee  (Read 113645 times)
mouse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171


« on: September 01, 2011, 07:44:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Just became aware of this software.  It seems that any mention of it in this forum is conspicuously absent.  Is there a reason?
Logged
deejjjaaaa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 965



« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2011, 09:02:35 PM »
ReplyReply

It seems that any mention of it in this forum is conspicuously absent.  Is there a reason?

yes, you did not search properly... try again.
Logged
mouse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171


« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2011, 09:40:57 PM »
ReplyReply

Sorry, I did a search.  Found about half a dozen messages where the name "RawTherapp" was mentioned.  None of them contained any evaluation of or opinions about the program itself. 
Logged
kikashi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4055



« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2011, 02:02:41 AM »
ReplyReply

Sorry, I did a search.  Found about half a dozen messages where the name "RawTherapp" was mentioned.  None of them contained any evaluation of or opinions about the program itself. 
A search on this site for "therapee" produces three pages of hits.

Jeremy
Logged
Nino Loss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 433


« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2011, 06:11:13 PM »
ReplyReply

A search on this site for "therapee" produces three pages of hits.

Jeremy
Very interesting, because when I copy/paste "therapee" into the search field, I get ONE result only, and that is your post?! "RawTherapee" gives me NO result!?
Logged
ejmartin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 575


« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2011, 07:33:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Interesting; I get the same, but when I type

site:luminous-landscape.com therapee

into Google, I get lots of results.  Looks like something is messed up with LuLa's search engine.

Anyway, what would people like to know about RawTherapee?  I am one of the developers.
Logged

emil
mouse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171


« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2011, 11:59:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Is there an instruction manual available somewhere on-line?

Ignore.  I found it.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 12:01:52 AM by mouse » Logged
kikashi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4055



« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2011, 02:34:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Very interesting, because when I copy/paste "therapee" into the search field, I get ONE result only, and that is your post?! "RawTherapee" gives me NO result!?
I searched from the root of the forum. From the main page, click "Discussion forum" then type "therapee" into the search box at the top right.

Jeremy
Logged
Nino Loss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 433


« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2011, 07:35:53 AM »
ReplyReply

I searched from the root of the forum. From the main page, click "Discussion forum" then type "therapee" into the search box at the top right.
I can see the three pages now, thank you! It's not the first time I get this wrong...
Logged
georgelopa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2011, 09:15:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Emil,

I have Nikon D700 and D7000 and I'm now using the RT 4.0.2.2 Window7 64-bit but I'm not able to use CaptureNX2 as my external editor. Even when I save (in a separate folder) the output in 16-bit or 8-bit .tiff file after processing the .NEF file in RT, CaptureNX2 cannot open these .tiff files. CaptureNX2 can open jpeg coming from RT. I only have RT and CaptureNX2, I'm not ready for CS5.

1) Is there a work-around where I can use CaptureNX2  after I have processed the NEF in RT?

2) After processing NEF in RT, can I save it again as NEF?

Thank you very much,
george
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 09:17:37 AM by georgelopa » Logged
ejmartin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 575


« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2011, 05:31:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Emil,

I have Nikon D700 and D7000 and I'm now using the RT 4.0.2.2 Window7 64-bit but I'm not able to use CaptureNX2 as my external editor. Even when I save (in a separate folder) the output in 16-bit or 8-bit .tiff file after processing the .NEF file in RT, CaptureNX2 cannot open these .tiff files. CaptureNX2 can open jpeg coming from RT. I only have RT and CaptureNX2, I'm not ready for CS5.

1) Is there a work-around where I can use CaptureNX2  after I have processed the NEF in RT?

Not that I know of.  I thought Capture NX2 was the Nikon proprietary raw converter, so it makes sense that it is only set up to process raw/jpeg files from the camera and not do general image editing; though if it handles jpegs it wouldn't be much trouble for them to allow tiff too.

Quote
2) After processing NEF in RT, can I save it again as NEF?

No.  The image is already converted out of the raw format into an RGB image, a NEF is a raw data container which holds undemosaiced pixel data.
Logged

emil
georgelopa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2011, 06:55:58 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks a lot Emil.

george
Logged
Greg Campbell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #12 on: September 18, 2011, 03:40:27 PM »
ReplyReply

Just became aware of this software.  It seems that any mention of it in this forum is conspicuously absent.  Is there a reason?

Perhaps because it's interface is so buggy and quirky as to be useless....   Huh

The illogical interface makes RT frustrating-at-best under Windows.  I don't know why the author feels the need to make such a non-standard interface. 

RT is unusable junk on my Ubuntu system where 3.0a opens in a virtual window that is significantly wider than my real screen.  Any attempt to click on any item in the interface causes the virtual window to jump back and forth between left and right justification.  Cute.

I've tried RT on several platforms over the years and always wind up deleting the "_#$^@#%$#!% pile of !#%@#$"
The program is frustrating - VERY frustrating.
Logged
ejmartin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 575


« Reply #13 on: September 19, 2011, 09:16:05 AM »
ReplyReply

3.0 stopped being alpha software a long time ago.  Does not mean there are no longer any bugs, but it sounds like your evaluation was based on an early version.  Current development version is 4.0.

Logged

emil
Fine_Art
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1096


« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2011, 12:41:54 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm new to RT. The current version is a good product. The interface is easy to use with no manual.
Logged
torger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585


« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2011, 04:49:09 AM »
ReplyReply

I am a frequent user of RT, and run the development version. I like to follow the development as it happens, and contribute with a bug report now and then.

If I was a professional with high production I would use lightroom because it is smoother to work with and more "fool proof". For fine art production I would possibly use RT anyway, because it has very competent algorithms and gives the power to the user, power to mess things up too. One example is to provide several highlight reconstruction algorithms, which works best depends on the photo, picking the right can give splendid results, the wrong can ruin the picture which you may not detect if you don't inspect the picture thoroughly.

Another advantage of using RT is artistic integrity, you can always find out exactly what an algorithm does, so you feel that you are in total control, there is no "make picture better in some secret way" type of functions.
Logged
torger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585


« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2011, 05:05:40 AM »
ReplyReply

One improvement I hope for is color accuracy, it is currently a bit difficult to work with portraits due to this. Problem is that you need to make  a development effort for every camera model, which is complicated for free software development. ICC handling is improving though so perhaps this can be solved with user contributed profiles based on colorchecker shots eventually. (I actually stopped using the commercial bibble due to poor color accuracy with my camera model.)
Logged
deejjjaaaa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 965



« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2011, 01:23:04 PM »
ReplyReply

h so perhaps this can be solved with user contributed profiles based on colorchecker shots eventually.

and those will be mostly crappy... it takes a lot more to make a good profile then to shell a hundred $ for a chart.
Logged
torger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585


« Reply #18 on: October 30, 2011, 05:42:17 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes, for lesser camera models they probably will suck. For popular entry level fullframe cameras (canon 5d for example) I think there however will be a good chance that we will see good quality. There is a fairly large userbase many which care about quality and have technical knowhow.

RT is also currently getting a new ICC infrastructure which look promising.

But color accuracy is not easy, so we will see what happens.
Logged
Frankomatic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #19 on: November 02, 2011, 02:48:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Emil,

I have Nikon D700 and D7000 and I'm now using the RT 4.0.2.2 Window7 64-bit but I'm not able to use CaptureNX2 as my external editor. Even when I save (in a separate folder) the output in 16-bit or 8-bit .tiff file after processing the .NEF file in RT, CaptureNX2 cannot open these .tiff files. CaptureNX2 can open jpeg coming from RT. I only have RT and CaptureNX2, I'm not ready for CS5.

1) Is there a work-around where I can use CaptureNX2  after I have processed the NEF in RT?

2) After processing NEF in RT, can I save it again as NEF?

Thank you very much,
george

If RT saves the tif with an alpha channel you will not be able to open it in CaptureNX2.  Perhaps there's an option to turn off the alpha channel in RT's save dialog.  There may also be an issue with the type of compression being used, try turning off compression as well.

Once you are able to open the tif in CNX2 you can then save it as a NEF.  However you will no longer see the "Camera" section in its Develop module since it is no longer a raw image file.  Also, the Exposure adjustment in the Quick Fix section will be dimmed (not functional) as it will only work with raw data.

Regards,
Frank

Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad