Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: RawTherapee  (Read 107193 times)
georgelopa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #20 on: November 02, 2011, 09:22:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks a lot Frank.

I'm now using the latest RT version (4.0.4.2) for Window 7 64-bit but I don't see the option(s) of turning off the Alpha channel and/or compression. Have you done this? If so, could you please direct me on how to do it in a more specific way? Would you mind explaining the Alpha channel?

I like the selective U-technology of the CNX2. So, right now, after processing the NEF in RT unto an 8-bit JPEG, I open the JPEG in CNX2 and convert it to NEF and continue/finish the processing in CNX2. Obviously, it would be better if I can process a tiff file ouput from RT in CNX2.

george
Logged
Frankomatic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #21 on: November 02, 2011, 12:19:39 PM »
ReplyReply

georgelopa,

I've never used RT but have used other programs that generated tif's CNX2 couldn't open because of an alpha channel.  I only suggested looking for the option in RT's save dialog because it would be the first place I'd look, the second place would be in the program's preferences.  As a last resort I'd open the tif in Photoshop to remove it there, that's what I had to do.  I think simply flattening the image in PS then saving it will do the trick.

Regards,
Frank
Logged
georgelopa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #22 on: November 02, 2011, 01:53:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks Frank.

No such options too in RT's preferences. Unfortunately, I only have CNX2 to process my NEF files.

george
Logged
robgo2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335


WWW
« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2011, 09:47:54 AM »
ReplyReply

I realize that RT was originally a Windows program, but they are also developing a Mac version.  I tried it and found it to be virtually unusable.  On those rare occasions when it did not freeze, the results were mediocre.  For Mac users wanting the very best raw conversions, RPP is the one.  RPP is not a full featured workflow machine, but the results are clearly superior to all of the big time programs.  Unfortunately for Windows users, there will probably never be a version for them, according to the developers.

Rob 
Logged
joofa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 485



« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2011, 04:33:53 PM »
ReplyReply

I realize that RT was originally a Windows program, but they are also developing a Mac version.  I tried it and found it to be virtually unusable. For Mac users wanting the very best raw conversions, RPP is the one.

You can also try Photivo, which is freely available for Mac, Linux and Windows (http://photivo.org/photivo/start), and is much more stable than Rawtherappee.

Joofa
Logged

Joofa
http://www.djjoofa.com
Download Photoshop and After Effects plugins
mouse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 150


« Reply #25 on: November 09, 2011, 06:45:09 PM »
ReplyReply

I originally installed version 64_4.0.2.2 and, while it seemed quite interesting, it would frequently crash without any apparent reason.  Running Windows 7/64.
I now see on the RawTherapee site a new (beta?) version 64_4.0.4.2.   However the site also recommends an earlier version (64_3.0.1) as being the most stable.
Anyone have any suggestions?
Logged
ejmartin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 575


« Reply #26 on: November 09, 2011, 08:34:04 PM »
ReplyReply

Windows has the most stability issues, unfortunately.  Version 3 was regarded as being the most stable for some, for others it's version 4 (I can't say, I'm on OSX and it's always been stable for me).  Our windows devs would appreciate feedback if you'd be willing to test and file a report either on the RT user forums

http://rawtherapee.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=3

or Google code issues

http://code.google.com/p/rawtherapee/issues/list
Logged

emil
robgo2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335


WWW
« Reply #27 on: November 11, 2011, 11:03:10 AM »
ReplyReply


Quote
Windows has the most stability issues, unfortunately.  Version 3 was regarded as being the most stable for some, for others it's version 4 (I can't say, I'm on OSX and it's always been stable for me).
 

You have to be joking.  I just downloaded the very latest Mac version (dated 11-11-11), and when I open it, all that I see is a page with lots of rectangles, nameless folders and no text whatsoever.  If there are images in some of those folders, there is no way for me to find them.  I have to salute the numerous RT developers for their efforts, but clearly, the program is not ready for prime time.

Rob
Logged
ejmartin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 575


« Reply #28 on: November 11, 2011, 11:46:21 AM »
ReplyReply

 

You have to be joking.  I just downloaded the very latest Mac version (dated 11-11-11), and when I open it, all that I see is a page with lots of rectangles, nameless folders and no text whatsoever.  If there are images in some of those folders, there is no way for me to find them.  I have to salute the numerous RT developers for their efforts, but clearly, the program is not ready for prime time.

Rob

No, not joking, but then again I build the executable myself from source.  I downloaded the 4.0.5 development snapshot myself and verified that it has the issue you are reporting.  If you instead download the 4.0.4 development snapshot it should be OK (at least it is for me; if not for you, please report back here).  The problem you reported appears to be coming from an update to one of the library files that the RT UI depends on, not from changes in the RT code base itself.

I'd be the last to argue that RT 4 is a finished product; it's a work in progress, and the downloads being made available are snapshots of the development branch of the code base.  Hopefully it will be finalized in the next few months and released.  That said, it is stable for many users.  I hope you are able to try the 4.0.4 build and see if it works for you.
Logged

emil
robgo2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335


WWW
« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2011, 03:33:41 PM »
ReplyReply

No, not joking, but then again I build the executable myself from source.  I downloaded the 4.0.5 development snapshot myself and verified that it has the issue you are reporting.  If you instead download the 4.0.4 development snapshot it should be OK (at least it is for me; if not for you, please report back here).  The problem you reported appears to be coming from an update to one of the library files that the RT UI depends on, not from changes in the RT code base itself.

I'd be the last to argue that RT 4 is a finished product; it's a work in progress, and the downloads being made available are snapshots of the development branch of the code base.  Hopefully it will be finalized in the next few months and released.  That said, it is stable for many users.  I hope you are able to try the 4.0.4 build and see if it works for you.

v.4.0.4 is the build that I tried on my Mac.  It did not work at all.  So, I will continue to use Capture One as my main raw processor and RPP for the really good stuff.

Rob 

Logged
ejmartin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 575


« Reply #30 on: November 12, 2011, 01:27:31 PM »
ReplyReply

Rob, what version of OSX are you running?  The builds are for Snow Leopard.
Logged

emil
robgo2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335


WWW
« Reply #31 on: November 12, 2011, 02:06:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Rob, what version of OSX are you running?  The builds are for Snow Leopard.

I am using Snow Leopard (OS10.6.8.)

Rob
Logged
cole2010
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #32 on: February 21, 2012, 07:03:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Very interesting
Logged
robgo2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335


WWW
« Reply #33 on: February 21, 2012, 08:32:45 AM »
ReplyReply

Very interesting

Sorry, but it's impossible for anyone to discern exactly what you find "very interesting" in this thread or whether it is the entire thread.  Could you please be more specific?

Rob
Logged
EduPerez
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 690


WWW
« Reply #34 on: February 21, 2012, 10:21:52 AM »
ReplyReply

Sorry, but it's impossible for anyone to discern exactly what you find "very interesting" in this thread or whether it is the entire thread.  Could you please be more specific?

Rob

There have been several newcomers recently; all share a common pattern with their names, and all of them just post meaningless comments such as this one. I guess they are just spammers, and when these comments become lost among all the comments in this site, their signature will magically change to something far more "interesting".
Logged

pcg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 96


« Reply #35 on: March 11, 2012, 08:52:11 PM »
ReplyReply

There have been a couple references to "RPP" in this thread. Could someone translate that acronym into a program name? Thanks.
Logged
Eric Myrvaagnes
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7789



WWW
« Reply #36 on: March 11, 2012, 10:53:27 PM »
ReplyReply

A web search for "RPP software" suggests it is Raw Photo Processor, from http://raw-photo-processor.com.

I'm not a Mac person, so I can't comment on it.

Eric
Logged

-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my website. New images each season.
pcg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 96


« Reply #37 on: March 12, 2012, 12:09:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks, Eric. I'll explore.
Logged
pcg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 96


« Reply #38 on: March 12, 2012, 01:08:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Just downloaded RPP and installed it. So far I give it 3 stars. Nice interface, tremendous control. It'll have a learning curve, and is clearly for serious RAW shooters. But I like what I see.
Logged
robgo2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 335


WWW
« Reply #39 on: March 14, 2012, 04:07:28 PM »
ReplyReply

Just downloaded RPP and installed it. So far I give it 3 stars. Nice interface, tremendous control. It'll have a learning curve, and is clearly for serious RAW shooters. But I like what I see.

I am one of the persons who mentioned RPP in this thread.  A word of caution:  RPP is not a full featured image editor, and what you see on the monitor is not a finished product.  In order to get the most from RPP, you almost always have to use a secondary editing program, such as Photoshop, to apply contrast and other adjustments.  As the developers state on their website, RPP is analogous to a film negative from which one then makes a print.  Just try to get a good histogram and Save with optimizing for post-processing (in the File menu).  In evaluating the program, compare the final product to the final product from other software that you might use.  Having done so with numerous images, I am sold on RPP and use it for all of my best pics.

Rob
Logged
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad