Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Lightroom 4 Soon?  (Read 19136 times)
Bob Rockefeller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 150



WWW
« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2011, 07:17:21 AM »
ReplyReply

And one more thing:

The ability to select an image in a collection and jump to that same image in it's "home folder." You can jump to the folder now, but not to the image within the folder.
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2759



WWW
« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2011, 10:07:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Right click the thumbnail and choose Go to Folder in Library
Logged

Bob Rockefeller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 150



WWW
« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2011, 02:45:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Right click the thumbnail and choose Go to Folder in Library

I know. That's what takes you to the folder, but not the image. Once you're in the folder, you still have to hunt around for the image.
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2759



WWW
« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2011, 03:01:53 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm not sure why it's not working for you. I tested a few times before I replied, and regardless of whether the image was selected in the collection, the context menu reliably takes me to the right item in its folder.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2011, 11:42:53 AM by johnbeardy » Logged

hjulenissen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1677


« Reply #24 on: November 21, 2011, 04:09:00 PM »
ReplyReply

I would like to be able to duplicate the folder structure using exported (e.g.) JPEGs + corresponding lightroom catalog. That would be nice for being able to view my images on another PC at 2MP without having some network share.

-h
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9004



WWW
« Reply #25 on: November 22, 2011, 08:23:25 AM »
ReplyReply

I know. That's what takes you to the folder, but not the image.

Doing both for me...
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Bob Rockefeller
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 150



WWW
« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2011, 02:51:52 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm not sure why it's not working for you. I tested a few times before I replied, and regardless of whether the image was selected in the collection, the context menu reliably takes me to the right item in its folder.

OK, I got it. If you have a virtual copy in a collection and its stack in the library is collapsed, the Go To Folder In Library command can't find it. If the stack is expanded, the command does find it. Maybe its a feature, but I think the menu name should be changed and it should open a stack and select the image in the library.

I was thrown off by the menu item's name: Go To Folder In Library. It doesn't say go to image in library.

Bob
Logged

Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com
Alan Goldhammer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632


WWW
« Reply #27 on: November 22, 2011, 06:10:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Michael may have spilled the beans on the What's New page. "Sean Reid, a long-time contributor to this site, has just published a very extensive field review of the Fuji X10 based on working with RAW files converted in a beta version of Lightroom."  Hmmmm, I wonder what features are with it.
Logged

Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5469


WWW
« Reply #28 on: November 22, 2011, 07:33:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Michael may have spilled the beans on the What's New page. "Sean Reid, a long-time contributor to this site, has just published a very extensive field review of the Fuji X10 based on working with RAW files converted in a beta version of Lightroom."  Hmmmm, I wonder what features are with it.

Prolly LR 3.6 RC.
Logged
bluesplayer43
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #29 on: December 31, 2011, 05:13:53 AM »
ReplyReply

I was recently on a Photo workshop with a well known Lightroom beta tester who writes books on LR. He let slip his new revised book on LR 4 goes to his publisher in Feb 2012 and that we could see a Beta released very soon. He also sugested some big interface changes and a few surprises were to come but was pretty tight-lipped about what He had the beta version of LR4 on his laptop, but of course we didn't get to see it! He indicated that the beta contained only around 60% of the final functionality of the release version.

Judging from comments from Jeff Schewe in the LL "From Camera to Print & screen", soft proofing was dropped from LR3 at the very last minute, therefore I'd expect it to play a significant role in LR4.

Let's hope there's not long to wait.
Logged
CUclimber
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #30 on: January 03, 2012, 03:02:49 PM »
ReplyReply

I'd love to see a true clone stamp tool.  The current clone and healing tools are just too crude to be of much use.
Logged
luxborealis
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 1069



WWW
« Reply #31 on: January 04, 2012, 06:33:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Select (click on) the image first, then right-click and choose "Go to Folder in Library".
Logged

Terry McDonald
Revealing the art inherent in nature
- visit luxBorealis.com.
Have a read of my PhotoBlog and subscribe!
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1917


WWW
« Reply #32 on: January 07, 2012, 11:25:47 AM »
ReplyReply

Sounds like LR4 is imminent, or at least the beta release is.
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?s=5cc28f4f8a87b00b31e9e326fc02ac1a&t=1133010
and
http://www.flickr.com/groups/adobe_lightroom/discuss/72157628753793341/
Logged
deejjjaaaa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 778



« Reply #33 on: January 07, 2012, 11:43:04 AM »
ReplyReply


it sure is... some beta testers leaked (or allowed it to be stolen) CS6 (= ACR7, = LR4) several month ago - there was a thread @ http://forums.adobe.com/community/cameraraw (it got deleted naturally) that was mostly about dpreview people posting versions of ACR used in testing (that were not yet publicly released, even in beta form).
Logged
Farmer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1630


WWW
« Reply #34 on: January 09, 2012, 06:00:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Anyone who knows can't say, anyone who says can't know.

I wouldn't take purported leaks to indicate the proximity or otherwise of anything.
Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9004



WWW
« Reply #35 on: January 09, 2012, 06:02:28 PM »
ReplyReply

anyone who says can't know.

They can know but will get in a boat load of trouble and will never have the opportunity know again. But yes, your point is well taken.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Farmer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1630


WWW
« Reply #36 on: January 09, 2012, 08:34:07 PM »
ReplyReply

Well yeah, true, Andrew - but less poetic to write :-)
Logged

deejjjaaaa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 778



« Reply #37 on: January 09, 2012, 08:49:35 PM »
ReplyReply

They can know but

just google... for example : http://www.acobra.ru/blogs/foto_programmist/in-the-vacation-trip-so-you-can-not-.php

screenshots of ACR7 posted (~1.5 month ago), looks like a very production quality to me

Logged
deejjjaaaa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 778



« Reply #38 on: January 10, 2012, 12:20:51 AM »
ReplyReply

so LR Beta 4 released  Grin Grin Grin ... now where is our ACR7 Beta ?
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1917


WWW
« Reply #39 on: January 10, 2012, 05:24:07 AM »
ReplyReply

I wouldn't take purported leaks to indicate the proximity or otherwise of anything.
Are you sure ? http://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/2012/01/lr4betanowavailable.html

Sometimes you just need to look at what leaks there are and how credible they are. It's always the case that there are mistakes and people let loose information a day or two early before the announcements.
Logged
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad