Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Hacked GH2  (Read 40738 times)
fredjeang
Guest
« on: November 06, 2011, 03:48:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

Does someone has hacked his-her (I don't know why I put "her" because there is never any lady here...) GH2 ?

I've been very impressed by the footage I saw filmed by an hacked GH2, but trying to find the informations, I have the problem that my english level is
not catching the all picture and I'd like to go "safe". I mean by safe, not a warranty issue but being able to understand step by step the all process clearly.

The hack comes apparently from this guy: Vitaliy Kiselev’s

Tha camera shoots at 176Mbit ! and only with SD extreme.

Footage stands the comparaison with Red and Alexas except in harsh light where the Gh2 still blows and chromatic aberrations. But otherwise, very impressive.

So apparently you have to go on this page: http://www.personal-view.com/

and find a user called: Driftwood

They said that the settings can be downloaded here: http://www.personal-view.com/talks/discussion/comment/19407#Comment_19407

But it's impossible to download anything so I imagine that we have to register first.

Then, what?



If someone has done that successfuly, please post your comments here.


Thanks.

« Last Edit: November 06, 2011, 04:04:57 AM by fredjeang » Logged
Robert Moore
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2011, 07:33:24 AM »
ReplyReply

Fred,

l hacked my GH1 and it worked very well...Vitally is super at this but these are a collaborative work in progress.

The thread you refer to is a series of settings that you write in depending upon which framerate you are interested in...this is
not the hack itself. I will spend some time over the week looking at this.

However I am totally happy with the default GH2 settings for 24P...gorgeous tone and color and yes blow any camera's highlights
and it will bite you...some worse than others.

Hate this self-referral stuff ( I really do ) but the following is GH2:

 http://robertemoorephoto.com/p645748420/h3b24a289#h3b24a289

Poor tripod and head adjustment but look at color, out of focus areas and dynamic range...not RED but
appealing overall...and talk about a sweet little package for travel.

Bob
Logged
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2011, 07:43:16 AM »
ReplyReply

Oh yeah, the gh2 even as it is from factory is a great tool.

I love this little camera, honestly.

(Zacuto will have it featured on their next episodes).

If you have infos on that hack soon, please post.

Logged
Robert Moore
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2011, 07:45:20 AM »
ReplyReply

Here is listing for the hack and patches which will be used...down the list are all of Driftwood's patches.

http://www.personal-view.com/talks/discussion/953/gh2-patch-vault-most-popular-patches-in-one-place

Bob
Logged
Robert Moore
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2011, 07:48:23 AM »
ReplyReply

This is the most recent hack listed:

PT Tool

http://www.personal-view.com/talks/discussion/666/ptool-v3.62d-topic

and yes I have donated a couple of times...the stuff is that good.

Bob
Logged
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2011, 07:48:31 AM »
ReplyReply

Here is listing for the hack and patches which will be used...down the list are all of Driftwood's patches.

http://www.personal-view.com/talks/discussion/953/gh2-patch-vault-most-popular-patches-in-one-place

Bob

Kept in favorite, Thanks for the link. I will look at it tonight in a quiet moment.

Cheers.
Logged
ivokwee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 35



WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2011, 01:12:01 PM »
ReplyReply

I hacked mine. It's very easy and safe because you can always revert back to the original firmware. The high bitrates 176/220mb hacks really need good SD cards, with mine it often gave errors. Also they suck up memory (about 1 Gb per minute...) so that wasn't really practical for me. I ended up using teh 66Mb settings which is a good compromise.
Logged
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2011, 01:32:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

When you say it's very easy, is there a place in the internet where it is explained simply? (and if visually better). Or pearhaps you could explain it here, you're welcome.

And then, it seems that there are many versions. How to know wich one?
« Last Edit: November 06, 2011, 03:16:12 PM by fredjeang » Logged
Robert Moore
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2011, 07:19:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Fred,

Look here:

http://www.eoshd.com/content/tag/hack

http://www.personal-view.com/talks/discussion/699/avchd-maximum-image-quality-settings-and-testing


Bob
« Last Edit: November 08, 2011, 07:37:04 PM by Robert Moore » Logged
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2011, 01:55:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Aahhh...

This is what I wanted this thread to be.

Practical infos that everybody can understand, and not just "I've hacked mine and it's great".

Thanks for bringing those usable and practical links.

 
Logged
Robert Moore
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64


« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2011, 04:25:38 PM »
ReplyReply

Fred,

Ye thanks a lot...now I have hacked my GH2! Was happy with the stock firmware and will not be able to look
at the results for a while due to work schedule.

Bottom line for now...176 MB is a bit unstable ...special cards and 500MB per minute of record time
makes it a no go for me. Trying Chris' 66 MB settings...good compromise on time for record and
stability.

New PTool 3.6.3 is great...ini file in same folder and it is a one-click deal. No hassle and again
less of a chance to input a bad value.

Looking forward to seeing the results...maybe this weekend.

Bob
Logged
UlfKrentz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308


WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2011, 10:01:02 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi Fred,

after so much advertising you´ve made for the GH2 I´m really tempted...I´m not really satisfied with the canon 5DII video skin tones. Does the GH2 support a high def HDMI output when recording? That´s the other downside of the 5DII.

Cheers, Ulf
Logged
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2011, 12:58:12 PM »
ReplyReply

It does.

But I never did it so far personaly.

Panasonic delibaratly "by-pass" powerfull pro functions in the GH2 so they can sell their more expensive cameras, but it's there.

Fortunatly there are people that are hacking everything.

In fact, the GH2 is potencialy a movie sex bomb. Some guys have even hacked the HDMI recording to enhance it:

http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?237584-HDMI-Capture-Problem-SOLVED-AviSynth-RULES!

I don't want to deal with that, I'm not an engineer and prefer using the SD extreme with higher bitrate and end of the story. If in the future I really need power, I'd go Red.
The GH2 output is good enough for me, in fact clearly much better than the 5D2 in factory (except in extreme isos). IMO going HDMI recording with it is more an hassle than a plus IMO.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2011, 01:13:51 PM by fredjeang » Logged
rainer_v
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1134


WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2011, 01:58:20 PM »
ReplyReply

fred: did you tried the 5dmk2 with magic lantern fw? it brings up their data rate as well high. not as much as the gh2 but 60 - 80 mbs as well.
Logged

rainer viertlböck
architecture photographer
munich / germany

www.tangential.de
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2011, 03:44:06 AM »
ReplyReply

fred: did you tried the 5dmk2 with magic lantern fw? it brings up their data rate as well high. not as much as the gh2 but 60 - 80 mbs as well.

No Rainer, I did not try it so far. It's true that since I got the GH2, the 5D2 is starting to get spider webs. I find the panasonic, independently of the output, much more fun to use.
So I sort of have a lack of interest in trying to improve the Canon.
I think I'm going to sell it to a friend that is interested.

Logged
UlfKrentz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308


WWW
« Reply #15 on: November 11, 2011, 04:24:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank you Fred, this is an additional option, interesting read. What I actually meant was just the connectivity of a 7" on camera display. Whith the 5DII it is great to compose and when you start to take off the resolution slips down and is hard to follow focus. That´s why I considered an additional Canon 7D, but now I´ll take a deeper look at the GH2 first. Tempted by the Red too, but a bit afraid of the huge and heavy camera setup and additional crew needed. Anyway, thanks again.

Cheers, Ulf
Logged
geesbert
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 554



WWW
« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2011, 03:03:09 PM »
ReplyReply

here's a good tutorial on the 42MB hack:

http://www.zeroplusplus.com/easy-panasonic-gh2-42mbps-firmware-patch-instructions/
Logged

-------------------------
WWW.RANDLKOFER.COM
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #17 on: December 23, 2011, 08:45:22 AM »
ReplyReply

I've hacked it at 100mb/s !

Footage is simply amazing. Arri Alexa like.

Caution: do not install the Pana official firware. I had to removed it to the original firmware and then hack.

In higher isos more than 1600 (now enabled no isos limits), instead of the sort of soupish undefined dots you got film grain like.


No need to say that lower isos are impressive and ultra-clean.

Clips less highlights too.

BUT

there are also some downsides, as always.


-1) files are huge. 30 sec in normal gh2 is 50M, with the hacked it's 270M
That means SD cards will be filled in 40ish minutes and storage will be more costly.
That's really the biggest problem of the powerfull hacks.
I think I may reduced to a lower bit-rate and find a comnpromise because the workflow will be slower or I'd need soon a proper server installation.

-2) from 6400 isos and above, in some parts of the footage, not always, ( I've noticed that it shows-up in underexposure cases),
appears a "banding". Not quite the same as the banding causes by electrical frequency, just one or 2 fixed bands.
It does not appears at lower isos than 6400. Even at 6400, this banding disappear immediatly if you expose more. So it's only in under-exposures and not always. Weired.
and I wonder what could it be.

I've just done it and if I see more issues, I'll report here.  
« Last Edit: December 23, 2011, 09:45:27 AM by fredjeang » Logged
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2011, 07:11:14 AM »
ReplyReply

More stuff.

Maybe our forum engineers will be able to have an answer.

The banding I was talking about at higher isos seems to affect almost all the GH2 units worldwide.

But I've noticed a sighnificant improvement when reducing by 1/2 shutter speed and film at 25 instead of 50. (and of course compensating on aperture to get the same amount of light)
That makes no sense but it works quite well and only on extreme under-exposed area it would show-up again but way more discrete.

720p and 1080i 1/50 are banding free, at least on my unit.

So it seems to affect the Cine mode only.



Nota: again, this got nothing to do with the light frequency banding. I'm talking about scenes where no artificial light at all is involved.

The GH2 seems to have a weired behaviour with higher isos-shutter-spend and for what is circulating over the internet, it's a conception engineering fact on this camera.

For me it's not a prob at all. I can live with it and rarely use 3200-6400 isos. If I have to I'd swich to 1080i for extreme isos.

But if you have some infos about it, that would be nice to know.

But hey, it's a 700euros camera...



« Last Edit: December 24, 2011, 06:42:19 PM by fredjeang » Logged
fredjeang
Guest
« Reply #19 on: December 27, 2011, 03:04:17 AM »
ReplyReply

more and more...

Well, I could verify that the banding in higher isos is present on the GH2 before the hack. It's then, not a hacked problem but a factory problem.

Some people said that newer versions do not have this issue but in fact people with latest version have also reported this problem.

Some cured definatly this: exposing the sensor during hours under an incandescent light. (pointing towards a light).

What does the hack, is that as it contains more infos and the resulting image is more precise, the banding is simply more visible, but it was there.

On my unit, it happens from 3200 isos on under-exposed areas, and it seems to change quite a lot depending on the unit. Once your exposure is ok, this banding disappear.

In fact, keeping isos at 800 with fast lens is the only way to be safe in low-light with the GH2.

« Last Edit: December 27, 2011, 03:07:04 AM by fredjeang » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad