Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR4 crashing  (Read 4081 times)
jljonathan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 143


« on: January 14, 2012, 01:46:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Anyone else have this behavior? Made a new catalog and imported as copies dng files that were from LR3. Ok in library and map, but getting repeat crashes when I move to develop module. Won't allow to use develop.
Jonathan
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1888


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 02:05:35 PM »
ReplyReply

I've had a few crashes moving between modules, a couple in map and a complete BSOD in develop.
W7 64bt

So far this has been the worst behaving version of Lightroom ever released.
Every other version from the very first version 1 beta has been rock solid, rather disappointing so far Sad
Logged
John R Smith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1357


Still crazy, after all these years


« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2012, 02:30:19 PM »
ReplyReply

So far this has been the worst behaving version of Lightroom ever released.
Every other version from the very first version 1 beta has been rock solid, rather disappointing so far Sad

Not so, at least in my experience. LR 3.0 was horrendous (not the beta, the first full release). Adobe quickly rushed out 3.2 to fix the most obvious bugs (no-one will ever know what happened to 3.1). And then there was 3.4, which had some horrible snags which were very quickly patched up by 3.4.1 and 3.4 was history. To be fair, the bugs do get fixed given time. And LR4 is a beta, so there will be little problems of course.

John
Logged

Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits
meyerweb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 163


« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2012, 04:21:46 PM »
ReplyReply

I've had a few crashes moving between modules, a couple in map and a complete BSOD in develop.
W7 64bt

So far this has been the worst behaving version of Lightroom ever released.
Every other version from the very first version 1 beta has been rock solid, rather disappointing so far Sad

Hardly fair to use the word "released."  It's a beta, not a release version. Bugs are to be expected in an early beta. If you don't want to put up with them, keep using the release version (3.6).
Logged
jljonathan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 143


« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2012, 04:50:34 PM »
ReplyReply

"Little problems" is not how I would characterize this behavior. Consistent immediate crashes when moving to the develop module. Things are ok in the library and map modules. I'm on MAC 10.6.8 Anyone have this problem, or any suggestions?
Jonathan
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1888


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2012, 05:07:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Hardly fair to use the word "released."  It's a beta, not a release version. Bugs are to be expected in an early beta. If you don't want to put up with them, keep using the release version (3.6).
In the context of beta software; Released = available to the public to try

No, I don't, and never have expected, beta software to be perfect, and yes, I only trust the full versions for any 'proper' work.
However my past experience with Lightroom in beta has been that it was exceptionally good, this is the first beta ever that's been problematic.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2012, 05:28:33 PM by Rhossydd » Logged
jljonathan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 143


« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2012, 08:35:05 PM »
ReplyReply

I tried a solution from a similar thread in the Adobe LR 4 forum. Process version 2010 does not get along with 2012. I hit the update and now it seems not to crash in develop.
Logged
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5698



WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2012, 12:23:43 AM »
ReplyReply

This won't help the OP, but using LR4 Beta in Win 7/ 32-bit I've had no problems with 2010 or 2012 process versions.  Just one man's experience.

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7241


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2012, 01:04:30 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

The Beta seem very crashprone to me, but the features hold a great promise.

My guess is that our systems are different enough, so stuff that works fine on one system may work awful on another. But I presume that Adobe irins out the wrinkles and when LR4 is released it will fly.

Best regards
Erik


This won't help the OP, but using LR4 Beta in Win 7/ 32-bit I've had no problems with 2010 or 2012 process versions.  Just one man's experience.

Mike.
Logged

mac_paolo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 419


« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2012, 01:12:28 AM »
ReplyReply

I think these threads should be really opened and discussed on Adobe forums.
Lr4 beta is fine to have a taste of new functions, new direction, new possibilities... but it's still the very first public beta.
Crashes are common: can't be used in productions environments.
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1888


WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2012, 04:44:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Crashes are common:
In past LR betas they haven't been.
Adobe did a really good job releasing good stable code in their previous betas.
Logged
mac_paolo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 419


« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2012, 07:16:21 AM »
ReplyReply

In past LR betas they haven't been.
Adobe did a really good job releasing good stable code in their previous betas.
For what is worth, I disagree. I'm involved in beta testing since Lr2, and for both 2.0 and 3.0 I encountered a LOT of crashes before (and sometimes after) the GM.
Logged
John R Smith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1357


Still crazy, after all these years


« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2012, 10:43:00 AM »
ReplyReply

It is very educational to visit the Adobe Lightroom Downloads page (and it may jog a few memories, just to set the record straight) -

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/product.jsp?product=113&platform=Windows

Noticeable by their absence are LR 1.0, LR 2.0, and LR 3.0. I had LR 3.0 (and I still have it on CD in a boxed copy). It was horrendous, and we all upgraded to 3.2 as fast as we could download it. I assume that 1.0 and 2.0 were just as buggy, which is why they are no longer available.

So I certainly would not be rushing to upgrade to LR 4.0 when it does come out if I were you, but would prudently wait for 4.1  Wink

John
Logged

Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits
Akro
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2012, 11:09:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Mine crashes every time I try to enter the Develop Module when I have selected a  photo that was previously edited in LR3.6
Logged

Anthony.Ralph
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43



« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2012, 07:04:39 AM »
ReplyReply

Mine crashes every time I try to enter the Develop Module when I have selected a  photo that was previously edited in LR3.6

I have been having similar problems over the last couple of days, so you are not alone.

Anthony.
Logged
David Eichler
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 311


WWW
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2012, 03:10:38 PM »
ReplyReply

Not so, at least in my experience. LR 3.0 was horrendous (not the beta, the first full release). Adobe quickly rushed out 3.2 to fix the most obvious bugs (no-one will ever know what happened to 3.1). And then there was 3.4, which had some horrible snags which were very quickly patched up by 3.4.1 and 3.4 was history. To be fair, the bugs do get fixed given time. And LR4 is a beta, so there will be little problems of course.

John

It took them until LR 3.5 to fix memory usage problems that were causing severe unresponsiveness with the clone and brush tools with my system (2.5 year old 24" iMac with Snow Leopard and 8 gigs of RAM). I think I will have to wait until they are getting close to releasing LR 5 before upgrading to LR4. :-(
Logged

John R Smith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1357


Still crazy, after all these years


« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2012, 04:07:50 AM »
ReplyReply

David, I would agree. LR 3.5 has settled down very nicely on my Win 7 64-bit machine, and at last it seems stable and quick. So I, for one, am certainly in no hurry to upgrade to anything.

However, we can deal with all of this on a no-risk basis (at least initially). When LR 4.0 final comes out, there will be a thirty-day trial. So we can see how the thing beds down before we lay out any cash. I wish I had done that with 3.0.

John
Logged

Hasselblad 500 C/M, SWC and CFV-39 DB
and a case full of (very old) lenses and other bits
patrickt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2012, 08:33:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Problems are to be expected from betas.

My desktop computer has performed perfectly. For fun, I went back to my first raw files, 2005, and imported them to edit. I enjoyed using LR4 beta and had no problems.

On my Lenovo laptop, I had it shut down twice in the develop module. In both cases I restarted LR4 bata and it returned to a point a couple of steps before the shutdown. Interesting.

I use Windows7 64bit on both the desktop and the laptop. I am working with Pentax raw files, .pef.
Logged
reburns
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 142


WWW
« Reply #18 on: December 07, 2012, 01:17:23 PM »
ReplyReply

My Lightroom has been crashing for awhile now.  I'm on LR4 and fully updated.  It crashes upon program launch at least 50% of the time.  Then when I relaunch is almost always starts successfully.  So my work-around is just to hammer it, but I do worry about corrupt libraries and other gremlins.  Windows 7, Dell M6500.

Any thoughts / suggestions?
Logged
kaelaria
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2223



WWW
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2012, 06:52:34 PM »
ReplyReply

I too have random crashes when launching.  It started on this latest version only.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad