Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR3 crashes in Develop module with specific photo only  (Read 599 times)
remko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« on: January 26, 2012, 12:07:47 PM »
ReplyReply

I was working on a photo in the Develop module re-fining a mask. Suddenly LR3 crashed. Every time I tried to re-start LR it crahsed again.
So I re-booted my system from an external disk and used DiskWarrior to rebuild the structure of my HD and ran permissions. Then re-started my Mac again, but to no avail.

I then, when LR started up, clicked as fast as I could on the Library module and then all was fine.

But every time I "open" that very same photo in the Develop Module on which LR crashed, LR crashes again. It does not crash with other photos in the Develop module.

Any suggestions what to do?

I am on a iMac 3.4 GHz, 16 GB memory, SSD for the OS and the applications. The photos and the LR catalog are on a thunderbolt Pegasus R6. OS: Lion 10.7.2
All updates for LR and my Mac are installed.

Regards,
Remko
Logged
Robert55
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 65


« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2012, 01:58:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Some small corruption in the file?
Two things to try:
- if the image is still on card, download again, maybe even using a [different] cardreader and using not LR but the OS.
- try to open with another software application
Logged
madmanchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2101


« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2012, 08:39:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Also, please try clearing your "Camera Raw cache".  This can be done via the Preferences -> File Handling section.  There is a button at the bottom of that dialog box named "Purge Cache."  Try clicking that, then try visiting this picture again.
Logged

remko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2012, 11:19:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for your help, Robert and Eric!

I can open the very same file via Bridge into ACR of PS CS5 and all is fine. The state of the NEF is the same as *before* I was refining the mask in LR. But as I had not saved the meta data to the file yet in LR, that is as it should be.

So I guess the info in the database in LR for this specific file is corrupt.

I purged the cache as you suggested, but unfortunately to no avail.

Maybe the best way to proceed is to accept the loss of an hour work on refining the mask, delete the file from LR and then re-import into LR? What do you think?

Regards,
Remko
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad