Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Canon iPF8310 (8300) paper advance issue  (Read 1445 times)
aaronchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 310


« on: February 13, 2012, 02:03:33 AM »
ReplyReply

I own a Canon iPF8310 which is a harddrive version of a 8300.
I've found out that I've never got a accurate length out of this machine.
I either get more or less out of different sizes of print.

Does anyone experiencing this particular problem as well?

Thanks
Aaron
Logged
Ernst Dinkla
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2868


« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 02:19:33 AM »
ReplyReply

Aaron,

For an iPF8300 it seems premature but I know of an iPF9000 user who had similar issues and the unexpected reason + solution for it. Has your printer been running 24/7 for some time now?


met vriendelijke groeten, Ernst
Try: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Wide_Inkjet_Printers/
Logged
aaronchan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 310


« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 02:55:08 AM »
ReplyReply

Aaron,

For an iPF8300 it seems premature but I know of an iPF9000 user who had similar issues and the unexpected reason + solution for it. Has your printer been running 24/7 for some time now?


met vriendelijke groeten, Ernst
Try: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Wide_Inkjet_Printers/


Dear Ernst

Not 24/7 but I've been using it for 2 months already and it has been my major printer since then. ( I also have a Z3200 and 7880)
I had a test of of a Canon iPF9110 (9100) before and had the same problem as well.
Seems like either the driver or the firmware as a bug in it.
I think I will report back to Canon see if they will have a solution for me or not.
But just wondering if anyone here are experiencing the same problem as I do and does anyone has a work around solution.

Thanks
Aaron
Logged
Ernst Dinkla
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2868


« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2012, 03:16:59 AM »
ReplyReply

On the iPF9000 that showed that issue, after printing several miles of art papers, it was a lack of pressure on the pinch rollers that made media transport irregular.
Temporary solutions were made by inserting carton on the pinch roller forks to increase the pressure but we (me on the telephone) were convinced it had to be something else, Canon here had no clue. The media transport axle (I still do not know the right term in English) seemed to be below the media traject, 1 - 2 mm. A new one replaced the old one and did not solve the issue. In the end the nylon? parts that are underneath that axle were replaced by new ones of a different design, Canon obviously has encountered similar wear in other printers. The old parts had a small roll for the axle support and it rolled with the axle but no longer in that printer, wear on those rolls made the axle drop the distance we estimated. The new parts just have a slightly excentric support glider cushion where the axle turns on.


met vriendelijke groeten, Ernst
Shareware now:
Dinkla Gallery Canvas Wrap Actions for Photoshop
http://www.pigment-print.com/dinklacanvaswraps/six-canvas-wrap-actions.htm
Logged
bill t.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2693


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2012, 07:01:11 PM »
ReplyReply

I usually need to run a feed calibration on manufacturers' .am1 media files to get perfect lengths on my particular 8300.

I do not see any random variations between print lengths on the same media.

With the feed calibration I have been getting very good accuracy, about +-1.5mm on 2 meter canvas prints.

The 8300 is the first printer I have owned where I am willing to build picture frames before I have the canvas prints to go in them.  That has been very helpful in production situations.  It is unsettling to think that may change with time!
Logged
Johnny_Boy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 133


« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2012, 10:50:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Uhh, dumb question. How do you do the feed calibration on ipf8300? Re-run the am1 profile update using the media configuration tool?
Logged
bill t.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2693


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2012, 10:58:25 PM »
ReplyReply

In the MCT pick the manufacturer's profile, choose "Edit", then just continue with the sequence without changing any parameters.  Run the feed procedure, but dodge the inkload printout.  Sorry, I can't run the MCT right now, but that's the jist of it.  Use a different file name.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad