Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: clipping indication in CS5  (Read 3390 times)
cunim
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127


« on: March 07, 2012, 07:49:33 AM »
ReplyReply

Can anyone tell me how to turn on a simple clipped pixel warning in CS5?  It must be in there somewhere.
Logged
kevk
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 79



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 03:51:05 PM »
ReplyReply

Do you mean like holding down ALT while moving the sliders in a Levels adjustment layer?
Logged
cunim
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127


« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 09:57:07 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the answer.  I was hoping for something a bit less interactive.  LR lets me just hover over a button so see anything at 0 or 255, or I can activate the upper and/or lower button to leave the clipping display on.  Very much like a camera viewfinder.  Even better would be something like a clipping option on the view menu.  It's a way to make a quick check when doing blends.
Logged
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3010


« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2012, 11:20:40 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks for the answer.  I was hoping for something a bit less interactive.  LR lets me just hover over a button so see anything at 0 or 255, or I can activate the upper and/or lower button to leave the clipping display on.  Very much like a camera viewfinder.  Even better would be something like a clipping option on the view menu.  It's a way to make a quick check when doing blends.

Hi,

As an alternative you can add a Threshold layer as the top layer, especially useful when doing multi-layer blends, and by sliding the cut-off point to the shadows or the highlights you can see where the clipping takes place. Granted, not very elegant, but it does the job and works with blends.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
cunim
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127


« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2012, 09:45:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Thanks Bart.  Did not know this.
Logged
Odium
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1



« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2012, 02:55:09 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

and another way Smiley :
I made a simple action out of this:

1: make an invert adjustment layer
2: in the blending options of this layer uncheck the R channel and drag the "Blend if Gray" this Layer the whites at 255 and blacks to 0 (I use 2 to have some buffer left)

At this way you have red in overexposures and turquoise in underexposure just like in Lightroom. Smiley
I simple love to trigger this solution via an action and itīs on top of my Layerstack most of the time.


Logged
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3010


« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2012, 04:50:33 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

and another way Smiley :
I made a simple action out of this:

1: make an invert adjustment layer
2: in the blending options of this layer uncheck the R channel and drag the "Blend if Gray" this Layer the whites at 255 and blacks to 0 (I use 2 to have some buffer left)

At this way you have red in overexposures and turquoise in underexposure just like in Lightroom. Smiley
I simple love to trigger this solution via an action and itīs on top of my Layerstack most of the time.

Hi,

That's a very elegant solution. It also allows to dial in one's thresholds for clipping indication, depending on the requirements, very easily.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad