Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Anything new for the future of MEDIA PRO?  (Read 47712 times)
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104


« on: May 15, 2012, 03:26:05 PM »
ReplyReply

I post here as we don't have a DAM catagory, and MPro is a C1 product.

I was wondering if there is any future plans for improvements or changes one can expect in the nexr MPro release?

I have had it in standby as I use other DAMs (I'm using ACDSEE PRo, and testing IDImager).

I had issues with PSD or some other file formats, and did the WIC purchase of fiule support, and still found some glitches in the way it works, and decided this is not a edable fruit yet...still green.
So continuing ACDSee...


I just tried it again , and it crashed trying to import or update folders

Any news?
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 05:21:53 PM by Phil Indeblanc » Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Roskav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 245



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 03:32:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Just to add something in case anyone from Media Pro reads..
I bought it a couple of months ago purely on the strength of the way that you can send your image gallery to a client.  They can then rate the shots they want and send a file back to you via the notepad.  This can then be integrated into your library so you have their choices automatically flagged on your machine.  Great concept but not one client has managed to install it without their machine crashing.  I do like the way that you can attribute values to the shots by just dragging them to a subset, and then open a series from various folders and sessions in capture one .. directly from Media Pro.  (One drawback is that if you are processing some files similar to ones you might have sent out on an earlier date you don't have those earlier ones for reference in this workflow)  One huge complaint is the swarming of sidecar files.  Not a problem with most image editors but a pain when looking for files in finder etc.  The inability of media pro to recognize some files is also a problem ... ones that have been worked on in Photoshop for example (as far as I can remember)  The program has some great concepts but the way it works them needs a good kick into the 21st century.  The web galleries look too techy also in comparison to the simple and more functional ones you can use in Capture One

I have stopped using it entirely at this point and regard it a waste of money.
R
Logged

Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104


« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2012, 05:37:55 PM »
ReplyReply

I agree Roskav. I wish they get the foundation right before adding features.
I would not attempt to make any client a test pilot for such features when I can't even reliably have basic features of the app such as formats arranged properly.

I have it up again now as a test while I use IDImager, and ACDSee5, and so far IDImager does things, a bit differently than others, but OK so far. MPro crashed on me a couple more times, and just wonky. its sluggish, and there is no feedback when it starts a process to let you know its working. I think the core maybe strong, but it is hurting from major clarity issues.
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
jonathan.lipkin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 148



« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2012, 03:55:22 PM »
ReplyReply

From what I can tell, the core is pretty much the same as when it was iView Media Pro back in the mid-2000s. It was bought by Microsoft and bundled into some package they discontinued, then picked up by Phase One. There are some stability improvements (less crashing, for instance) but the interface seems about the same. Would love it if MP could read .psb files...
Logged
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104


« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2012, 01:14:21 PM »
ReplyReply

It can, if you use a PSD decoder. I use Faststone...but even with decoder MP (last version now) is still mixed up with all this decoding and thumb creation. it still doesn't filter right and just isn't reliable. Also to make derivitives, emailable thumbs is not so simple for text overlays and such.

Hope this helps.

I for now use ACDSee and recently purchased IDImager Pro, and only reason I would switch from ACDSee is that it can't read IIQ files from PhaseOne while IDImager can. Once you use ACDSee and its UI ease, it is hard to make the switch. , but IIQ support is enough reason for me. (Although on ACDSee support site it names the digibacks it is compatible with, even though the format is more to do with the C1 software. (meaning old backs that can save in TIF format work, but not IIQ.

Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Murat Korkmazov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2012, 03:42:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Phil, does it possible to send me one of your photos in IIQ format?
Logged
jonathan.lipkin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 148



« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2012, 01:47:57 PM »
ReplyReply

UPDATE: been in conversation with MP tech support. They have told me the engineers are aware of the lack of .psb support and are working on it. No release date yet, but it's in the pipeline for now.
Logged
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104


« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2012, 02:19:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Murat,

I can. they are large, and I can do a WeTransfer to your email. Whats your email?

Sorry for the late reply.
Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
Phil Indeblanc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1104


« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2012, 02:20:51 PM »
ReplyReply

UPDATE: been in conversation with MP tech support. They have told me the engineers are aware of the lack of .psb support and are working on it. No release date yet, but it's in the pipeline for now.


Did you mean PSD?  AS it has issues with PSD as well. I have not tried psb (I think that's the XL file format).

Logged

If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...
jonathan.lipkin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 148



« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2012, 04:46:17 PM »
ReplyReply

Nope, I mean .psb. That is the large document format for files larger than 2G (I think).
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad