Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: D800 Sharpening?  (Read 3494 times)
Dave Gurtcheff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 473


« on: June 10, 2012, 11:37:39 AM »
ReplyReply

I know nothing about the correct way to sharpen my files, so I leave it to the experts. By this I mean I use PK Sharpener capture sharpen, then work on the image, and final size it, then use PK Output Sharpen. Am I getting all the detail this way, or am I wasting some resolution from the large megapixel files? I am using CS5 Photoshop and Photokit Sharpener 2.
Thanks in advance
Dave
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1851



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2012, 11:57:55 AM »
ReplyReply

I have found that D800 NEF files can stand a bit more aggressive capture sharpening than standard 35mm based raw files can. Try the settings for medium format or if using Lightroom 4.1, set amount to 56 and radius to 0.7. Of course it also depends on the subject as well.Portraits may be fine with your existing settings.
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
EMaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2012, 12:44:33 PM »
ReplyReply

How about for the D800E?
Logged
jbrembat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 177


« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2012, 02:41:01 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
How about for the D800E?
If I understood well, in D800E there is not an AA-filter. So you don't need capture sharpening unless the raw converter introduce blur.

The problem of D800E may be aliasing artifacts.

Jacopo
Logged
EMaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2012, 02:57:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Thank you very much for your reply.  If this is correct, I have just saved myself a step.
Logged
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 3864


« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2012, 03:18:24 AM »
ReplyReply

If I understood well, in D800E there is not an AA-filter. So you don't need capture sharpening unless the raw converter introduce blur.

Hi Jacopo,

There are several sources of blur, and the Bayer CFA demosaicing process is not the main source. It already starts with the optics, and aperture we use, and that is assuming that we don't introduce motion blur or defocus blur ourselves.

Then there is the use of an AA-filter (or not) and the Bayer CFA undersampling of mostly chromatic information, and the fact that the sensors are not point samplers but have an area aperture. Finally there is the demosaicing process that cannot reconstruct luminance resolution perfectly, although some 93.6% isn't all that bad.

Quote
The problem of D800E may be aliasing artifacts.

That doesn't mean that cameras with an AA-filter do not show some aliasing artifacts, it's just that they have a lower risk. The effect of an AA-filter on resolution can be very small (approx. 1% in the case of the D800 vs the D800E). The D800E is more likely to create false color artifacts and stairstepped edges (jaggies) at wider apertures though.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
EMaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2012, 03:27:37 AM »
ReplyReply

With that in mind, Bart, do you have any starting recommendations for sharpening with the D800E in LR4 or CS6?

Thanks...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad