Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: From i1Display 2 to i1Display Pro?  (Read 7316 times)
OLE.M
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


WWW
« on: July 01, 2012, 07:32:42 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi
Will i get much better result if i upgrade from my Gretagmacbeth i1 Display 2 to i1 Dislpay Pro?
I use a NEC MultiSync 2690Wuxi.
Thanks for any input.
Logged
Sheldon N
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 808


« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2012, 10:47:41 AM »
ReplyReply

The i1 Display Pro is supposed to be more accurate with less variation from calibration unit to calibration unit.

I made the jump from the i1 Display 2 to the Pro and it was a nice upgrade.  If your i1 Display 2 is working great and making good profiles, then there's probably not going to be a night/day difference on screen. My unit was getting old and tired though, so I noticed a big improvement.
Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9192



WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2012, 03:06:39 PM »
ReplyReply

Brain fart on a Sunday but I can’t recall if that display is wide gamut or not (I think it is). If so, the newer instrument with it’s newer filters will most likely be more ‘accurate’ in hitting the white point you ask for. Not that futzing around with the older unit to get a WP that produces a match isn’t possible.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
David Eichler
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 343


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2012, 04:25:17 PM »
ReplyReply

The i1 Display Pro is supposed to be more accurate with less variation from calibration unit to calibration unit.

I made the jump from the i1 Display 2 to the Pro and it was a nice upgrade.  If your i1 Display 2 is working great and making good profiles, then there's probably not going to be a night/day difference on screen. My unit was getting old and tired though, so I noticed a big improvement.

In what way do these units get old and tired? Or is it just that you have become more demanding or need to use the device for a wider variety of applications?
Logged

Sheldon N
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 808


« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2012, 06:43:20 PM »
ReplyReply

In what way do these units get old and tired? Or is it just that you have become more demanding or need to use the device for a wider variety of applications?

One of the three color filters started to die, and profiles got quite poor. I called Xrite about having it recalibrated, and they told me they don't service it anymore.

Both my displays are wide gamut too, so profiles with the new device are better than the i1 D2, even when it was working well.
Logged

Brad Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2012, 08:17:07 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

I have a NEC Multisync 3090 WQXi with Spectraview II and have been using the i1Display 2 for calibration. I am suspecting that my i1Display 2 puck is failing because the Spetraview II calibration fails (hangs) part way through the process, not always at the same location. The unit is about 2 years old.

So, I have 4 questions:
1) Can anyone confirm that the above behavior is a symptom of a failing puck?
2) If I were to buy a new i1 Display Pro, would it work well with Spectraview II?
3) How does the i1 Profiler software compare with Spectraview II?
4) If comparable, does it require the DDC_CI communication to function at its best? In the end, I would probably prefer a calibration program that does not require this protocol. See related link. http://http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=62740.0

Thanks.
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9192



WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2012, 09:21:28 AM »
ReplyReply

So, I have 4 questions:
1) Can anyone confirm that the above behavior is a symptom of a failing puck?
2) If I were to buy a new i1 Display Pro, would it work well with Spectraview II?
3) How does the i1 Profiler software compare with Spectraview II?
4) If comparable, does it require the DDC_CI communication to function at its best? In the end, I would probably prefer a calibration program that does not require this protocol. See related link. http://http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=62740.0

1. Seems odd that would be the case. Will H from NEC lurks here and may comment. Can you dig up some kind of crash log?
2. The new i1D-2 IS supported.
3. You want to use SpectraView! That product has far more control over the calibration of the panel as well as useful options.
4. See #3 and consider that DDC is a mixed can of worms.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Brad Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2012, 11:10:54 AM »
ReplyReply

Andrew,

Thanks for your reply.

1) I wouldn't know where to look for the crash log. Nothing obvious in the SpectraView menu items.
2) I assume you meant the i1 Display Pro is supported by SpectraView? I didn't think to check before, but I see now on the SpectraView web site that the i1 Display Pro color sensor is supported.
3) & 4) I was afraid of that, and yes, the DDC_CI bit is is mixed bag--fine when it works, but a show stopper for SpectraView when it doesn't or isn't accessible. Unfortunately, I don't have the DDC_CI link accessible via my laptop , which is my best computer. My desktop (core 2 duo) has DDC_CI link through the dual link DVI cable and I can use SpectraView, but the desktop suffers from very slow responses in LR4. I would like to use my laptop (i7, 8 cores, 16 GB ram) with the NEC display for LR4, but Spectraview (DDC_CI) isn't supported through the available ports as discussed in the link given in my previous post. I was hoping that a i1Display Pro puck, together with the i1 Profiler software on my laptop would solve all my problems, but alas--apparently no such luck.

I guess I will have to keep looking for a solution.
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9192



WWW
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2012, 11:17:41 AM »
ReplyReply

1) I wouldn't know where to look for the crash log. Nothing obvious in the SpectraView menu items.
2) I assume you meant the i1 Display Pro is supported by SpectraView? I didn't think to check before, but I see now on the SpectraView web site that the i1 Display Pro color sensor is supported.
3) & 4) I was afraid of that, and yes, the DDC_CI bit is is mixed bag--fine when it works, but a show stopper for SpectraView when it doesn't or isn't accessible. Unfortunately, I don't have the DDC_CI link accessible via my laptop , which is my best computer. My desktop (core 2 duo) has DDC_CI link through the dual link DVI cable and I can use SpectraView, but the desktop suffers from very slow responses in LR4. I would like to use my laptop (i7, 8 cores, 16 GB ram) with the NEC display for LR4, but Spectraview (DDC_CI) isn't supported through the available ports as discussed in the link given in my previous post. I was hoping that a i1Display Pro puck, together with the i1 Profiler software on my laptop would solve all my problems, but alas--apparently no such luck.

1. If you’re on a Mac, I can assist, otherwise ask a Windows user <g>. On Mac, check the Console app and filter for SpectraView. That is assuming the app is really crashing.
2. Yes, the new i1Display-Pro (or the NEC labelled version which is the same) are supported.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Brad Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2012, 11:57:00 AM »
ReplyReply

Andrew,

Thanks. I am on Win7.
Logged
Jack Varney
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 393


WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2012, 08:28:30 PM »
ReplyReply

Regarding crash logs on PC, try this (it works like this on Vista).

Control Panel>Administrative Events>Event Viewer>Custom Views>Administrative Events

Events are listed in the top panel, click on an event and information about it will be displayed in the bottom panel.
In the bottom panel look for "More Information: Event Log Online Help" a link to more information, maybe.
Logged

Jack Varney
Brad Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2012, 04:46:38 PM »
ReplyReply

Jack,
Thanks for the pointer. Win7 is similar, but the "hang" did not cause a crash report to the log.

To at least partially close my previous post concerning the hang during calibration with SpectraViewII, it turned out to be a software conflict. I uninstalled about 6-7 programs (some were just trials anyway), and now I am able to calibrate with SpectraViewII again. If I happen to reinstall the conflicting program and have a subsequent failure, I will re-post.
Logged
Brad Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2012, 09:34:09 AM »
ReplyReply

The software conflict on Win7-64-bit I mentioned above is between SpectraView II (version 1.1.10) and RawDigger (0.9.11). Installing RawDigger to another directory did not solve the problem. Uninstalling RawDigger and rebooting solves the problem--repeatedly. Both NEC and the folks at RawDigger have been informed. 
Logged
nkpoulsen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 47


« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2012, 12:04:19 AM »
ReplyReply

I have an older I1-Display 2 colorimeter.  Can this unit be used successfully with the current Spectraview software.  I know that was the case a few years ago.
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9192



WWW
« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2012, 10:41:00 AM »
ReplyReply

I have an older I1-Display 2 colorimeter.  Can this unit be used successfully with the current Spectraview software.  I know that was the case a few years ago.

Yes.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad