Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: C1 6.4.3 D800 tether questions  (Read 6612 times)
swisscheese
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


WWW
« on: July 23, 2012, 04:02:14 PM »
ReplyReply

i am new to DSLR and Capture 1.

Trying to shoot tethered: MAC 10.6.8, 2x3ghz Dual core Mac pro. D800 is set to AF on for focus.

-When shooting tethered, and adding a Whibal card 4 inches in front of the model (where the AF point was), the resulting image focus is on the Whibal card.Taking the card out, the   focus changes back to the models eyes. It seems, that C1 overwrites the D800 AF setup. Is there any place in C1, where I can change this? (Canon is turned of, BTW).

-Also, is live view possible with the D800 in C1 6.4.3?
Thank you,

Markus
Logged
FredBGG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1651


« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 01:59:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Do yourself a favor an get Nikon Capture and ControlMyNikon.
Logged
figure1a
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 49


« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2012, 12:53:00 PM »
ReplyReply

Not completely sure what you are asking but if you don't want the focus point to change, switch the camera to MF. Right?
Logged
swisscheese
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2012, 01:16:23 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks, but ControlMyNikon does not work with Mac, and I don't want to spend more money on Nikon Capture for now.
Do yourself a favor an get Nikon Capture and ControlMyNikon.
Logged
swisscheese
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2012, 01:24:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Thanks, I was just wondering, why this happens: When the AF is set to AF on, pressing the shutter release halfway does not do anything to adjust the AF. Only pressing the AF On button will do this.
But when I fire the D800 with C1 6.4.3 via keyboard, the AF changes, if the distance to the object where the AF point is changes (e.g inserting a WhiBal card). It seems, that C1 overrides the D800's AF settings.

Markus
Not completely sure what you are asking but if you don't want the focus point to change, switch the camera to MF. Right?
Logged
HarperPhotos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1249



WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2012, 07:56:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Markus,

There is no live video for the Nikon D800 as Phase donít seem to think it is a priority.

At the moment Nikon Camera Control 2 does live video and is Mac compatible.

Controlmynikon is going to be Mac compatible in January 2013.

I will then change to Controlmynikon and dump Phase Capture One as a completer waste of money.

Cheers

Simon
Logged

Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand
swisscheese
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2012, 08:19:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you Simon.

How big can you view Nikon Capture Live Video on a Monitor, and is it any better than on the D800 Display?
I have Capture One, Lightroom and am not really interested in another almost photoshop like program. To my eyes, Live View on the D800 is unusable for judging sharpness(even with sharpening turned way up). IF it is much better in Nikon Capture, I will download the demo and probably buy it. I am still hoping, that Nikon can fix this via firmware update on the D800.
Have a great week-end!

Markus
Logged
HarperPhotos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1249



WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2012, 09:04:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi Mark,

The live view window is not that big but it is still very useable compared to the back of the Nikon. There are some bugs with the Nikon D800 and to be honest I havenít spent that much time with the Nikon D800 yet with live video. The Nikon D3x works fine and is bright.

It has to be better than Phase One as we all know they donít even have live video for the Nikon D800.

I would suggest you down load Nikon Camera Control 2 and try it out but I would wait for Contolmynikon to release there Mac version.

What I have seen on there website it looks likes an amazing system and for $29.95US is fantastic value compared to all the money I have paid to Phase to have there crappie soft wear in all of my 4 computers.

Cheers

Simon
Logged

Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand
MrSmith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 908



WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2012, 04:00:12 AM »
ReplyReply

What's the file quality like with control my Nikon and camera control2 ?
Logged
Keith Reeder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 252


WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2012, 06:28:17 AM »
ReplyReply

It has to be better than Phase One as we all know they donít even have live video for the Nikon D800.

<SNIP>

all the money I have paid to Phase to have their crappy software in all of my 4 computers.

Oh, give it a rest, you whiny troll - if you'd tested the software before buying it (something you're given 60 days to do by Phase One), you'd have known not to buy it - you chose to shell out before confirming that it met your needs.

Grow a pair and accept responsibility for your own screw-up.
Logged

Keith Reeder
Blyth, NE England
HarperPhotos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1249



WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2012, 03:37:54 PM »
ReplyReply

Funny Cheesy

Sticks and stones Keith sticks and stones.

You have a nice day then.

Love you

Simon
« Last Edit: September 15, 2012, 06:15:19 PM by HarperPhotos » Logged

Simon Harper
Harper Photographics Ltd
http://www.harperphoto.com
http://www.facebook.com/harper.photographics

Auckland, New Zealand
swisscheese
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


WWW
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2012, 09:58:40 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you Simon, I appreciate the info!

Markus
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad